[Official] NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti Owner's Club - Page 459 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti Owner's Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4581 of 17847 (permalink) Old 04-09-2017, 08:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rakesh27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 147
Rep: 0
Sorry to hijack this thread.

Anyways i already have a Zotac 1080 Amp Edition Kraken G10 Hybrid Kit, and as i found an EVGA FE 1080 TI for $699 i made the purchase... I know the Titan Xp has just been launched and thinks i dont wanna pay for a $1200 card again.

Just wondering i play on a 1440p @ 144Hz, and once i get my EVGA FE 1080Ti im gonna stick my Kracken G10 Hybrid kit on it from my Zotac AE 1080, will i be able to confortably play at 4k virtual resolution on my monitor....

I hope i havent made a bad purchase.... im thinking do the mod on the 1080 TI, then restore my original cooler on my Zotac AE 1080 and sell it, the Zotac AE 1080 is a very good card.

Like i said sometimes well mostly i play games at 1440p @ 144hz all maxed out then sometimes play at virtual resolution @ 4k on some games so long as i can hit 60hz constantly, can the 1080 TI do this ?

What do you all think...

Thanks all..

rakesh27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4582 of 17847 (permalink) Old 04-09-2017, 09:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mshagg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 155
Rep: 11 (Unique: 11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by prelude514 View Post

Yeah, overclocking nvidia is complete garbage. I'll be jumping ship to Vega when possible, if only because AMD doesn't meddle with what I'm allowed to do with the hardware I own.

They sold us a card that boosts itself to its rated power draw on its own. I honestly don't see the problem.

They could sell us cards that actually did only boost up to the advertised clock speeds out of the box and we'd all be ****ting ourselves over 300+Mhz overclocks.

mshagg is offline  
post #4583 of 17847 (permalink) Old 04-09-2017, 09:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SlimJ87D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,190
Rep: 48 (Unique: 35)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mshagg View Post

They sold us a card that boosts itself to its rated power draw on its own. I honestly don't see the problem.

They could sell us cards that actually did only boost up to the advertised clock speeds out of the box and we'd all be ****ting ourselves over 300+Mhz overclocks.

Agreed! People forget that Boost technology is literally a OC technology for us.

SlimJ87D is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4584 of 17847 (permalink) Old 04-09-2017, 09:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tikerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 51
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slackaveli View Post

i'm sure the extreme bios will do it. it was advertised as both of them having 150% power at first online but that is wrong. If you try the bios, report back of course. I am satisfied b/c my FE was a dog and i got at least a 'silver' aorus lul. Although my FE could hit +700+ on the mem before artifacting (never actually saw any. who knows how much farther it could have gone, although probably not much) and this one artifacts in Heaven at +420. rolleyes.gif

oh, here's a better pic of a full run. This time i got zero power throttles. I am at 125% and 90c temp target, no extra volts. 1.05v locked.

http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/17/04/10/apy.png

There must be something wrong with the GPU-Z reading. The perfcap (Util) and TDP all point to the card being idle? When you mean locked at 1.05V do you mean your voltage curve is flat?
Tikerz is offline  
post #4585 of 17847 (permalink) Old 04-09-2017, 09:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
prelude514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 59
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slackaveli View Post

i bet it works fine. may not need the whole 150% anyway. Only time i power throttle (i always am monitoring) i see it's like 130%, 129%, 131%. I am pretty sure we'd be gucci with 135%.

Please post the extreme bios when you find it.

Just flashed the Extreme F4 beta BIOS from here without issue: http://www.gigabyte.us/Graphics-Card/GV-N108TAORUS-X-11GD#support-dl

But power limit was still 125% and default memory speed was still non-Extreme.

So I flashed this guy: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/190959/gigabyte-gtx1080ti-11264-170331

Following the method here: https://www.overclock.net/t/1627212/how-to-flash-strix-1080-ti-bios-in-an-1080-ti-fe

And my card is now an Extreme. biggrin.gifthumb.gif

+150 now available in AB, and default memory clock is now 1404MHz instead of 1376MHz.

