HOWTO: nVidia BIOS Flashing - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

HOWTO: nVidia BIOS Flashing

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 507 (permalink) Old 01-18-2007, 02:05 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
USFORCES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: IN, Abox
Posts: 8,505
Rep: 554 (Unique: 419)

GeForce 7, 8, 9 & 200 Series cards
This works for 4xx cards also but you have to use nvflash 5.95 LINK...
First some cards have 256mb and 512mb make sure get the correct BIOS, you can cross flash cards like using a BFG BIOS on a eVGA it works some people do it As long as both cards are the same like 8800GTS & 8800GTS, but I prefer to use eVGA BIOS on a eVGA card ECT.

I've only ever had one bad flash when flashing a FX5900GS to a FX5950ULTRA but I had a backup and flashed it back.

1. Download the correct BIO's file you need here NVIDIA BIOS LINK

2. After it's downloaded Rename this file to 1.rom

3. Download this program nvFlash v5.38 nvFlash LINK

4. Unzip nvFlash v5.38 create a folder on your desktop paste all of it in the folder.

5. Install a floppy in my computer right click it format and reformat it for MSDOS then open it.

6. open the folder with the nvFlash,cwsdpmi and the new bios 1.rom copy and paste them to the floppy, now the floppy should look like this,



7. Restart the computer with the floppy in.

8. Making a backup once you get to MSDOS and see the {A:\\} prompt next to the prompt type, nvflash -b backup01.rom (This Backs up your stock BIOS, just in case you have to flash it back)
IT' ALWAYS A GOOD IDEA TO CHECK THE FLOPPY TO MAKE SURE THE BACKUP TOOK



9. Normal BIOS Flash, next to the {A:\\} prompt type, nvflash -5 -6 1.rom This should flash it if it doesn't you force flash it.

10. Force flashing, next to the {A:\\} prompt type, nvflash -4 -5 -6 1.rom
That's it remove the floppy and restart, DONE


Now if for any reason something went wrong you have the backup on the floppy so you just do step 9. again with nvflash -5 -6 backup.01R flashes it back to stock.

nvFlash v5.38 Commands...
"nvflash -b backup.rom" (Backup your BIOS)
"nvflash -5 -6 1.rom" (Normal BIOS Flash)
"nvflash -4 -5 -6 1.rom" (Forced BIOS Flash)



I've never done a USB Flash but for anyone that needs info on it this might help,



Quote:
Originally Posted by ChickenInferno View Post
Okay, I have vista x64 and have been trying to do this for awhile but just couldn't. Finally, I figured out a bunch of workarounds
How to Flash Your Nvidia Bios with Vista x64 with a Flash Drive
1.)Download Winimage
2.)Download BootDisk2BootStick
3.)Download DOS 6.0
4.)Download New Bios
5.)Download NvFlash
a.) Double click on nvflash.exe to unpack the real nvflash.exe and cwsdpmi.exe
6.)Install Winimage
7.)Open Winimage and open up boot600
8.)SaveAs Floppyimage.img
a.You have to select all file types and save it like that
9.)Open BootDisk2BootStick
10.)Click the WritetoUsbFlash Tab
11.)Select the Drive Letter for your Flash Drive
12.)Click Start
13.)Select our Floppyimage.img
a.We now have a bootable flashdrive
14.)Rename the New bios to 1.rom
15.) Copy 1.rom onto Flash Drive
16.) Copy cwsdpmi.exe and nvflash.exe onto Flash Drive
17.)Boot computer from flash drive
18.) Type in nvflash –b backup01.rom
19.)Type in nvflash -4 -5 -6 1.rom
20.)Reboot, You’re Finished
Quote:
Originally Posted by fang_laluna View Post
I'm using modded BIOS from this forum that allows voltage tweak up to 1.2mV I think. Right now both cards are running @ 1.125mV 870/2000 and 34596 vantage score. They were running @ 1.188mV 900/2100 for benching but crashed when I was playing BFBC2 so I use 870/2000

Yep I just downloaded nvflash 5.95 never used it before though.
So all I have to do is use Nvflash -i2 -4 -5 -6 name.rom? I want to flash the second card so in this case I need to do it separately. Why do you need USB? (sorry I really appreciate if you can explain the process a bit).

Flashing a GTX 480 using a USB flash drive

Update GTX 670-680 uses Nvflash 5.117.0.1

nvflash -4 -5 -6 name.rom works fine

http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2128/mirrors.php

 

Process, using nvflash found on the internet
Using a USB flash drive you need HP USB storage format tool and win98boot found on the internet.
1st you use HP format and create a DOS startup on the USB drive then put win98boot files on it and let it format like so then hit start,


Once it's done you put the Nvflash and CWSDPMI files along with the BIOS.rom you want to flash on the USB and restart you computer and bootup on the USB, then type the commands.

