Easy NVFlash Guide with Pictures for GTX 970/980 - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Easy NVFlash Guide with Pictures for GTX 970/980

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 97 (permalink) Old 12-15-2014, 07:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
error-id10t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,757
Rep: 201 (Unique: 170)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krgwow View Post

try to flash with this method on my new Gigabyte G1 GTX 980, my computer just crash andwhen i try to update the bios, i reset it, get three beeps and black screen...
have removed the graphics card, put the onboard as primary and try to flash my saved BIOS with nvflash on CMD boot

and keep showing the message: "no nVidia adapters found"
i just brick my 980?

if i tell to the store i bought that i try to do a bios update with Gigabyte software and my PC crash, they will give me a new one? damm, i'm so sad right now mad.gif

Do you have another Adapter you can connect with, it has dual-bios so that will bring it alive.

What I'm curious on if it allows you to fix the "broken" one or not (theoretically yes but I'm not sure how as you're now running on another BIOS). If all else fails that iGPU method should work.


"We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us."


error-id10t is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 97 (permalink) Old 01-07-2015, 01:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Elite3540's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Thanks for this helpfull Guide! smile.gif +REP wink.gif
Elite3540 is offline  
post #23 of 97 (permalink) Old 01-12-2015, 01:14 AM
Matcha Soda
 
amd955be5670's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Antarctica
Posts: 1,214
Rep: 56 (Unique: 37)
Edit

Nevermind, worked.

amd955be5670 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 97 (permalink) Old 01-12-2015, 05:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
RedWabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: A place in the sun
Posts: 142
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I cant save my bios using gpuz for some reason so Ive been told to us nvflash to save the bios. you wouldnt happen to know how to do this would you?

got it dont worry about this thanks



RedWabbit is offline  
post #25 of 97 (permalink) Old 02-06-2015, 10:59 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,760
Rep: 68 (Unique: 49)
Bumpage.

Can anyone explain why disabling my display drivers makes text unreadable? I cannot navigate properly as everything is incredibly blurry once I disable the drivers to update my 970. I knew where the Enable button was, fortunately, even though I couldn't see it, so I was able to re-enable the drivers again.

AngryGoldfish is offline  
post #26 of 97 (permalink) Old 02-06-2015, 07:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
oldirtdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
the same thing happens to me when i flash a new bios but it really doesn't matter since the only thing i have to do when the screen is blurry is hit enter and y twice in the cmd prompt and then re enable the display driver.. which is exactly what you should be doing. write your nvflash command "nvflash -6 whateverbiosyouareflashing.rom" in the cmd prompt window but don't hit enter yet. open device manager and select your display driver, disable it, click on the cmd window, hit enter and y twice, and then re enable your display driver then reboot your computer. no reading required at all smile.gif
oldirtdog is offline  
post #27 of 97 (permalink) Old 02-07-2015, 01:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
error-id10t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,757
Rep: 201 (Unique: 170)
So what happens when you remove drivers all together? I didn't get a blurry picture.. I got the normal completely out of control screen in size-wise but it was still usable.


"We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us."


error-id10t is offline  
post #28 of 97 (permalink) Old 02-07-2015, 06:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Luck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 458
Rep: 29 (Unique: 20)
Anybody know how to flash bios for SLI? Do I need to remove one card and do them one at a time?

Battlestation
(15 items)
TV Buddy
(15 items)
CPU
Intel i9-9900k
Motherboard
Asus ROG Maximus XI Hero (Wifi)
GPU
Gigabyte Aorus 1080ti
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 2 x 8 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO NVMe 1 TB
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra Gold 1000 W
Cooling
Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT
Case
Cooler Master MasterCase H500M
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer Predator XB270HU
Keyboard
CM Quickfire TK
Mouse
Logitech G500s
Mousepad
Logitech G440
Audio
Logitech G533 Gaming Headset
Audio
StudioSpares Powered Studio Monitors
CPU
i5-4690
Motherboard
Asus Z97-A
GPU
EVGA GTX 670 FTW
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 4GB x 2
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Green 3 TB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240 GB SSD
Optical Drive
Pioneer BDC-207DBK Blu-Ray Reader, DVD/CD Writer
Power Supply
SeaSonic G550
Cooling
Noctua NH-L12
Cooling
Scythe Gentle Typhoon 37.0 CFM 120mm x 2
Case
Silverstone GD09B
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro
Keyboard
Logitech K400
Other
FLIRC USB Dongle for Media Centre
Other
Harmony 650 Remote
▲ hide details ▲
Luck100 is offline  
post #29 of 97 (permalink) Old 02-07-2015, 06:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
deepor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4,950
Rep: 483 (Unique: 328)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luck100 View Post

Anybody know how to flash bios for SLI? Do I need to remove one card and do them one at a time?

The nvflash command line tool has parameters to deal with that. There's one that lists all devices it can find in your PC. You then can use the number you see in that listing for the index parameter when flashing.

Read through the descriptions you get when you type "nvflash -?" on the command line.

EDIT: I just noticed it's explained in the first post of this thread.
deepor is offline  
post #30 of 97 (permalink) Old 02-07-2015, 07:46 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,760
Rep: 68 (Unique: 49)
Quote:
Originally Posted by error-id10t View Post

So what happens when you remove drivers all together? I didn't get a blurry picture.. I got the normal completely out of control screen in size-wise but it was still usable.

Haven't tried removing the drivers entirely, no.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldirtdog View Post

the same thing happens to me when i flash a new bios but it really doesn't matter since the only thing i have to do when the screen is blurry is hit enter and y twice in the cmd prompt and then re enable the display driver.. which is exactly what you should be doing. write your nvflash command "nvflash -6 whateverbiosyouareflashing.rom" in the cmd prompt window but don't hit enter yet. open device manager and select your display driver, disable it, click on the cmd window, hit enter and y twice, and then re enable your display driver then reboot your computer. no reading required at all smile.gif

Oh yeah, this should work. Nice one.

AngryGoldfish is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off