Time to beat this card up a bit! devil.gif

prelude514 is offline  
post #4586 of 17847 (permalink) Old 04-09-2017, 09:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
prelude514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 59
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mshagg View Post

They sold us a card that boosts itself to its rated power draw on its own. I honestly don't see the problem.

They could sell us cards that actually did only boost up to the advertised clock speeds out of the box and we'd all be ****ting ourselves over 300+Mhz overclocks.

The point of being an overclocker is to go past rated power draw, push to the extreme. Proper overclocking of nVidia hardware died with Fermi, unless you're willing to physically modify your card.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimJ87D View Post

Agreed! People forget that Boost technology is literally a OC technology for us.

If someone is the type that enjoys pressing the automatic overclock button on a motherboard and living with that, that's fine and dandy. Most real overclockers will never touch that button, and don't want to have a company tell them what they can or can not do with their hardware. I'm betting most people on this forum fall into that category.

Let me burn my hardware if I want to. thumb.gif

prelude514 is offline  
post #4587 of 17847 (permalink) Old 04-09-2017, 09:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SlimJ87D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,190
Rep: 48 (Unique: 35)
Quote:
Originally Posted by prelude514 View Post

Just flashed the Extreme F4 beta BIOS from here without issue: http://www.gigabyte.us/Graphics-Card/GV-N108TAORUS-X-11GD#support-dl

But power limit was still 125% and default memory speed was still non-Extreme.

So I flashed this guy: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/190959/gigabyte-gtx1080ti-11264-170331

Following the method here: https://www.overclock.net/t/1627212/how-to-flash-strix-1080-ti-bios-in-an-1080-ti-fe

And my card is now an Extreme. biggrin.gifthumb.gif

+150 now available in AB, and default memory clock is now 1404MHz instead of 1376MHz.

Time to beat this card up a bit! devil.gif

Really? Are you on a FE? I flashed that like 1 hour ago and it was no good. Voltage never goes past 0.7V.

Edit: BTW the F4 beta actually might be drawing more power but it just says 125%, did you actually run a bench on it? If it works out, let me know.

SlimJ87D is offline  
post #4588 of 17847 (permalink) Old 04-09-2017, 09:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
prelude514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 59
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimJ87D View Post

Really? Are you on a FE? I flashed that like 1 hour ago and it was no good. Voltage never goes past 0.7V.

Edit: BTW the F4 beta actually might be drawing more power but it just says 125%, did you actually run a bench on it? If it works out, let me know.

No, traded in my FE today for a Aorus non Extreme, which is limited to 125% vs 150% on the Extreme. Sorry for the confusion!

prelude514 is offline  
post #4589 of 17847 (permalink) Old 04-09-2017, 09:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SlimJ87D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,190
Rep: 48 (Unique: 35)
Quote:
Originally Posted by prelude514 View Post

No, traded in my FE today for a Aorus non Extreme, which is limited to 125% vs 150% on the Extreme. Sorry for the confusion!

Ahhh, okay that makes sense.

SlimJ87D is offline  
post #4590 of 17847 (permalink) Old 04-09-2017, 09:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
alucardis666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,269
Rep: 24 (Unique: 20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by prelude514 View Post

No, traded in my FE today for a Aorus non Extreme, which is limited to 125% vs 150% on the Extreme. Sorry for the confusion!

Extreme or bust I'd say tongue.gif

Intel i7 8700k @ 5.2Ghz|| NZXT X62 || GIGABYTE AORUS GAMING 5 || EVGA GTX 1080Ti FTW3 HYBRID || 32GB G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 3200Mhz || Samsung 960 Pro 512GB M.2 & XP941 256GB M.2 || EVGA 220-P2-1600-X1|| Phanteks Enthoo Evolv TG || Samsung UN55KS9000 4k HDR TV || Martin Logan Vision X || SteelSeries Wireless H || Logitech G710+ & Logitech MX Master ||
alucardis666 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off