How To Flash A Different BIOS On Your 1080 Ti. - Page 210 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How To Flash A Different BIOS On Your 1080 Ti.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2091 of 2105 (permalink) Old 05-06-2019, 07:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
yoadknux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by 8051 View Post
Well I covered my backplate w/thermal tape and added high-powered fans to my heatsink and can get 2152 Mhz. at under 65°C on the hottest summer days and the worst thing that happens is I get throttling on those hot days.
Can you please post a 1080p extreme superposition result for this clock?
yoadknux is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2092 of 2105 (permalink) Old 05-06-2019, 11:53 AM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,055
Rep: 77 (Unique: 58)
Quote: Originally Posted by Streetdragon View Post
Should be this card or?
https://teckknow.com/msi-armor-gefor...tion-review/2/

You have two shunts, i think i pinned them correctly, but still 50/50.
Just mod both and you are still fine. PCI should hanlde it fine
That's it. I didn't just want to go willy-nilly modding it until I at least had some indication of what to do. So with the shunt mod folks are talking about means we just bridge those shunts and that's all there is to it? I'll try that later. Thank you. This card's not running hot at all, around 63~65c even @ 2100 mhz air cooled so shouldn't be an issue there. I'll try and modify this later and maybe report back if folks are curious.
kithylin is offline  
post #2093 of 2105 (permalink) Old 05-06-2019, 10:04 PM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,055
Rep: 77 (Unique: 58)
Okay, I went and did it tonight. First a short explanation.. My secondary computer I use here (that's what I call it) is primarily for chatting, web-browsing, youtube, discord, telegram, etc. My other big computer with the 1080 Ti is almost exclusively dedicated for hardcore gaming. That said, some days I feel sick/exhausted/miserable IRL and may not feel like gaming or if I do I may feel like "Light" gaming and not anything "Big" that would require booting the other big gaming machine. So Some days I may just sit and game on this secondary computer in something simple to pass the time. So I don't really need super big gpu power in secondary computer.. so 1060 3GB in it. My big gaming computer has the 1080 Ti in it.

That said.. if I have any computer, I do want to get the best out of it so secondary computer runs with a i5-2500K @ 4583 Mhz and I tried to shunt mod the 1060 tonight in it and I had great success. The mod went smoothly, and it worked as expected, and I was able to overclock a little more. Which is to say not a lot in the end.. it is a 1060. But it was more of an experience than anything. I paid $55 for this 1060 earlier this year so I'm not -TOO- concerned if I bricked it.

Anyway details. I know the "main" way people have been doing shunt mods is by painting on some sort of conductive thing over the contacts of the shunts and then lacquering over it with nail polish. Well I wanted to go a more permament method and so I got my soldering iron out, heated it up to almost the maximum heat setting and I just flowed a bit of solder across the top of the shunts. Worked fine. Pictures to follow.





Not the prettiest job but this won't be seen by anyone so I don't really care. It's about function anyway. Before at stock configuration: I could set core to +180% which resulted in 2114 Mhz core speed but I couldn't increase ram speed at all. Even +25 Mhz on ram speed would result in 3dmark crash in firestrike instantly. And power % would peak out at the +14% limit at 114% - 115% almost constantly in more demanding games. Now with the shunt mod I first ran 3dmark with it at +180% core speed and it was reporting only 83% power instead of 114%. So the shunt mod was working. And then I was able to slowly work on dialing in the ram and my final result was +875 on the ram and +175 on the core.

Here's 3dmark results:
Before shunt mod: https://www.3dmark.com/fs/19262706
After shunt mod: https://www.3dmark.com/fs/19263139

Comparison page with both results: https://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/19262706/fs/19263139

It's a small gain, but a gain is a gain. I'm considering looking at a faster card for this secondary computer this fall. Maybe try to find a Zotac AMP! Extreme GTX 1070 with the 8+8 power connectors. Or some sort of similar GTX 1080 if I can find one with 8+6 or 8+8. And then which ever one I do get, shunt mod it. I had used some ebay bucks to buy this 1060-3GB a few months ago earlier this year so I actually only paid $51 for it shipped out of pocket so this was my experimentation card. Turned out it went fine and now I'll probably shunt mod all of my no-active-warranty nvidia cards from pascal and up from now on.

Do shunt mods work for older cards too? Like the GTX 600 boost series? GTX 700 series? GTX 900 series?
kithylin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2094 of 2105 (permalink) Old 05-06-2019, 11:03 PM
Manual breath enabled
 
Streetdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: In my celler
Posts: 1,005
Rep: 24 (Unique: 20)
ooookkkkk^^ im really suprised that THAT is working. Normaly solder is way to conductive. A 1080/TI 2080 etc would go into savemode and stuck at min clock speeds like 138MHZ or so.

If you can solder, you could have soldered a 8mOhm resistor on top to get a better powertarget.
I thought you wanna make the mod with liquid metal xD Nice job really.

