[Official] NVIDIA GTX 1070 Owner's Club - Page 975 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[Official] NVIDIA GTX 1070 Owner's Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9741 of 9775 (permalink) Old 06-24-2019, 01:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
specopsFI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,016
Rep: 134 (Unique: 105)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
What's the actual power watts of the card when it's throttling?
A GTX 1070 with a *291W* power limit?
I know 1080's are capable of that but I've never seen a 1070 go that high! Where are you getting this reading from?
A GTX 1070 is supposed to have a 151W base power limit and 170W (100%-112%). Just for reference, 152% is *230W*.
Find out what the base TDP is at 100% for that card, please and what wattage it is actually using.
The newest version of MSI Afterburner should be able to read the wattage. if it can not, use HWinfo64 (it even has a RTSS plugin overlay so you can use it with RTSS). HWinfo64 will show the exact wattage the card is pulling.

I'm 98% sure a GTX 1070 can't go anywhere close to 291W TDP without voltage adjustments. You would need to really crank up the voltage for that. It definitely can't do that at 1.031v for sure.
291W TDP is modded GTX 1080 territory. You mentioned "126% TDP". 126% from a 150W base is exactly 200W.
Yes, the stock BIOS for the GTX 1070 Gaming X is 230W at 100% and max at 126% = 291W. NVSMI log of my card attached, this is when set the power limit at max with either Afterburner or NVSMI.

Can be seen in the TPU hosted BIOS as well: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...70-8192-160602

Also, @gtbtk was running a very similar BIOS with his card, the 1070 Gaming Z BIOS that is: https://www.overclock.net/forum/69-n...l#post27352001.

Has the same 291W max limit, and he saw throttling at 105% = 242W. Mine hits the power limit flag at ~104%, which should be ~239W. Regardless of the fact that Afterburner and NVSMI show the current power limit being set at 126% / 291W. And maybe the weirdest thing is HWinfo showing max wattage being only at ~211W!

The normal troubleshooting has been done, aka DDU-> clean reinstall of drivers and Afterburner etc... Nothing changed. Weird thing, had nothing like this ever with my 1080 Ti.

That is exactly where the conundrum is. The BIOS should have plenty of headroom, but refuses to use it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	NVSMI_log.png
Views:	9
Size:	11.0 KB
ID:	276228  

Click image for larger version

Name:	HWinfo.png
Views:	7
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	276230  


specopsFI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9742 of 9775 (permalink) Old 07-04-2019, 05:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
specopsFI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,016
Rep: 134 (Unique: 105)
So not a lot of love for these 1070s these days, it seems. I'm still gonna continue my monologue for one more message.

As said, my 1070 Gaming X was struggling a bit with temps before. I have now put it on Kryonaut and that dropped the temps. Like a lot. Last time FS Ultra stress test settled at 75 degrees, now it's at 63 as seen in the attachment. So that's progress.

But the power throttling remains. Is there truly no one with experience on a Pascal card that power throttles even when not hitting the set and reported power limit? Both NVSMI and Afterburner say that the setting of 126% = 291 W is sticking, but the card just overrules it and power throttles when reaching ~103%.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	stresstest_2101_kryonaut.png
Views:	35
Size:	1.45 MB
ID:	277780  


specopsFI is offline  
post #9743 of 9775 (permalink) Old 07-04-2019, 10:11 AM
Are you sure about that?
 
TwilightRavens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: OBX, North Carolina
Posts: 1,248
Rep: 21 (Unique: 13)
Quote: Originally Posted by specopsFI View Post
So not a lot of love for these 1070s these days, it seems. I'm still gonna continue my monologue for one more message.

As said, my 1070 Gaming X was struggling a bit with temps before. I have now put it on Kryonaut and that dropped the temps. Like a lot. Last time FS Ultra stress test settled at 75 degrees, now it's at 63 as seen in the attachment. So that's progress.

But the power throttling remains. Is there truly no one with experience on a Pascal card that power throttles even when not hitting the set and reported power limit? Both NVSMI and Afterburner say that the setting of 126% = 291 W is sticking, but the card just overrules it and power throttles when reaching ~103%.
There must be something else at play then, neither my 1070 or my 1080 do that but what I am not entirely sure. Have you DDU’d and installed an updated driver?

