How To Flash A Different BIOS On Your 1080 Ti. - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How To Flash A Different BIOS On Your 1080 Ti.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 2012 (permalink) Old 04-05-2017, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,673
Rep: 226 (Unique: 160)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addsome View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post

Sorry, your notification will show attachment, I fixed it, meant to do the picture.


You got a good card man. In the ASUS bios my Gigabyte FE would crash at [email protected] and sometimes even at [email protected] I also hit the power limit running heaven at [email protected] How is it that you don't hit it but I do? Also after flashing cards do we do nvflash64 --protecton?

You only need --protecton if you are flashing back to original BIOS for warranty reasons, RMAing it or something.

You tried the Strix BIOS, mine is a Gigabyte as well.

I'm using the Strix BIOS and my power limit never goes over 111% in games, Heaven etc.

KedarWolf -- Intel i9 [email protected] CPU/4.7GHZ Cache -- Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard -- CPU Offset Voltage -.085v, 0 IA AC Loadline-- G.Skill Ripjaws 5 CL14 3200MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-32 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.45v Eventual -- VCCIO 1.23v -- SA 1.23v -- Gigabyte 1080 Ti Founders Edition FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS -- 512GB Samsung 960 Pro M.2 System/Game Drive -- 4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive -- PSU- Corsair AX1500i -- Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor -- Logitech G903 Wireless Mouse -- Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.1 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - -.085 Offset - 0 AC Loadline, 0 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory
RAM
G.Skill Ripjaws 5 CL14 3200 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-32 2T 1.44v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.23
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro M.2
Hard Drive
Hitachi 4TB Hard Drive
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 LTSC 2019
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech Orion Spark G910
Mouse
Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 2012 (permalink) Old 04-05-2017, 03:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Addsome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 205
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Why is it that your power limit never goes over 111% in heaven but mine hits 120% even though were on the same voltage?
Addsome is offline  
post #33 of 2012 (permalink) Old 04-05-2017, 03:52 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,673
Rep: 226 (Unique: 160)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addsome View Post

Why is it that your power limit never goes over 111% in heaven but mine hits 120% even though were on the same voltage?

You flashed the Strix BIOS?

KedarWolf -- Intel i9 [email protected] CPU/4.7GHZ Cache -- Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard -- CPU Offset Voltage -.085v, 0 IA AC Loadline-- G.Skill Ripjaws 5 CL14 3200MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-32 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.45v Eventual -- VCCIO 1.23v -- SA 1.23v -- Gigabyte 1080 Ti Founders Edition FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS -- 512GB Samsung 960 Pro M.2 System/Game Drive -- 4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive -- PSU- Corsair AX1500i -- Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor -- Logitech G903 Wireless Mouse -- Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.1 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - -.085 Offset - 0 AC Loadline, 0 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory
RAM
G.Skill Ripjaws 5 CL14 3200 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-32 2T 1.44v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.23
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro M.2
Hard Drive
Hitachi 4TB Hard Drive
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 LTSC 2019
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech Orion Spark G910
Mouse
Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 2012 (permalink) Old 04-05-2017, 04:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Addsome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 205
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post

You flashed the Strix BIOS?

Yes that was on strix bios on my Gigabyte FE
Addsome is offline  
post #35 of 2012 (permalink) Old 04-05-2017, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,673
Rep: 226 (Unique: 160)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addsome View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post

You flashed the Strix BIOS?

Yes that was on strix bios on my Gigabyte FE

I have two separate PCI-E cables going into the video card and it might be my awesome Corsair AX1500i, best power supply on the market. smile.gif

KedarWolf -- Intel i9 [email protected] CPU/4.7GHZ Cache -- Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard -- CPU Offset Voltage -.085v, 0 IA AC Loadline-- G.Skill Ripjaws 5 CL14 3200MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-32 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.45v Eventual -- VCCIO 1.23v -- SA 1.23v -- Gigabyte 1080 Ti Founders Edition FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS -- 512GB Samsung 960 Pro M.2 System/Game Drive -- 4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive -- PSU- Corsair AX1500i -- Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor -- Logitech G903 Wireless Mouse -- Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.1 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - -.085 Offset - 0 AC Loadline, 0 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory
RAM
G.Skill Ripjaws 5 CL14 3200 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-32 2T 1.44v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.23
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro M.2
Hard Drive
Hitachi 4TB Hard Drive
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 LTSC 2019
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech Orion Spark G910
Mouse
Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is offline  
post #36 of 2012 (permalink) Old 04-05-2017, 04:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
HyperC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: illinois
Posts: 387
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Got my EVGA 1080ti FE running today on the Swiftech Titan block temps are great hasn't gone over 36 yet... So far running core @ 2050 and ram 6264 if I go any higher I get lower scores/fps any chance the bios would help?

