How To Flash A Different BIOS On Your 1080 Ti. - Page 215 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How To Flash A Different BIOS On Your 1080 Ti.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2141 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-01-2019, 04:40 AM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,196
Rep: 80 (Unique: 61)
Quote: Originally Posted by yoadknux View Post
I returned to the stock Aorus bios just to test some things, and man, either the stock bios really sucks, or my card is damaged. With stock bios I can't overclock at high voltages (>1.063V) AT ALL. I'm not saying I can't run Superposition or Heaven with it. I'm saying that truly hardcore stress tests and demanding 4k games trigger the power limit immediatly, no questions asked. It's this weird situation where 2063/6000 power limits at 1.093V yet runs stable at about 1.04V.
Once again FTW3 bios has proven to me that it's the best bios in terms of power management and the only bios that allows 1.093V operation without power limits. I wonder if other people experience those things too.
Just to clarify: The FTW3 bios has to have a power limit. I don't know what it is (and it may be higher than other cards) but it has to have one. All stock bios's have power limits Except the XOC Bios. The XOC bios is the only bios with no power limit at all.
kithylin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2142 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-01-2019, 04:59 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7,496
Rep: 71 (Unique: 55)
Hi,
Just like newer cards temp will be the limit where performance will be good or not with ftw3 vbios

It's better than xoc by far benchmark score wise and that is all that counts no pun intended

Cranking a lot of voltage and scoring lower makes no sense at all to use ftw3 is the one to use but it is also a 3 fan cooling card not 2 or 1

CPU
i9-9940x With Heatkiller IV Pro and VRM Plexi-Copper water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #2143 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-02-2019, 01:29 AM
Manual breath enabled
 
Streetdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: In my celler
Posts: 1,193
Rep: 26 (Unique: 22)
Little question:
I hav to run the Batch every restart to get the powerlimit up.
MSI Afterburner is pushing it back to stock everytime(Fresh install).

Do i have "only" have to set the powerlimit in MSI afterurner up to the max?

I think that was the problem for me the last time i tried to flash it to the fixed FTW bios

Gameingcube
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
Aorus X570 Master
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
RAM
F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
samsung m2 970 evo
Power Supply
Leadex 80 Plus Platinum Netzteil, schwarz - 1200 Watt
Cooling
heatkiller IV pro
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbecher D5 250mm Plexi
Cooling
Alphacool NexXxoS XT45 Full Copper 480mm
Cooling
XSPC Multiport Radiator EX240
Cooling
Scythe Grand Flex 4Pin PWM
Case
thermaltake core x9
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Streetdragon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2144 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-02-2019, 02:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
yoadknux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 44
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by kithylin View Post
Just to clarify: The FTW3 bios has to have a power limit. I don't know what it is (and it may be higher than other cards) but it has to have one. All stock bios's have power limits Except the XOC Bios. The XOC bios is the only bios with no power limit at all.
I am telling you this from experience. I have never in my life seen "Power limit" trigger to 1 in MSI Afterburner with the FTW3 Kingpin bios, and I tried to trigger this power limit several times with several applications. Doesn't matter if I put 1.093V and raise clocks to the max, the clocks and voltages will be stable. I tried many things, be it Fire Strike ultra loop runs over and over and over, or games at 4k. Stock Aorus bios power limits all the time, all it takes is one Fire Strike Ultra run at 1.093V and high clocks to see it. I even tried Arctic Storm 432W bios and it also power limited in FireStrike Ultra. Only 2 bioses didn't, XOC and FTW3. I don't know what makes the FTW3 bios special, but it has, and I'm certain of it, less power limitations.
yoadknux is offline  
post #2145 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-02-2019, 04:10 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7,496
Rep: 71 (Unique: 55)
Quote: Originally Posted by Streetdragon View Post
Little question:
I hav to run the Batch every restart to get the powerlimit up.
MSI Afterburner is pushing it back to stock everytime(Fresh install).

Do i have "only" have to set the powerlimit in MSI afterurner up to the max?

