Does my PSU have enough power to run the 8800gtx? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Does my PSU have enough power to run the 8800gtx?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-21-2007, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 449
Rep: 12 (Unique: 12)
Hi guys

I was wondering if my OCZ 600watt psu http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817341001

has enough current to run the 8800gtx. The specs say it requires 28A. The psu only has 4 18A rails. Does the psu require a total of 28A across all the +12 rails?

-=R00bin=- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-21-2007, 04:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
airmike532's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 190
Rep: 23 (Unique: 21)
great question, cause I just bought the same thing and am also wondering that too.

Gmail: the 1337 Mailthumb.gif
airmike532 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-21-2007, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 449
Rep: 12 (Unique: 12)
Now that I think about it, it should be ok because https://www.overclock.net/nvidia/1499...0gtx-help.html
One of the guys has the 700 watt version and also has an 8800gtx

-=R00bin=- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-21-2007, 05:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
zombeeaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by -=R00bin=- View Post
Hi guys

I was wondering if my OCZ 600watt psu http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817341001

has enough current to run the 8800gtx. The specs say it requires 28A. The psu only has 4 18A rails. Does the psu require a total of 28A across all the +12 rails?
I belive that is 28amps for a single rail power supply like my ULTRA V SERIES 500 watt ATX power supply. If you have 4 rails at 18amps each you should have PLENTY of power. I know my 8800GTS is smaller,but if my 500 watt V SERIES runs it without ANY problems your OCZ 600 watt will run your GTX fine.. Your OCZ psu is a GREAT power supply. I`ll be running a 750 watt OCZ on my new e6600 system. Hope the info helps,,,,Zombeeaholic...
zombeeaholic is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-21-2007, 05:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
alexisd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: FLORIDA/Palm Beach
Posts: 4,033
Rep: 171 (Unique: 143)
Yup you going to be fine with the ocz 700 wtts.No problem.At least for 1 card.And the problem I have is no power .
alexisd is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-21-2007, 05:29 PM
Retired Staff
 
Mootsfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 19,075
Rep: 693 (Unique: 434)
The OCZ GXS 700w has 56A across the 12+ volt rails. The 600 watt model has 50A. You can run two 8800GTX's with the GXS 700 watt. You will have no problem with the GXS 600 watt if you want to run a 8800GTX.


Certs:
A+
ACMT
Dell ASP; Desktop, Laptop, PowerConnect, PowerEdge, PowerVault


Mootsfox is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off