Gigabyte AORUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Owner's Thread - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte AORUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Owner's Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 2740 (permalink) Old 04-09-2017, 08:13 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
ajresendez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: athens, AL
Posts: 799
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
so is anyone having stability issues? I got mine a few days ago and it cant do any of the advertised one click overclocks. Tried doing it manually but that was a no go either, I RMA'd it already going to give gigabyte another shot but I have to say based of reddit a there are quite a number of these cards that just aren't performing. I have the auros edition not the extreme just the regular auros.
ajresendez is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 2740 (permalink) Old 04-09-2017, 09:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
prelude514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 59
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
So I just noticed there was an official Aorus thread. Have basically only been F5ing the official 1080 Ti thread for a week. Traded in my MSI FE today for a non Extreme version since there weren't any left. Where do I pick up my membership card? biggrin.gif

I didn't realize that the non Extreme only allowed +125% power limit VS 150% for the Extreme. I wasn't having none of that, so cross post from the official Ti thread for my Aorus bros:

Quote:
Originally Posted by prelude514 View Post

Just flashed the Extreme F4 beta BIOS from here without issue: http://www.gigabyte.us/Graphics-Card/GV-N108TAORUS-X-11GD#support-dl

But power limit was still 125% and default memory speed was still non-Extreme.

So I flashed this guy: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/190959/gigabyte-gtx1080ti-11264-170331

Following the method here: https://www.overclock.net/t/1627212/how-to-flash-strix-1080-ti-bios-in-an-1080-ti-fe

And my card is now an Extreme. biggrin.gifthumb.gif

+150 now available in AB, and default memory clock is now 1404MHz instead of 1376MHz.

Time to beat this card up a bit! devil.gif

prelude514 is offline  
post #13 of 2740 (permalink) Old 04-09-2017, 09:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
prelude514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 59
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajresendez View Post

so is anyone having stability issues? I got mine a few days ago and it cant do any of the advertised one click overclocks. Tried doing it manually but that was a no go either, I RMA'd it already going to give gigabyte another shot but I have to say based of reddit a there are quite a number of these cards that just aren't performing. I have the auros edition not the extreme just the regular auros.

Well that really sucks. frown.gif Sorry to hear. I'm not one to bother trying the one click OCs, prefer to do that myself manually. Right now I just finished testing 2000MHz @ 1.031v with Witcher 3, seemed perfectly stable. Now that I've upgraded my card to 150% power limit the real fun begins!

Hope your card gets sorted out quickly. Maybe try OCing manually with afterburner?

prelude514 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 2740 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 05:41 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
ajresendez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: athens, AL
Posts: 799
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by prelude514 View Post

Well that really sucks. frown.gif Sorry to hear. I'm not one to bother trying the one click OCs, prefer to do that myself manually. Right now I just finished testing 2000MHz @ 1.031v with Witcher 3, seemed perfectly stable. Now that I've upgraded my card to 150% power limit the real fun begins!

Hope your card gets sorted out quickly. Maybe try OCing manually with afterburner?

Yeah I tried manually getting the advertised clocks and still nothing.
ajresendez is offline  
post #15 of 2740 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 06:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
StarHunter64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
I have the Xtreme and dont have the option for 150% power limit just 125%.... but I clearly have the Xtreme with the Xtreme box, bigger copper plate, Xtreme default clocks, and LEDs....



Edit - Seems you may need the F4 beta bios to get the 150% power limit.
StarHunter64 is offline  
post #16 of 2740 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter
Watercooler
 
RavageTheEarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,612
Rep: 142 (Unique: 97)
Quote:
Originally Posted by prelude514 View Post

So I just noticed there was an official Aorus thread. Have basically only been F5ing the official 1080 Ti thread for a week. Traded in my MSI FE today for a non Extreme version since there weren't any left. Where do I pick up my membership card? biggrin.gif

I didn't realize that the non Extreme only allowed +125% power limit VS 150% for the Extreme. I wasn't having none of that, so cross post from the official Ti thread for my Aorus bros:

Fantastic post +REP. Looks like I'm doing exactly this with my card then! Glad you had success!