I think that was the problem for me the last time i tried to flash it to the fixed FTW bios
Hi,
I've never used KW's no power limit .bat file
He still does I just never thought to try it
Might sooner or later though

I typically just unlock in msi af
I don't max power limit and core voltages usually it sometimes causes nv driver crashing or msi af crashing not sure which one actually borks I believe it's nv driver though because msi af set to curve shows it drops like a rock from say 2050MHz

CPU
i9-9940x With Heatkiller IV Pro and VRM Plexi-Copper water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #2146 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-02-2019, 04:24 AM
Manual breath enabled
 
Streetdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: In my celler
Posts: 1,193
Rep: 26 (Unique: 22)
So i only need the .bat file, when im not working with MSI-Afterburner?
Maybe that caused the power problems i had.
When i rebuild my rig with a AM4 Ryzen 3000 i will remove the shunt mod and try the FTW bios one more time on a fresh windows installation

Gameingcube
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
Aorus X570 Master
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
RAM
F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
samsung m2 970 evo
Power Supply
Leadex 80 Plus Platinum Netzteil, schwarz - 1200 Watt
Cooling
heatkiller IV pro
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbecher D5 250mm Plexi
Cooling
Alphacool NexXxoS XT45 Full Copper 480mm
Cooling
XSPC Multiport Radiator EX240
Cooling
Scythe Grand Flex 4Pin PWM
Case
thermaltake core x9
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Streetdragon is offline  
post #2147 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-02-2019, 04:31 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7,496
Rep: 71 (Unique: 55)
Quote: Originally Posted by Streetdragon View Post
So i only need the .bat file, when im not working with MSI-Afterburner?
Maybe that caused the power problems i had.
When i rebuild my rig with a AM4 Ryzen 3000 i will remove the shunt mod and try the FTW bios one more time on a fresh windows installation
Hi,
I do have the resistor shunt mod on mine
@KedarWolf would be best to ask about how to use the no power limit bat and msi af I've never used it

CPU
i9-9940x With Heatkiller IV Pro and VRM Plexi-Copper water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #2148 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-02-2019, 10:24 AM
Manual breath enabled
 
Streetdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: In my celler
Posts: 1,193
Rep: 26 (Unique: 22)
Soo my last flash try.
Downloaded the newest driver.
Flashed on both cards the ftw kingpin bios.
DDU old driver.
Installed the new driver.
Checked the powerlimit and it was 358W.
In MSI afterburner set the power to +127%(358W)
Still powerlimiting at 300W like stock bios

Maybe its a sli problem or so. feels bad

Gameingcube
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
Aorus X570 Master
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
RAM
F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
samsung m2 970 evo
Power Supply
Leadex 80 Plus Platinum Netzteil, schwarz - 1200 Watt
Cooling
heatkiller IV pro
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbecher D5 250mm Plexi
Cooling
Alphacool NexXxoS XT45 Full Copper 480mm
Cooling
XSPC Multiport Radiator EX240
Cooling
Scythe Grand Flex 4Pin PWM
Case
thermaltake core x9
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Streetdragon is offline  
post #2149 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-02-2019, 11:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hale59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 260
Rep: 18 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by Streetdragon View Post
Soo my last flash try.
Downloaded the newest driver.
Flashed on both cards the ftw kingpin bios.
DDU old driver.
Installed the new driver.
Checked the powerlimit and it was 358W.
In MSI afterburner set the power to +127%(358W)
Still powerlimiting at 300W like stock bios

Maybe its a sli problem or so. feels bad
@KedarWolf , did you end up buying a second card? If so, is this a problem?
Hale59 is offline  
post #2150 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-02-2019, 12:12 PM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,196
Rep: 80 (Unique: 61)
Quote: Originally Posted by yoadknux View Post
I am telling you this from experience. I have never in my life seen "Power limit" trigger to 1 in MSI Afterburner with the FTW3 Kingpin bios, and I tried to trigger this power limit several times with several applications. Doesn't matter if I put 1.093V and raise clocks to the max, the clocks and voltages will be stable. I tried many things, be it Fire Strike ultra loop runs over and over and over, or games at 4k. Stock Aorus bios power limits all the time, all it takes is one Fire Strike Ultra run at 1.093V and high clocks to see it. I even tried Arctic Storm 432W bios and it also power limited in FireStrike Ultra. Only 2 bioses didn't, XOC and FTW3. I don't know what makes the FTW3 bios special, but it has, and I'm certain of it, less power limitations.
In MSI Afterburner the "Power Limit" that is either 1 or 0 doesn't do jack squat and is useless, don't rely on that. I'm now on the stock bios with my 1080 Ti (EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition) and it only gives me +20% in MSI Afterburner for power. Which is 120% for my card. What you need to do is look at the power limit % slider in afterburner and see what it says for your card. If it's +30% then it would be 130%. Then look at the actual "GPU# Power, %" graph in afterburner. With my card I can run 3dmark and see it sitting at 118% - 120% constantly, that means it's power limiting. Even though it is power limiting, the "GPU# power limit" graph never ever ticks over to "1" for me, not even once, ever. It's always at 0 permanently forever. Even though sometimes my card still is power limiting. That slider is useless. I have no idea what it actually does but it doesn't mean the card isn't power limiting.
kithylin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off