CPU’s I’ve owned: P4 630, P4 631, C2D E6320, C2D E6700, X3230, QX9650, X5470, i5 655K, i7 3770K ES, Pentium 2020M, i5 4690K, i7 5775C, Athlon XP 3200+, E2-1800, Athlon 64 X2 1.8GHz, A10 4600M, Ryzen 5 2600X, Ryzen 9 3900X

GPU’s I‘ve owned: GeForce2 MX400, 8800GTX, GTX 660 SLI, GTX 1070, GTX 1080, GTX 1080 ti, x1300, R9 380, R9 290X, Iris Pro 6200.
Project: Overkill
(16 items)
The Linux Box
(14 items)
AM4 (Wife's Rig)
(14 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 3900X (stock) (fclk 1900MHz)
Motherboard
ASRock X570 Taichi
GPU
MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Armor OC 11G (2088MHz)
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ Neo RGB 3800MHz 2 x 16GB (16-16-16-36)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo M.2 SSD 250GB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf 4TB NAS 7200RPM HDD
Optical Drive
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray/DVD/CD Writer
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 750W PQ (Semi modular)
Cooling
AMD Wraith Prism
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered Glass ATX Full Tower
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64 1909
Monitor
Sceptre 27" Curved 144Hz Gaming LED Monitor Edge-Less AMD FreeSync DisplayPort HDMI, Metal Black 2019 (C275B-144RN)
Monitor
Acer SB220Q bi 21.5 inches Full HD (1920 x 1080) IPS Ultra-Thin Zero Frame Monitor
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero Gaming Mouse
Other
Thermaltake Commander FT Touch Screen 5.25 inch fan controller
CPU
Intel i7-5775C @ 3.3GHz 1.065v
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1
GPU
MSI R9 380 Gaming 4G
RAM
G.Skill RipjawsX 2 x 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
Hard Drive
Kingston SSD 120GB (OS)
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM HDD 2TB
Power Supply
Corsair RM850 850W 80+ Gold
Cooling
Thermaltake 7-bladed 92mm 4-Pins PWM Aluminum Extrusion CPU Cooling Fan for Intel Core i7/i5/i3 CLP0556-B
Case
Fractal Design Focus G
Operating System
Ubuntu 18.04.4 LTS 64-bit
Monitor
Acer SB220Q bi 21.5 inches Full HD (1920 x 1080) IPS Ultra-Thin Zero Frame Monitor
Keyboard
Dell USB Slim Wired Keyboard KB113P P/N 0N8WF8 - Black
Mouse
Manhattan MH3 Wired Mouse, Black/Grey, 1000dpi, USB, Optical, Sturdy, Three Button with Scroll Wheel, Box - USB Optical Mouse
Other
ASUS PCE-AC56 PCI-E Wireless Express Adapter
CPU
Ryzen 5 2600X (stock with PBO enabled)
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 AORUS Ultra Gaming AM4
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 Superclocked
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB DDR4 (b-die) 3200MHz (16GB) (14-14-14-34)
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 SSD
Hard Drive
HGST 1TB 2.5"
Optical Drive
ASUS CD/DVD Drive
Power Supply
Corsair CX650
Cooling
Wraith Spire AM4 Cooler
Case
DEEPCOOL ATX Case Kendomen TI
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Samsung 24" 1080p curved
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy
Mouse
Logitech Mini Wireless Mouse
▲ hide details ▲
TwilightRavens is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9744 of 9775 (permalink) Old 07-04-2019, 11:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
specopsFI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,016
Rep: 134 (Unique: 105)
Quote: Originally Posted by TwilightRavens View Post
There must be something else at play then, neither my 1070 or my 1080 do that but what I am not entirely sure. Have you DDU’d and installed an updated driver?
Yes, several times. Tried several different drivers as well. I had a little bit of a similar experience with my 1080Ti Jetstream after flashing it with a Super Jetstream BIOS. Since then Afterburner did set the power limit, but the card power throttled at 100% anyway. Only by setting the power limit with NVSMI did the card use up to 140% power. And it was a one time deal, after that I never had a problem with it even after DDU + new drivers. But this time NVSMI does nothing that Afterburner doesn't do as well, so running out of ideas. Maybe I'll give it another go on my new Ryzen build once I get my hands on the CPU...

Weird stuff.

specopsFI is offline  
post #9745 of 9775 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 06:27 AM
stock...hahaha
 
gtbtk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,619
Rep: 124 (Unique: 87)
Quote: Originally Posted by specopsFI View Post
Yes, the stock BIOS for the GTX 1070 Gaming X is 230W at 100% and max at 126% = 291W. NVSMI log of my card attached, this is when set the power limit at max with either Afterburner or NVSMI.

Can be seen in the TPU hosted BIOS as well: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...70-8192-160602

Also, @gtbtk was running a very similar BIOS with his card, the 1070 Gaming Z BIOS that is: https://www.overclock.net/forum/69-n...l#post27352001.

