Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! BIOS Flash To AMP! Extreme Edition - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! BIOS Flash To AMP! Extreme Edition

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 107 (permalink) Old 09-30-2016, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Insan1tyOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,492
Rep: 137 (Unique: 110)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefer View Post

Differences in stock and extreme bios. Both runs on stock settings.

Settings original Bios:
stock GPU @ 1635 mem @5000
Settled boost @1901
3Dmark Time Spyscore:
Graphics: 7295
CPU: 4463

Settings Exteme Bios:
Stock GPU @ 1771 mem @5400
Settled boost @1950
3Dmark Time Spyscore:
Graphics: 7758
CPU: 4382

Ofc extreme is faster... stock settings are higher. also temp is higher... with auto settings on fan the original bios goes up to 76 C , extreme went up to 78°C.

Think i am gonna run the extreme on stock for a while. see how it holds in regular gaming

I appreciate you doing that and for posting a brief guide on how to flash the BIOS using Zotac's tool. I will be sure to update the OP soon with all of this valuable information after I complete my own flash. It looks like UPS is doing some weird stuff with my package (it was an hour away from me and now it is halfway across the country again?) So hopefully I have my new card in hand by early next week. Also just a tip here, if you own Battlefield 3 or Battlefield 4 I would recommend playing those games to test the stability of your card with the new BIOS at stock settings.

During my time spent modifying AMD BIOS files I found that even though a card may appear "stable" in benchmarks and some games, the Frostbite engine that DICE uses would always expose flaws and cause crashing if the card was even slightly unstable. This allowed me to really lock in some rock stable clocks on my cards without needing to ever use any OC programs or editors since everything was just baked into the BIOS itself.

- Insan1tyOne thumb.gif
Insan1tyOne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 107 (permalink) Old 09-30-2016, 12:29 PM
ٴٴٴ╲⎝⧹˙͜>˙⧸⎠╱
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,485
Rep: 160 (Unique: 125)
So the only way to make the gpu flash is to use zotac firestorm?

nͫٴiͤٴcͫٴeͤ੮Һ૯ ცɿ૭ ૭คעٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴ
█▀█ █▄█ ▀█▀ ▀█▀


TK421 is offline  
post #23 of 107 (permalink) Old 09-30-2016, 12:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 33
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insan1tyOne View Post

I appreciate you doing that and for posting a brief guide on how to flash the BIOS using Zotac's tool. I will be sure to update the OP soon with all of this valuable information after I complete my own flash. It looks like UPS is doing some weird stuff with my package (it was an hour away from me and now it is halfway across the country again?) So hopefully I have my new card in hand by early next week. Also just a tip here, if you own Battlefield 3 or Battlefield 4 I would recommend playing those games to test the stability of your card with the new BIOS at stock settings.

During my time spent modifying AMD BIOS files I found that even though a card may appear "stable" in benchmarks and some games, the Frostbite engine that DICE uses would always expose flaws and cause crashing if the card was even slightly unstable. This allowed me to really lock in some rock stable clocks on my cards without needing to ever use any OC programs or editors since everything was just baked into the BIOS itself.

- Insan1tyOne thumb.gif

Yeah, the guide is really brief... but it really is as easy as that.. just tryit when your card gets there...

Lol, had same thing once when ordering vape gear from US (i live in EU) Went from Florida to New York, to LA, to Chicago and then to Netherlands... really laughed my ass off when that happend.

Was planning on getting back into BF4 tonight... So will do smile.gif enjoy the weekend and hope you get your card soon
Reefer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 107 (permalink) Old 09-30-2016, 01:08 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Insan1tyOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,492
Rep: 137 (Unique: 110)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK421 View Post

So the only way to make the gpu flash is to use zotac firestorm?

That is correct! If you would like to attempt to flash the BIOS to your Zotac card please use their "firestorm" program.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefer View Post

Yeah, the guide is really brief... but it really is as easy as that.. just tryit when your card gets there...

Lol, had same thing once when ordering vape gear from US (i live in EU) Went from Florida to New York, to LA, to Chicago and then to Netherlands... really laughed my ass off when that happend.

Was planning on getting back into BF4 tonight... So will do smile.gif enjoy the weekend and hope you get your card soon

Will do, enjoy your weekend as well!

- Insan1tyOne biggrin.gif
Insan1tyOne is offline  
post #25 of 107 (permalink) Old 09-30-2016, 03:46 PM
ٴٴٴ╲⎝⧹˙͜>˙⧸⎠╱
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,485
Rep: 160 (Unique: 125)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insan1tyOne View Post

That is correct! If you would like to attempt to flash the BIOS to your Zotac card please use their "firestorm" program.
Will do, enjoy your weekend as well!

- Insan1tyOne biggrin.gif

I do it once home

My card is only stable 1974-1987 mhz due to temp throttling. If it stays below 50c then I'll actually get 2012MHz.


Locked at 1.093v +25mhz using evga xoc

nͫٴiͤٴcͫٴeͤ੮Һ૯ ცɿ૭ ૭คעٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴ
█▀█ █▄█ ▀█▀ ▀█▀


TK421 is offline  
post #26 of 107 (permalink) Old 09-30-2016, 04:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 33
Rep: 0
In BF4, my card stays around 2035Mhz with the Extreme bios.

Temp around 71C so that is not bad... This is at stock Extreme settings.

Tomorrow i am gonna try to up the Core voltage to 100% and the Power Limit to 120%.