Hardware
Gigabyte G1 Gaming 7 Z170 Motherboard - Intel i7 6700k @ 4.7Ghz (1.38v) - G.Skill Trident Z 3400Mhz DDR4 - Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti @1.093v 2126/12.2Ghz - Dual Samsung 500Gb SSD's - Evga G2 1300w PSU - Phanteks Enthoo Primo

Cooling
Dual MCP655's - Ek X-Top 150 Reservoir/Pump Top -EK D5 Pump Top - Alphacool XT45 420mm Radiator - Alphacool Monsta 360mm radiator - Alphacool UT30 240mm radiator - Monsoon Fittings - EK Gigabyte G1 Gaming 7 Monoblock - EK-FC1080 GTX Ti Aorus - Acetal+Nickel - EK-FC1080 GTX Ti Aorus Backplate - Black
RavageTheEarth is offline  
post #17 of 2740 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 12:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
c0ld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,082
Rep: 35 (Unique: 30)
Quote:
Originally Posted by prelude514 View Post

So I just noticed there was an official Aorus thread. Have basically only been F5ing the official 1080 Ti thread for a week. Traded in my MSI FE today for a non Extreme version since there weren't any left. Where do I pick up my membership card? biggrin.gif

I didn't realize that the non Extreme only allowed +125% power limit VS 150% for the Extreme. I wasn't having none of that, so cross post from the official Ti thread for my Aorus bros:

I have the regular Aorus too. I'm confused which BIOS gives you the 150% and the memory OC? The one on the gigabyte website or the techpowerup?

Whats the max boost clock with no OC and just putting the Power limit to 150%?

Mine hits 1.97GHz-2.0GHz with just the power to 125%, upped to core +15 to get steady 2.0GHz in games.
c0ld is offline  
post #18 of 2740 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 05:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Qba73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Land of the Lost Towers
Posts: 72
Rep: 17 (Unique: 13)
Updated to the f5 beta bios and got the 150 limit

Not much testing yet but hitting 2075 solid @69c 150 power limit, and 25 uptick on MHz slider, though I never see it hit higher than 128 pl so may dial it back to 130. On mem solid 500+ no issues.

I7 6700K @ 4.8 Ghz
Corsair H100i GTX
16gb GSkill Ripjaw V 3000
Asus Z170 Deluxe
EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
Corsair AX860i
Acer XB271HU
Qba73 is offline  
post #19 of 2740 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 06:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
JustinZanyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 69
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by prelude514 View Post

So I just noticed there was an official Aorus thread. Have basically only been F5ing the official 1080 Ti thread for a week. Traded in my MSI FE today for a non Extreme version since there weren't any left. Where do I pick up my membership card? biggrin.gif

I didn't realize that the non Extreme only allowed +125% power limit VS 150% for the Extreme. I wasn't having none of that, so cross post from the official Ti thread for my Aorus bros:
Hi, I just flashed the F4 BIOS. I unlocked the 150% TDP but I lost the fan stop control on my Aorus software
JustinZanyo is offline  
post #20 of 2740 (permalink) Old 04-10-2017, 07:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
nonnac7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: TX
Posts: 159
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qba73 View Post

Updated to the f5 beta bios and got the 150 limit

Not much testing yet but hitting 2075 solid @69c 150 power limit, and 25 uptick on MHz slider, though I never see it hit higher than 128 pl so may dial it back to 130. On mem solid 500+ no issues.

Do you have a link to the F5 beta bios? I thought they only had F4 beta out.

Yeah my xtreme is stable at 2075 on the core as well, ranging from 2075 to 2050 based on if my card hits 70+ or not. I live in TX so ambient is at like 76F in my house, which causes it to run warmer than others. Extremely happy with it though, been playing Witcher 3 at 90+fps 1440p everything maxed out biggrin.gifthumb.gif

I found that if the card is at 2088 then it has like a 25% chance to crash on heaven or other stress testing.

OIF 3/5 Vet - 3ID - Infantry Mortarman
nonnac7 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off