Has the same 291W max limit, and he saw throttling at 105% = 242W. Mine hits the power limit flag at ~104%, which should be ~239W. Regardless of the fact that Afterburner and NVSMI show the current power limit being set at 126% / 291W. And maybe the weirdest thing is HWinfo showing max wattage being only at ~211W!

The normal troubleshooting has been done, aka DDU-> clean reinstall of drivers and Afterburner etc... Nothing changed. Weird thing, had nothing like this ever with my 1080 Ti.

That is exactly where the conundrum is. The BIOS should have plenty of headroom, but refuses to use it.
Not been here for a while. My rig is in pieces so I cannot test this. Take a look at he 1080ti bios flashing guide in teh 1080ti owners forum. It mentions the same issue with 1080ti when you flash a different bios and claims that you can reset the power limit using the nvidia-smi utility. The power limits is definitely a product of the installed firmware. At one stage I had a Galax bios on the card and it was pulling 300W but I could never get the card totally stable

I have not been able to test the nvidia-smi reset it but it might be worth a try. Let me know if it solves your problem.

The command to reset the power limit is "C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVSMI\nvidia-smi.exe" -pl 291

Last edited by gtbtk; 07-08-2019 at 06:38 AM.
gtbtk is offline  
post #9746 of 9775 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 04:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
specopsFI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,016
Rep: 134 (Unique: 105)
Quote: Originally Posted by gtbtk View Post
Not been here for a while. My rig is in pieces so I cannot test this. Take a look at he 1080ti bios flashing guide in teh 1080ti owners forum. It mentions the same issue with 1080ti when you flash a different bios and claims that you can reset the power limit using the nvidia-smi utility. The power limits is definitely a product of the installed firmware. At one stage I had a Galax bios on the card and it was pulling 300W but I could never get the card totally stable

I have not been able to test the nvidia-smi reset it but it might be worth a try. Let me know if it solves your problem.

The command to reset the power limit is "C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVSMI\nvidia-smi.exe" -pl 291
Thank you for the suggestion. Unfortunately that doesn't help, tried it already. But the problem isn't that severe, to be honest. I can't get the throttling to occur in anything other than Fire Strike Ultra. So maybe I'll just think of it as an outlier and not worry about it. Might take another shot once my new rig is up and running.

specopsFI is offline  
post #9747 of 9775 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 12:47 PM
Are you sure about that?
 
TwilightRavens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: OBX, North Carolina
Posts: 1,248
Rep: 21 (Unique: 13)
Quote: Originally Posted by specopsFI View Post
Thank you for the suggestion. Unfortunately that doesn't help, tried it already. But the problem isn't that severe, to be honest. I can't get the throttling to occur in anything other than Fire Strike Ultra. So maybe I'll just think of it as an outlier and not worry about it. Might take another shot once my new rig is up and running.
Could also try putting liquid metal on the shunt resistors, from what I have seen that raises the power limit and keeps it from throttling that way.

CPU’s I’ve owned: P4 630, P4 631, C2D E6320, C2D E6700, X3230, QX9650, X5470, i5 655K, i7 3770K ES, Pentium 2020M, i5 4690K, i7 5775C, Athlon XP 3200+, E2-1800, Athlon 64 X2 1.8GHz, A10 4600M, Ryzen 5 2600X, Ryzen 9 3900X