CPU-Z

HyperC is offline  
post #37 of 2012 (permalink) Old 04-05-2017, 04:27 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,673
Rep: 226 (Unique: 160)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperC View Post

Got my EVGA 1080ti FE running today on the Swiftech Titan block temps are great hasn't gone over 36 yet... So far running core @ 2050 and ram 6264 if I go any higher I get lower scores/fps any chance the bios would help?

It could, no risk in trying. I'm up from 2062 to 2100 core my 24/7 overclock. biggrin.gif

I'm testing out the Aorus BIOS as soon as I can get it too. smile.gif

KedarWolf -- Intel i9 [email protected] CPU/4.7GHZ Cache -- Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard -- CPU Offset Voltage -.085v, 0 IA AC Loadline-- G.Skill Ripjaws 5 CL14 3200MHZ 4x8GB 17-17-17-32 2T @ 4133MHZ 1.45v Eventual -- VCCIO 1.23v -- SA 1.23v -- Gigabyte 1080 Ti Founders Edition FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS -- 512GB Samsung 960 Pro M.2 System/Game Drive -- 4TB Hitachi 7200RPM Storage Drive -- PSU- Corsair AX1500i -- Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor -- Logitech G903 Wireless Mouse -- Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
EKWB Water Cooled i9 9900k @ 5.1 GHZ CPU - 4.7 GHZ cache - -.085 Offset - 0 AC Loadline, 0 DC Loadline, 1.334v CPU VR VOUT Prime95
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master Motherboard
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE Watercooled 2038 Core/6142 Memory
RAM
G.Skill Ripjaws 5 CL14 3200 @ 4133MHZ 17-17-17-32 2T 1.44v - SA 1.23/VCCIO 1.23
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro M.2
Hard Drive
Hitachi 4TB Hard Drive
Optical Drive
LG Electronics WH14NS40 BD-RW
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360 With QDCs EKWB Supremacy EVO CPU Waterblock.
Cooling
EKWB MLC 360 With QDCs EKWB 1080 Ti FE Full Cover Waterblock And Backplate
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 LTSC 2019
Monitor
Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED Gaming Monitor 32:9
Monitor
Acer 1080p Second Screen
Keyboard
Logitech Orion Spark G910
Mouse
Logitech G903 Lightspeed Wireless Gaming Mouse
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is offline  
post #38 of 2012 (permalink) Old 04-05-2017, 04:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Addsome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 205
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post

It could, no risk in trying. I'm up from 2062 to 2100 core my 24/7 overclock. biggrin.gif

I'm testing out the Aorus BIOS as soon as I can get it too. smile.gif

Do you mind testing the MSI bios aswell? I just wanna make sure it's not overloading the 6 or 8 pin
Addsome is offline  
post #39 of 2012 (permalink) Old 04-05-2017, 05:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
c0nsistent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 147
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Waiting for confirmation that this actually works from more than 1 person and I'll be flashing it. I also have a Gigabyte card.
c0nsistent is offline  
post #40 of 2012 (permalink) Old 04-05-2017, 10:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cekim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,916
Rep: 93 (Unique: 54)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post

You only need --protecton if you are flashing back to original BIOS for warranty reasons, RMAing it or something.

You tried the Strix BIOS, mine is a Gigabyte as well.

I'm using the Strix BIOS and my power limit never goes over 111% in games, Heaven etc.
Protection is handy if you are tuning an OC... ANY THING can happen when you glitch the processor including errant bus cycles.

Seems highly improbable that the random error that resulted was a successful VBIOS write cycle, but...

It's not a terrible idea to turn it back on once you are happy with what's in there.


cekim is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off