GTX 970s can only use 3.5GB of 4GB VRAM issue - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

GTX 970s can only use 3.5GB of 4GB VRAM issue

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 2990 (permalink) Old 01-12-2015, 03:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cyenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 214
Rep: 12 (Unique: 10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrimDoctor View Post

Why do people keep making this same thread when it has been disproven...

Go play something like Lords of the Fallen and post results. Others including myself have and posted the results in the official 970 thread and others have done this more in depth tests on other forums.

It's simple, some games are currently programmed to use more or all and some aren't at this point in time.

If it´s like that, why the 980GTX can use more than 3.6GB? For example, my neighbour doenst stuter in COD:AW above 3.6GB and with the same settings i cant play it without massive stuterring both cards above 80fps, i stuter he doesnt, his card is consuming almost 3.8GB my card is sitting near 3.6GB. I suspect is driver related.

cyenz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 2990 (permalink) Old 01-12-2015, 05:39 AM
Matcha Soda
 
amd955be5670's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Antarctica
Posts: 1,207
Rep: 56 (Unique: 37)
@Serandur

+Rep for the amazing analysis. I hope more people can call this out and Nvidia atleast come up with an explanation/apology or whatever, it doesn't look fixable to me.

amd955be5670 is offline  
post #13 of 2990 (permalink) Old 01-12-2015, 05:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
headd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 620
Rep: 71 (Unique: 56)
here is video from moded skyrim in 1920x1080 +8xMSAA.Game stutter because not enough Vram but Vram usage is only 3500-3600MB
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2ejqt1_skyrim-gtx970-8xmsaa
headd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 2990 (permalink) Old 01-12-2015, 05:46 AM
100+ fps
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,466
Rep: 76 (Unique: 57)
I've maxed the VRAM on my 970s out in Skyrim w. mods.

Main
(7 items)
Golden Ivy
(13 items)
HTPC
(9 items)
CPU
i9-9900K @ 5.2 GHz
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Extreme
GPU
1080 Ti @ 2+ GHz
RAM
32GB @ 3500/CL15
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 850W
Monitor
Asus PG279Q - 1440p @ 165Hz Gsync
CPU
i7-3770K @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
GPU
980 Ti @ 1.5 GHz
RAM
16GB @ 2400/CL10
Hard Drive
2x 850 Evo 500 GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 850W
Cooling
Custom Water
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2515H 1440p/60Hz AH-IPS
Keyboard
Logitech G610 MX-Red + O-Rings
Mouse
Logitech G403
Audio
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Audio
Philips Fidelio X1
CPU
i3-4150T
Motherboard
AsRock Z97E-ITX/ac
RAM
8GB @ 1600/CL9
Hard Drive
Samsung 830 256GB + 40TB NAS
Power Supply
Streacom Nano150 Fanless
Cooling
Fanless
Case
Streacom FC8 Evo
Monitor
LG C7V 65" 2160p/OLED/HDR
Keyboard
Logitech K400
▲ hide details ▲
Lass3 is offline  
post #15 of 2990 (permalink) Old 01-12-2015, 05:56 AM
Leader of the #1 [email protected] Team
 
PimpSkyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ky, USA
Posts: 4,943
Rep: 152 (Unique: 112)
Quote:
Originally Posted by headd View Post

here is video from moded skyrim in 1920x1080 +8xMSAA.Game stutter because not enough Vram but Vram usage is only 3500-3600MB
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2ejqt1_skyrim-gtx970-8xmsaa

Well that worries me. lol

Oo\_______/oO #RIPPaulWalker Oo\_______/oO
"It's like a job, when a mistake is noticed the good things that you have done in the past and present don't matter." - Hertz
95.567% of people make up the stats in their sig. If you are part of the 4.433% who uses real stats, put this in your sig.
The Black Ranger .2
(18 items)
Folding Skyline
(16 items)
MiningSkyline
(12 items)
CPU
Intel i7 5820K @ (Not Stock)
Motherboard
ASUS X99-A
GPU
Nvidia EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FE @ 2,000+
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 3200Mhz (4x4GB)
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 128GB SATA III SSD (OS)
Hard Drive
Western Digital 2TB SATA III (Data)
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 275GB SATA III SSD (Game)
Optical Drive
LG SATA Light-Scribe DVD+/-RW Drive
Power Supply
Corsair Professional Series HX850W
Cooling
Corsair H100i Pull x2
Case
Rosewill Thor V2 Black/White L.E. Full Tower Case
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit SP2
Monitor
Hisense 55" 2160p 60/120Hz TV/Monitor
Monitor
Dell SX2210 DVI 1920x1080
Keyboard
Logitech G11 Gaming Keyboard
Mouse
Logitech Ball Pro
Mouse
What Pad? >_<
Audio
Logitech Z4 2.1 Stereo System
CPU
Intel Q6600 @ ~3Ghz
Motherboard
MSI 775 Aftermarket Mobo
GPU
Nvida GTX 770 LE 2GB @ ~1,300+
RAM
2x2GB (4GB) 800Mhz DDR2 RAM
Hard Drive
Seagate 160GB
Optical Drive
DVD/CD Writer/Burner
Power Supply
Corsair CX500 500W PSU
Cooling
Cooler Master 92mm
Case
Spartan Series
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Bit Ultimate Basic
Monitor
Dell 18" LCD DVI
Keyboard
Dell QWERTY
Mouse
Dell Laser
Mouse
N/A
Audio
Internal Speaker
Other
240mm Fan to Cool GPU
CPU
AMD Phenom II x6 1100T @ 4Ghz
Motherboard
MSI 790FXA
GPU
NV Zotac GTX 980 Ti 6GB AMP! OMEGA @1500+
RAM
OCZ DDR3 4x2GB 1600Mhz
Hard Drive
Precision 60GB SSD
Power Supply
Rosewill Ultra X3 1000W Modular
Cooling
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo X
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Monitor
Dell 17" VGA
Keyboard
Dell Keyboard
Mouse
Dell Lazer
Mouse
N/A
▲ hide details ▲