GPU’s I‘ve owned: GeForce2 MX400, 8800GTX, GTX 660 SLI, GTX 1070, GTX 1080, GTX 1080 ti, x1300, R9 380, R9 290X, Iris Pro 6200.
Project: Overkill
(16 items)
The Linux Box
(14 items)
AM4 (Wife's Rig)
(14 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 3900X (stock) (fclk 1900MHz)
Motherboard
ASRock X570 Taichi
GPU
MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Armor OC 11G (2088MHz)
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ Neo RGB 3800MHz 2 x 16GB (16-16-16-36)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo M.2 SSD 250GB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf 4TB NAS 7200RPM HDD
Optical Drive
LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray/DVD/CD Writer
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 750W PQ (Semi modular)
Cooling
AMD Wraith Prism
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro Tempered Glass ATX Full Tower
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64 1909
Monitor
Sceptre 27" Curved 144Hz Gaming LED Monitor Edge-Less AMD FreeSync DisplayPort HDMI, Metal Black 2019 (C275B-144RN)
Monitor
Acer SB220Q bi 21.5 inches Full HD (1920 x 1080) IPS Ultra-Thin Zero Frame Monitor
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero Gaming Mouse
Other
Thermaltake Commander FT Touch Screen 5.25 inch fan controller
CPU
Intel i7-5775C @ 3.3GHz 1.065v
Motherboard
ASUS Z97-E/USB 3.1
GPU
MSI R9 380 Gaming 4G
RAM
G.Skill RipjawsX 2 x 4GB DDR3 1600MHz
Hard Drive
Kingston SSD 120GB (OS)
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM HDD 2TB
Power Supply
Corsair RM850 850W 80+ Gold
Cooling
Thermaltake 7-bladed 92mm 4-Pins PWM Aluminum Extrusion CPU Cooling Fan for Intel Core i7/i5/i3 CLP0556-B
Case
Fractal Design Focus G
Operating System
Ubuntu 18.04.4 LTS 64-bit
Monitor
Acer SB220Q bi 21.5 inches Full HD (1920 x 1080) IPS Ultra-Thin Zero Frame Monitor
Keyboard
Dell USB Slim Wired Keyboard KB113P P/N 0N8WF8 - Black
Mouse
Manhattan MH3 Wired Mouse, Black/Grey, 1000dpi, USB, Optical, Sturdy, Three Button with Scroll Wheel, Box - USB Optical Mouse
Other
ASUS PCE-AC56 PCI-E Wireless Express Adapter
CPU
Ryzen 5 2600X (stock with PBO enabled)
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 AORUS Ultra Gaming AM4
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 Superclocked
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB DDR4 (b-die) 3200MHz (16GB) (14-14-14-34)
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 SSD
Hard Drive
HGST 1TB 2.5"
Optical Drive
ASUS CD/DVD Drive
Power Supply
Corsair CX650
Cooling
Wraith Spire AM4 Cooler
Case
DEEPCOOL ATX Case Kendomen TI
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Samsung 24" 1080p curved
Keyboard
Logitech G213 Prodigy
Mouse
Logitech Mini Wireless Mouse
▲ hide details ▲
TwilightRavens is offline  
post #9748 of 9775 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 12:29 AM
stock...hahaha
 
gtbtk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,619
Rep: 124 (Unique: 87)
Quote: Originally Posted by specopsFI View Post
Thank you for the suggestion. Unfortunately that doesn't help, tried it already. But the problem isn't that severe, to be honest. I can't get the throttling to occur in anything other than Fire Strike Ultra. So maybe I'll just think of it as an outlier and not worry about it. Might take another shot once my new rig is up and running.
In my experience with my gaming X at 1080p the card never hit the power limits anyway even when Overclocked to get a 21600 graphics score in Firestrike. 1440p loads would hit the power limit. As my monitor is 1200p it was never a real issue for me so I didn't investigate it to much.
gtbtk is offline  
post #9749 of 9775 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 04:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Dear all,

 Hope you can help me here. I have recently downloaded latest BIOS F3 from Gigabyte website and tried to update my card (GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1070 Xtreme Gaming). Well the result was that I had a black screen. I know, "Don't fix it if it works" but well...it happened. So I have tried to download GV-N1070XTREME-8GD/F2/0404 from techpowerup web site which partially fixed the issue. First time when I power on my computer I get black screen again, but if I reboot my computer then it loads normally. The problem is that from time to time some application crashes now and the performance is not same like it used to be. And also rebooting computer anytime when I want to start it is quite annoying. Do you have any idea how to solve this problem? Some further details: Of course I already tried to uninstall nvidia drivers, applications and then I made a clean installation. I have tried to re-flash the BIOS again but that also didn't help.

Thank you,

Regards,

​​​​​​​Tomas
wokie is offline  
post #9750 of 9775 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 06:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
FastOne8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by wokie View Post
Dear all,

Hope you can help me here. I have recently downloaded latest BIOS F3 from Gigabyte website and tried to update my card (GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1070 Xtreme Gaming). Well the result was that I had a black screen. I know, "Don't fix it if it works" but well...it happened. So I have tried to download GV-N1070XTREME-8GD/F2/0404 from techpowerup web site which partially fixed the issue. First time when I power on my computer I get black screen again, but if I reboot my computer then it loads normally. The problem is that from time to time some application crashes now and the performance is not same like it used to be. And also rebooting computer anytime when I want to start it is quite annoying. Do you have any idea how to solve this problem? Some further details: Of course I already tried to uninstall nvidia drivers, applications and then I made a clean installation. I have tried to re-flash the BIOS again but that also didn't help.

Thank you,

Regards,

​​​​​​​Tomas
Hi. You can try to download and install official Gigabyte BIOS from here https://www.gigabyte.com/us/Graphics...upport-dl-bios
and see if it helps.
Also on the same website you mentioned there are multiple different BIOS versions for your card model. You can try to flash them one by one and see if any would work the same as your old one



What was the original reason that you made you install different firmware? You some some problems with your GPU before?
FastOne8 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off