Gameingcube
(18 items)
CPU
Intel I7 5930K
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Extreme
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
RAM
F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
samsung m2 970 evo
Power Supply
Leadex 80 Plus Platinum Netzteil, schwarz - 1200 Watt
Cooling
heatkiller IV pro
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbecher D5 250mm Plexi
Cooling
Alphacool NexXxoS XT45 Full Copper 480mm
Cooling
XSPC Multiport Radiator EX240
Cooling
Scythe Grand Flex 4Pin PWM
Case
thermaltake core x9
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Streetdragon is offline  
post #2095 of 2105 (permalink) Old 05-07-2019, 12:05 AM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,055
Rep: 77 (Unique: 58)
Quote: Originally Posted by Streetdragon View Post
ooookkkkk^^ im really suprised that THAT is working. Normaly solder is way to conductive. A 1080/TI 2080 etc would go into savemode and stuck at min clock speeds like 138MHZ or so.

If you can solder, you could have soldered a 8mOhm resistor on top to get a better powertarget.
I thought you wanna make the mod with liquid metal xD Nice job really.
I don't understand the point of that? All shunt mod does is give you +40% to +60% power target. What does it matter how you get there? and I don't claim to be an expert at soldering. I'm still learning. I can solder together wire connections and end up with professional looking custom wires, and heat shrink em so they look nice and all that and I only last month figured out how to replace through-hole capacitors in motherboards correctly after a few years of trying. I would consider myself "Novice" in soldering and far far from "Competent".

Last edited by kithylin; 05-07-2019 at 12:10 AM.
kithylin is offline  
post #2096 of 2105 (permalink) Old 05-07-2019, 12:33 AM
Manual breath enabled
 
Streetdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: In my celler
Posts: 1,005
Rep: 24 (Unique: 20)
its because solder is a way more conductive than liquid metal. There is the risk, that the card run into "save-mode" because the powereading is way to low for the controller.

Found this thread:
https://www.overclock.net/forum/69-n...resistors.html

im thinking about building my loop apart and mod the cards like this.

Gameingcube
(18 items)
CPU
Intel I7 5930K
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Extreme
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
RAM
F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
samsung m2 970 evo
Power Supply
Leadex 80 Plus Platinum Netzteil, schwarz - 1200 Watt
Cooling
heatkiller IV pro
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbecher D5 250mm Plexi
Cooling
Alphacool NexXxoS XT45 Full Copper 480mm
Cooling
XSPC Multiport Radiator EX240
Cooling
Scythe Grand Flex 4Pin PWM
Case
thermaltake core x9
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Streetdragon is offline  
post #2097 of 2105 (permalink) Old 05-07-2019, 10:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
yoadknux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
So after playing around with different bioses, and learning a few things along the way, I came back to the stock bios, because I use multiple displays.

One thing I have noticed about the Aorus bios compared to FTW3 Kingpin bios is that even though Aorus has 375W limit and FTW3 358W, the FTW3 bios somehow has better power delivery.

Both bioses can do 2100 (curve) / 6100 stable on Timespy extreme, Heaven, Superposition loops, etc. The difference is what happens in Firestrike. Both pass FireStrike, but Aorus bios has lower frame stability.

I looked deeper into it, and monitored the following: Power Limit, Voltage, Core Clock according to MSI Afterburner. The FTW3 rarely hits the power limit (0), has a constant 1.093V voltage, and has stable 2100 core. The Aorus on the other hand hits the power constantly, it spends half the time on 0 half on 1. The Voltage goes all over the place, from 1.05V to 1.093V and the clocks vary very quickly as well, dropping all the way down to 1987 before rising back to 2100. With more stable clocks and voltages, the FTW3 bios also runs a little bit hotter.

Heaven+Superposition do not have those drops, and for Timespy it's extremely rare, maybe 2% of the time, and the momentary clock drops are only to 2088, not sub 2000. So, I don't really know why FireStrike doesn't like the Aorus bios.
yoadknux is offline  
post #2098 of 2105 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 12:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hale59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
Galax 1080 TI FE [email protected] Memory [email protected]
Palit modified bios
Water Cooled and Shunt Mod (solder)
Now Hit [email protected]
Now Hit Memory [email protected]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_id_2109722.png
Views:	9
Size:	318.0 KB
ID:	269848  


AMD Ryzen 5 2600X WC - Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero - G.Skill F4-3200C14D -16GFX FlareX 16GB WC - Samsung 970 EVO 250GB WC - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti FE WC - W10 64/W7 64
Hale59 is offline  
post #2099 of 2105 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,860
Rep: 252 (Unique: 173)
Quote: Originally Posted by Hale59 View Post
Galax 1080 TI FE [email protected] Memory [email protected]
Palit modified bios
Water Cooled and Shunt Mod (solder)
Now Hit [email protected]
Now Hit Memory [email protected]
Where did you get the Palit modified BIOS?

KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.155v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-36 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.45v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G903 Wireless Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.1 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.155 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-36 2T 1.45v - SA 1.25/VCCIO 1.23
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
512GB Samsung 960 Pro M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 LTSC 2019
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech Orion Spark G910
Mouse
Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is offline  
post #2100 of 2105 (permalink) Old 05-16-2019, 01:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hale59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post
Where did you get the Palit modified BIOS?
Here. Why?

AMD Ryzen 5 2600X WC - Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero - G.Skill F4-3200C14D -16GFX FlareX 16GB WC - Samsung 970 EVO 250GB WC - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti FE WC - W10 64/W7 64
Hale59 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off