PimpSkyline is offline  
post #16 of 2990 (permalink) Old 01-12-2015, 06:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
John Shepard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 686
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
John Shepard is offline  
post #17 of 2990 (permalink) Old 01-12-2015, 07:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Serandur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,648
Rep: 217 (Unique: 122)
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Shepard View Post

at 1080p
Is that with or without the ultra texture pack and what settings? Also important, what happens once you start moving and fighting? Any stuttering, hitching, or performance drops?

Serandur is offline  
post #18 of 2990 (permalink) Old 01-12-2015, 07:34 AM
I fix Stuff
 
XanderTheGoober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: 45 minutes from MN Micro Center
Posts: 5,370
Rep: 316 (Unique: 244)
Subbed for finding out if this is a wide spread issue with the 970. Have only gotten my 970 to use 3.5GB vram on Far Cry 4 but would still like to keep an eye on this.

Helpful Links & Hardware History (Click to show)OCN Marketplace Expectations (Click to show)
- I always test my purchased products before leaving trader feedback. If I bought something from you and you have not gotten feedback give me a little friendly PM bump. smile.gif
- When selling items I do my best to pack and ship by the next business day.
- You can never communicate too much, that said I try to relay any relevant information during a transaction as soon as it becomes available.
- I am willing to work with you on whatever you need, I am only a PM away.
Xander's Windows tune up guide
XanderTheGoober is offline  
post #19 of 2990 (permalink) Old 01-12-2015, 09:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tonnytech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 73
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
well this explains a lot , ive been banging my head of wall for months trying different settings fresh installs etc etc i have stuttering in most games even if i try to lock fps at 60 and use resolution 1080P (shocking) i cant even play far cry 4 on sli as the performance is awfull even though fps are high have been wondering why i only see cards max out @ 3.5gb then came across this thread via nvidea site then guru3d i am also another user that experiances low gpu usage. I think ill probably end up selling these cards now hopefully i can claw enuff money back to buy new card smile.gif

i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ek Watercooled:Asus Sabertooth Mark 1 Z97:16GB Kingston Hyper X @ 2400:Nvidea Titan X Pascal Ek Watercooled:2 x WD Red 6TB 1X Samsung Pro Evo 1.5TB:Supaflower 1000W Leadex Platinumhantek Enthoo Primo
tonnytech is offline  
post #20 of 2990 (permalink) Old 01-12-2015, 09:31 AM
I fix Stuff
 
XanderTheGoober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: 45 minutes from MN Micro Center
Posts: 5,370
Rep: 316 (Unique: 244)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonnytech View Post

well this explains a lot , ive been banging my head of wall for months trying different settings fresh installs etc etc i have stuttering in most games even if i try to lock fps at 60 and use resolution 1080P (shocking) i cant even play far cry 4 on sli as the performance is awfull even though fps are high have been wondering why i only see cards max out @ 3.5gb then came across this thread via nvidea site then guru3d i am also another user that experiances low gpu usage. I think ill probably end up selling these cards now hopefully i can claw enuff money back to buy new card smile.gif

Sli for most users on overclock.net is still broken on Far Cry 4.
https://www.overclock.net/t/1520430/official-far-cry-4-information-discussion-thread

Helpful Links & Hardware History (Click to show)OCN Marketplace Expectations (Click to show)
- I always test my purchased products before leaving trader feedback. If I bought something from you and you have not gotten feedback give me a little friendly PM bump. smile.gif
- When selling items I do my best to pack and ship by the next business day.
- You can never communicate too much, that said I try to relay any relevant information during a transaction as soon as it becomes available.
- I am willing to work with you on whatever you need, I am only a PM away.
Xander's Windows tune up guide
XanderTheGoober is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off