FPS @ 1440p all maxed around 150-160 which is weird because i have G-sync enabled
Reefer is offline  
post #27 of 107 (permalink) Old 09-30-2016, 07:22 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Insan1tyOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,492
Rep: 137 (Unique: 110)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK421 View Post

I do it once home

My card is only stable 1974-1987 mhz due to temp throttling. If it stays below 50c then I'll actually get 2012MHz.


Locked at 1.093v +25mhz using evga xoc

Be sure to test the new BIOS on the card at complete stock settings first. (e.g. No OC programs open, etc.) This way you will get to know the baseline performance and temps. of your card with the new BIOS first before you attempt to OC it further.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefer View Post

In BF4, my card stays around 2035Mhz with the Extreme bios.

Temp around 71C so that is not bad... This is at stock Extreme settings.

Tomorrow i am gonna try to up the Core voltage to 100% and the Power Limit to 120%.

FPS @ 1440p all maxed around 150-160 which is weird because i have G-sync enabled

That sounds like pretty great performance in BF4 to me. And stabilizing at 2035 Mhz boost @ 71C also sounds pretty good for stock settings as well. And the card did not exhibit any oddities while you were playing? If not, then I would say it is most likely stable with the Extreme BIOS applied. I will be curious to see what your overclocking results are. Although since the Extreme BIOS already has a much higher target / limit voltage than the normal BIOS, maybe you should try overclocking first without raising any of the voltages or power limits? Either way, good luck!

- Insan1tyOne biggrin.gif
Insan1tyOne is offline  
post #28 of 107 (permalink) Old 09-30-2016, 07:45 PM
ٴٴٴ╲⎝⧹˙͜>˙⧸⎠╱
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,485
Rep: 160 (Unique: 125)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insan1tyOne View Post

Be sure to test the new BIOS on the card at complete stock settings first. (e.g. No OC programs open, etc.) This way you will get to know the baseline performance and temps. of your card with the new BIOS first before you attempt to OC it further.
That sounds like pretty great performance in BF4 to me. And stabilizing at 2035 Mhz boost @ 71C also sounds pretty good for stock settings as well. And the card did not exhibit any oddities while you were playing? If not, then I would say it is most likely stable with the Extreme BIOS applied. I will be curious to see what your overclocking results are. Although since the Extreme BIOS already has a much higher target / limit voltage than the normal BIOS, maybe you should try overclocking first without raising any of the voltages or power limits? Either way, good luck!

- Insan1tyOne biggrin.gif

Well, the problem is my card only stable 2012MHz under 50c, so I downclock the card after flash new bios.

Old bios: http://www.3dmark.com/fs/10333007
New bios (386w): http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/15173355

Minimal difference, if any.



I lost out on the silicon lottery, this card sucks.




TS0NbHX.jpg

qGcrmNT.jpg

P77oWsv.jpg

nͫٴiͤٴcͫٴeͤ੮Һ૯ ცɿ૭ ૭คעٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴ
█▀█ █▄█ ▀█▀ ▀█▀


TK421 is offline  
post #29 of 107 (permalink) Old 09-30-2016, 11:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Wickedtt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: US
Posts: 216
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I have a Amp Extreme its stock 2088mhz out of the box which is amazing but when i move voltage slider it doesnt do anything for some reason anyone know a reason for that? i have a 1070 Amp Extreme and the voltage would adjust normally too 1090mv. But the 1080 will only sit at 1060mv tops. Anyone know anything about why that might be would be amazing help. Or a different bios i need to flash!
Wickedtt is offline  
post #30 of 107 (permalink) Old 09-30-2016, 11:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Insan1tyOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,492
Rep: 137 (Unique: 110)
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK421 View Post

Well, the problem is my card only stable 2012MHz under 50c, so I downclock the card after flash new bios.

Old bios: http://www.3dmark.com/fs/10333007
New bios (386w): http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/15173355

Minimal difference, if any.



I lost out on the silicon lottery, this card sucks.




TS0NbHX.jpg

qGcrmNT.jpg

P77oWsv.jpg

The difference between the two would have been much larger if you tested each BIOS at stock settings. However, even at the exact same clocks the Extreme edition BIOS is netting you an extra 107 points so that isn't all bad! Something just seems off though, I don't understand why your card downclocks so much when other users cards do not downclock even when they are sitting at 70C or greater. I was always under the impression that serious downclocking only occurs after 85C. But maybe the silicon lottery really did just strike again?

All in all though a score of 5636 on a single GTX 1080 is pretty good! The highest score I can even find for a single 1080 on Firestrike Ultra is 6143, so I would say that your card isn't all that bad!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wickedtt View Post

I have a Amp Extreme its stock 2088mhz out of the box which is amazing but when i move voltage slider it doesnt do anything for some reason anyone know a reason for that? i have a 1070 Amp Extreme and the voltage would adjust normally too 1090mv. But the 1080 will only sit at 1060mv tops. Anyone know anything about why that might be would be amazing help. Or a different bios i need to flash!

The AMP! Extreme cards already have a relatively high voltage target / limit set in the BIOS, I have read multiple places that there are several (hardware) voltage limiters put in place on Pascal cards that will not allow you to increase the voltage past a certain point. That is why a lot of review sites said that the Pascal architecture has a "cement ceiling" overclocking limit. It could just be that the Extreme edition cards have already been pre-configured to have their voltages set to that "ceiling" by default in the BIOS.

- Insan1tyOne redface.gif
Insan1tyOne is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off