KFA2 GeForce GTX 1070 ex (Galax in USA) High temps! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

KFA2 GeForce GTX 1070 ex (Galax in USA) High temps!

post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-02-2016, 06:54 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 0
I have bought the KFA2 GeForce GTX 1070 ex (not exoc) and I am very disappointed with the cooler it has. When I try to oc around 2.050 Ghz the temperatures can go 80+ C with constant 99% usage tests eg. in witcher 3 and in furmark test (99%).

Is this normal?

Do you have the same problem? I am not an expert in gtx 1070 chip but looking at gtx fe and other aftermarket solutions in reviews and in relevant you tube videos eg. strix gtx 1070 it looks much cooler even at constant 99% usage in witcher 3 @ 2.050Ghz.
The fan speed is at 90-100% and I use a pc case with 5, 120mm arctic F12 fans so the airflow is ok.

I am thinking to return back now that I can. I am so frustrated. Can someone evaluate my findings? Can someone simulate my tests and post their temperatures at 99% usage and oc?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-02-2016, 09:58 AM
New to Overclock.net

I don't have the KFA2 or the GALAX card, my zotac 1070 extreme run the witcher 3 @2.1ghz with auto fan, max temp 59C, not oc yet.

What your room temp ?
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-02-2016, 05:23 PM
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 10 (Unique: 6)
Ok its a shot in the dark, but if remove the cooler you will see a black pad under VRM, A shot in the dark, remove black pad and allow VRM aluminum to contact heat sink or allow complete air to filter through VRM.
This method was on the exoc 1070, dont know about ex / replacing thermal paste helps as well may make for better results

INDUSTRY
(12 items)
CPU
AMD THREAD-RIPPER 1950X TR4
Motherboard
MSI Carbon PRO X399 TR4
GPU
Sapphire Pulse 5700xt
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB (8 x 4GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3466 (PC4 27700)
Hard Drive
SSD
Power Supply
SilverStone
Cooling