How To Flash A Different BIOS On Your 1080 Ti. - Page 217 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How To Flash A Different BIOS On Your 1080 Ti.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2161 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 04:00 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,167
Rep: 275 (Unique: 180)
Quote: Originally Posted by Outcasst View Post
I'm not sure that's true. On my setup with the FTW BIOS i can clearly see my clocks go down to 1987MHz from 2000MHz whenever "1" is displayed on the Power limit graph, even though i'm only at 113% out of 127% power usage.
You using the FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS in BestBiosCollection.zip in thread OP?

KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.085v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-38 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.44v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte/EVGA 1080 Ti SLI FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G502 Lightspeed Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.0 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.085 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-38 2T 1.44v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.25
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise Ver. 18362
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2162 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 05:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Outcasst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lichfield, UK
Posts: 5,968
Rep: 295 (Unique: 271)
Quote: Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post
You using the FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS in BestBiosCollection.zip in thread OP?
I am yes, but as a previous post mentioned, I am running over 67c so that might be the cause of the power limit?

"Aoccdrnig to rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it deosn't mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoetnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer be at the rghit pclae. The rset can be a tatol mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit a porbelm. This is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe."


Outcasst is offline  
post #2163 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 03:17 AM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,207
Rep: 80 (Unique: 61)
Quote: Originally Posted by Outcasst View Post
I am yes, but as a previous post mentioned, I am running over 67c so that might be the cause of the power limit?
Temperatures do not "Cause" the power limit in pascal cards. Pascal cards can and will hit the power limit if they're running at -20c, 5c, or 80c. Just putting that in there.
kithylin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2164 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 11:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,167
Rep: 275 (Unique: 180)
Quote: Originally Posted by Streetdragon View Post
Little question:
I hav to run the Batch every restart to get the powerlimit up.
MSI Afterburner is pushing it back to stock everytime(Fresh install).

Do i have "only" have to set the powerlimit in MSI afterurner up to the max?

I think that was the problem for me the last time i tried to flash it to the fixed FTW bios
I'm on the newest version of Windows and my power limit is resetting every boot as well. I had to add an event in Task Manager for the .bat file to run 30 seconds after login. Older updates of Windows never had this problem.

Edit: I installed Afterburner applying settings on boot and now my power limit stays on boot with voltage bar enabled and power limit maxed out.

KedarWolf-Intel i9 [email protected] CPU,4.7GHZ Cache/Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard-CPU Offset Voltage +.085v, 1 IA AC Loadline/G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-38 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.44v Eventual, VCCIO 1.23v, SA 1.25v/Gigabyte/EVGA 1080 Ti SLI FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 System-Game Drive/1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 DISM Drive/4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive/PSU Corsair AX1500i/Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor/Logitech G502 Lightspeed Mouse/Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.0 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - =.085 Offset - 1 AC Loadline, 1 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95 1344 FFT's
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory FTW3 KingPin Fix BIOS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z CL16 3600 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-38 2T 1.44v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.25
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2
Hard Drive
4TB Hitachi 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Enterprise Ver. 18362
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by KedarWolf; 07-13-2019 at 12:02 AM.
KedarWolf is offline  
post #2165 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-13-2019, 03:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ItsMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 82
Rep: 4 (Unique: 2)
Nice, ty for the info. I had this problem too. I was getting mad i thought more in drivers than on windows, but ive newest too.
ItsMB is offline  
post #2166 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-14-2019, 03:01 AM
Manual breath enabled
 
Streetdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: In my celler
Posts: 1,195
Rep: 26 (Unique: 22)
Quote: Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post
I'm on the newest version of Windows and my power limit is resetting every boot as well. I had to add an event in Task Manager for the .bat file to run 30 seconds after login. Older updates of Windows never had this problem.

Edit: I installed Afterburner applying settings on boot and now my power limit stays on boot with voltage bar enabled and power limit maxed out.
flashed the ftw kingpin bios one more time. Somehow i just cant udnerstand why my powerusage wont got over 300W

Flashed the bios etc.
Shunt modded card has no problems and the other wont pass 292W GPU Power. somehow "funny"
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	powerlimit.png
Views:	40
Size:	733.3 KB
ID:	280188  


Gameingcube
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
Aorus X570 Master
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
RAM
F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
samsung m2 970 evo
Power Supply
Leadex 80 Plus Platinum Netzteil, schwarz - 1200 Watt
Cooling
heatkiller IV pro
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbecher D5 250mm Plexi
Cooling
Alphacool NexXxoS XT45 Full Copper 480mm
Cooling
XSPC Multiport Radiator EX240
Cooling
Scythe Grand Flex 4Pin PWM
Case
thermaltake core x9
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Streetdragon is offline  
post #2167 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 11:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
LVNeptune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Hello,

I have an EVGA 1080Ti FE 11GB card from launch that I swapped on a hybrid cooler and finally went to a full custom loop. I had the stock vBIOS on it from day 1 and did some tests this morning and saw that I was CONSTANTLY hitting power and voltage perf throttle without any OC.