EDIT: Here are a few commands,
nvflash --list (lists your cards position)

Card should be under 1 if it's SLI card 1, and card 2 or what ever the number is if anything else shows up you like your SLI controler you have to flash like this.
nvflash -i1 -4 -5 -6 name.rom that flashes card 1, If you have SLI you have to flash card nvflash -i2 -4 -5 -6 name.rom also with a seprate flash.

nvflash -b backup.rom (Backup your BIOS)
nvflash -5 -6 name.rom (Normal BIOS Flash)
nvflash -4 -5 -6 name.rom (Forced BIOS Flash)

Have any questions PM me.
Forces

USFORCES is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 507 (permalink) Old 01-18-2007, 02:09 PM
Retired Staff
 
Robilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 20,309
Rep: 675 (Unique: 477)
Mavke is the bomb! I've been visiting MVKtech for awhile now. You can find some really interesting modded gpu bios there if you hunt around. He has written so many bios flashing tools, he should get an award or something

I've used this process on several 7800 series cards. Lots of potential (as long as you don't fry the card or corrupt the bios)

Home PC
(13 items)
CPU
Intel G3440
Motherboard
Asus B85M-E/CSM
GPU
EVGA GTX 950
RAM
Patriot Viper 3 - 2x8GB 1600hz
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850 - 500GB + 4TB x2 / 3TB x 2 - WD
Optical Drive
LG CH12LS28 Bluray
Power Supply
Corsair CX430 V2
Cooling
Scythe Big Shuriken 2 w/Corsair SP120 Fan
Case
NMEDIAPC HTPC 6000B w/ Pro LCD Module
Operating System
Windows 10 64 Bit
Monitor
Samsung 75" TV....
Keyboard
GooBang Doo MX3
Mouse
GooBang Doo MX3
▲ hide details ▲
Robilar is offline  
post #3 of 507 (permalink) Old 01-18-2007, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
USFORCES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: IN, Abox
Posts: 8,505
Rep: 554 (Unique: 419)
Yep Mavke knows video card BIOS like the back of his hand
USFORCES is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 507 (permalink) Old 01-18-2007, 03:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kramy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,523
Rep: 1075 (Unique: 804)
If you have Windows 2000, which has no built-in ability to create bootable floppies, you can use drdflash instead.

Just stick a floppy in the drive, and it'll unpack its image onto the disk. You then add whatever files you need to it.
Kramy is offline  
post #5 of 507 (permalink) Old 01-18-2007, 04:00 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
USFORCES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: IN, Abox
Posts: 8,505
Rep: 554 (Unique: 419)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kramy View Post
If you have Windows 2000, which has no built-in ability to create bootable floppies, you can use drdflash instead.

Just stick a floppy in the drive, and it'll unpack its image onto the disk. You then add whatever files you need to it.

Cool thx,
You can also use a USB stick to flash your BIOS, I don't know how it's done though.

Quote:
To use a ThumbDrive images you will need to use this tool, made by HP, Drive Key Boot Utility. First download this and then follow the below instructions.
HP Drive Key Boot Utility v7.41.3790.0
Plug in your ThumbDrive/USB Memory Stick
Install and Open the HP Drive Key Boot Utility
Choose the Drive Letter of your ThumbDrive
Create New or Replace existing Configuration
Next you Change to Floppy Disk
Select Image from File, and Point to the Image
The Utility should ask you to Remove your USB Stick
Take it out, and Plug it back in and Check the Files
Leave the USB Stick in, Reboot into the BIOS
Goto the Boot Order and Select Removeable USB Drive
Select it as First Boot Device, Save and Reboot
After Bootup, it will Automatically Flash the BIOS
USFORCES is offline  
post #6 of 507 (permalink) Old 01-18-2007, 06:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
liermam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,512
Rep: 42 (Unique: 35)
errr... my apologies for the newb question, but what exactly does bios flashing do?

liermam is offline  
post #7 of 507 (permalink) Old 01-22-2007, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
USFORCES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: IN, Abox
Posts: 8,505
Rep: 554 (Unique: 419)
Quote:
Originally Posted by liermam View Post
errr... my apologies for the newb question, but what exactly does bios flashing do?
In my case it set it from stock to the KO overclocked card
USFORCES is offline  
post #8 of 507 (permalink) Old 01-28-2007, 07:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,306
Rep: 38 (Unique: 32)
I don't have a floppy?
what can I do?
(I have a usb romba? or a cd writer?)

killerfromsky is offline  
post #9 of 507 (permalink) Old 01-28-2007, 07:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,306
Rep: 38 (Unique: 32)
when you flash a bios?
can you also unlock pipelines?

cuz I have a g71 core

killerfromsky is offline  
post #10 of 507 (permalink) Old 01-30-2007, 02:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Belgrade - Serbia
Posts: 444
Rep: 34 (Unique: 23)
Quote:
Originally Posted by killerfromsky View Post
I don't have a floppy?
what can I do?
(I have a usb romba? or a cd writer?)
You can flash it through CD, but you will need to make it bootable. I've done it before, however I never tried flashing through USB.

And yes, you can unlock pipelines if those can be unlocked, however you will need to know how to opereate with hexadecimal code, which I doubt you do (I dont either beside some noob voltage editing). Use Riva Tunder to unlock if possible.

"When we begin to expect nothing better than stupidity and dereliction as a rule and act accordingly, that's what we'll start getting."

Vicious-Deeds is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off