Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! BIOS Flash To AMP! Extreme Edition - Page 6 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! BIOS Flash To AMP! Extreme Edition

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #51 of 107 (permalink) Old 10-10-2016, 09:38 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Insan1tyOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,492
Rep: 137 (Unique: 110)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK421 View Post

with either bios you can just go into the msi ab curve, select the 1.093v point and overclock, then press L to lock the card in that specific state


the amp or amp extreme bios has a very high power limit it seems, even with the non-extreme version I don't get any kind of power related throttling

I would agree with that. It seems like our cards will never reach above 1.0930V which is odd to me because MSI AB reports that they should be able to hit up to 1.2000V. Anyways, here is the maximum overclock on my card that I could get to pass 3Dmark Timespy:

Settings Exteme Bios (Max Non-Stable OC):
GPU @1771 mem @5600
Max boost @2062

3Dmark Time Spyscore:
Graphics: 7873
CPU: 3753

Metrics:
Max GPU Temp: 85C
Max Fan Speed: 74%
Max TDP: 100.8%
Max VDDC: 1.0930 V

My OC settings were as shown in the photo below:



I don't know about you guys, but those 169 extra 3Dmark points aren't worth giving up the reliability / stability of the stock Extreme BIOS settings, so away with MSI AB I go!

- Insan1tyOne tongue.gif
Insan1tyOne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #52 of 107 (permalink) Old 10-10-2016, 11:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: µcode
Posts: 750
Rep: 59 (Unique: 48)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insan1tyOne View Post

I would agree with that. It seems like our cards will never reach above 1.0930V which is odd to me because MSI AB reports that they should be able to hit up to 1.2000V.

Where does AB report that?

ucode is offline  
post #53 of 107 (permalink) Old 10-11-2016, 06:43 AM
ٴٴٴ╲⎝⧹˙͜>˙⧸⎠╱
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,709
Rep: 163 (Unique: 127)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ucode View Post

Where does AB report that?

all cards do that

you can press ctrl f and see the curve go up to 1.2v

nͫٴiͤٴcͫٴeͤ੮Һ૯ ცɿ૭ ૭คעٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴ
█▀█ █▄█ ▀█▀ ▀█▀


TK421 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #54 of 107 (permalink) Old 10-11-2016, 10:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: µcode
Posts: 750
Rep: 59 (Unique: 48)
So we are going by AB only showing up to 1.2V. I don't think we can rely on that especially since voltage points continue above 1.2V, just AB does not show them. By the same logic 0.8V that AB shows would be the minimum voltage but we know that's not true.

ucode is offline  
post #55 of 107 (permalink) Old 10-11-2016, 10:26 AM
ٴٴٴ╲⎝⧹˙͜>˙⧸⎠╱
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,709
Rep: 163 (Unique: 127)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ucode View Post

So we are going by AB only showing up to 1.2V. I don't think we can rely on that especially since voltage points continue above 1.2V, just AB does not show them. By the same logic 0.8V that AB shows would be the minimum voltage but we know that's not true.
Mine idles at .681v


The voltage controller can send 1.2v to the GPU, but it's not possible with the bios restrictions that nvidia has enforced on all cards.

nͫٴiͤٴcͫٴeͤ੮Һ૯ ცɿ૭ ૭คעٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴ
█▀█ █▄█ ▀█▀ ▀█▀


TK421 is offline  
post #56 of 107 (permalink) Old 10-11-2016, 11:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 33
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insan1tyOne View Post

The 88.6% TDP limit may be a hardware safeguard set into place by Nvidia. Although in my testing of the Extreme BIOS, I was able to reach a max of 87.8% TDP.

Would you mind sharing your OC/Fan Curve/Frequency by Voltage curve in MSI AB as a reference?

Also, be sure to share your before / after results when you swap the thermal pads and paste. If the results are good I may consider doing that as well!

- Insan1tyOne smile.gif

So i did my thermal paste today... I us MX-3 paste form Arctic. Been using it for a while now. usually it takes off 3-5 degrees.

With my GTX1080 i see no difference. Also do i see that Zotac uses a paste now instead of the gummy goo manufactorers seemd to be using the last few year.
Also did i not change the thermal pads as i think they are the same as with what i wanted to change it for. Arctic MX-2 .

Will let the pate settle for a day and see how it looks under the gpu. For now i say... leave it as it is...
Reefer is offline  
post #57 of 107 (permalink) Old 10-11-2016, 11:46 AM
ٴٴٴ╲⎝⧹˙͜>˙⧸⎠╱
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,709
Rep: 163 (Unique: 127)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reefer View Post

So i did my thermal paste today... I us MX-3 paste form Arctic. Been using it for a while now. usually it takes off 3-5 degrees.

With my GTX1080 i see no difference. Also do i see that Zotac uses a paste now instead of the gummy goo manufactorers seemd to be using the last few year.
Also did i not change the thermal pads as i think they are the same as with what i wanted to change it for. Arctic MX-2 .

Will let the pate settle for a day and see how it looks under the gpu. For now i say... leave it as it is...

I actually use liquid metal on the GPU, temps don't seem to change under load though :0

nͫٴiͤٴcͫٴeͤ੮Һ૯ ცɿ૭ ૭คעٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴ
█▀█ █▄█ ▀█▀ ▀█▀


TK421 is offline  
post #58 of 107 (permalink) Old 10-11-2016, 02:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 33
Rep: 0
Ordered some " Gelid Solutions GC-Extreme Thermal Compound" Will be in tomorrow. See how that hold with temp.
Reefer is offline  
post #59 of 107 (permalink) Old 10-11-2016, 07:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: µcode
Posts: 750
Rep: 59 (Unique: 48)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK421 View Post

Mine idles at .681v


The voltage controller can send 1.2v to the GPU, but it's not possible with the bios restrictions that nvidia has enforced on all cards.

By idle do you mean below p-state P0? I meant it's possible to go below 0.8V while staying in P0. There are VBIOS's out there that allow 1.2V

ucode is offline  
post #60 of 107 (permalink) Old 10-11-2016, 09:02 PM
ٴٴٴ╲⎝⧹˙͜>˙⧸⎠╱
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,709
Rep: 163 (Unique: 127)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ucode View Post

By idle do you mean below p-state P0? I meant it's possible to go below 0.8V while staying in P0. There are VBIOS's out there that allow 1.2V

below p0 yes, I am idling at p8 through nvidia inspector

nͫٴiͤٴcͫٴeͤ੮Һ૯ ცɿ૭ ૭คעٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴ
█▀█ █▄█ ▀█▀ ▀█▀


TK421 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off