I flashed the S1080TIXOCNoPowerLimit.rom from the zip file, rebooted, and stock with boost (I think it's boost) is now 1999Mhz without any throttling at all. It constantly stays at that clock. If I increase by 50Mhz Time Spy will throw an error randomly when starting one of the scenes.

Is there anything more I can do to push this a little farther? Would be great to hit 2100 stable but I may not be able to.

I can't read this entire thread but the first couple of pages actually says the ASUS bios is doing nothing but it definitely did in my case.

Time Spy Stock vBIOS 9921
Time Spy Strix XOC vBIOS 10461

I haven't played with any of the other bioses so I am not sure if there will be too much of a difference.
LVNeptune is offline  
post #2168 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 11:39 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7,519
Rep: 72 (Unique: 55)
Hi,
Resistor shunt mod.

CPU
i9-9940x With Heatkiller IV Pro and VRM Plexi-Copper water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #2169 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 12:32 PM
Newb to Overclock.net
 
mouacyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,885
Rep: 167 (Unique: 124)
Quote: Originally Posted by LVNeptune View Post
Hello,

I have an EVGA 1080Ti FE 11GB card from launch that I swapped on a hybrid cooler and finally went to a full custom loop. I had the stock vBIOS on it from day 1 and did some tests this morning and saw that I was CONSTANTLY hitting power and voltage perf throttle without any OC.

I flashed the S1080TIXOCNoPowerLimit.rom from the zip file, rebooted, and stock with boost (I think it's boost) is now 1999Mhz without any throttling at all. It constantly stays at that clock. If I increase by 50Mhz Time Spy will throw an error randomly when starting one of the scenes.

Is there anything more I can do to push this a little farther? Would be great to hit 2100 stable but I may not be able to.

I can't read this entire thread but the first couple of pages actually says the ASUS bios is doing nothing but it definitely did in my case.

Time Spy Stock vBIOS 9921
Time Spy Strix XOC vBIOS 10461

I haven't played with any of the other bioses so I am not sure if there will be too much of a difference.
You need to increase your voltage also. Even XOC BIOS will not boost past 1.063v or something like that. In MSI Afterburner, press CTRL+F to bring up the curve and drag the line at the voltage point you want to the speed you want. Mine is perfectly stable at 2100MHz at 1.10v with this BIOS, without needing any physical mods. I've benched up to 2200MHz on 1.2v, as well.

CPU: Q6600 X5470 2100T 1680V2 9900K
GPU: 8800GT 9800GTX+ 750Ti 1080Ti
RAM: 2x8GBTZ
Gentoo64 in Water
(14 items)
LGA775 X5470
(6 items)
CPU
9900K 5GHz 1.224v
Motherboard
EVGA Z370 Micro
GPU
MSI 1080TI GXEK 2100.5/12627
RAM
16GB Trident Z 4000C16
Hard Drive
970 EVO 500GB
Power Supply
Seasonic X850 Gold
Cooling
480mm Radiator Custom
Case
Silverstone FT03
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Operating System
Gentoo Linux 64 Multi-Lib
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271UH 165Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Sound Blaster Z
CPU
X5470 4GHz (stock v)
Motherboard
GA-EP45-UD3P
GPU
EVGA 9800 GTX+ 512MB
RAM
8GB 4x2GB GSkill 1066MHz DDR2
Cooling
XSPC Rasa, D5 + Res, 240mm Rad
Case
Lian-Li PC7-HX
▲ hide details ▲
mouacyk is offline  
post #2170 of 2194 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 01:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
LVNeptune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Is 1.10v the cap without modding? Whenever I set it higher it caps out at 1.10v

EDIT: Nevermind. The curve is not as intuitive as most other curve settings. I had to lower the clock speed on others to get it to what I wanted.

EDIT 2: Was crashing at 1.10v, got it to 1.125v and it finished the benchmark at 10760 so definitely an improvement. Thank you at least now I know what I need to play with in that respect.

Last edited by LVNeptune; 07-18-2019 at 01:21 PM.
LVNeptune is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off