Gigabyte AORUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Owner's Thread - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte AORUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Owner's Thread

 
Thread Tools
Old 04-10-2017, 08:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
prelude514 Level 1
 
prelude514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 59
Sorry, can't answer posts individually right now as I'm in a rush. From what I've gathered, some BIOSes have stock 250w TDP and +50% available, while others have stock 300w with +25%. What reallyt matters, is that everyone no matter if Extreme or not has 375w available if the slider is maxed out.

https://www.overclock.net/t/1624521/nvidia-gtx-1080-ti-owners-thread/4690#post_26003001

Props to ThingyNess for posting the above. Run this command in a command prompt:
Code:
"C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVSMI\nvidia-smi.exe" -q -d power

Here's mine for example:



Not even sure which BIOS I'm running right now LOL. Flashed too many last night... Think it's non-Extreme F4 beta, though.

prelude514 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-10-2017, 09:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
Qba73 Level 1
 
Qba73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Land of the Lost Towers
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by nonnac7 View Post


Do you have a link to the F5 beta bios? I thought they only had F4 beta out.

Yeah my xtreme is stable at 2075 on the core as well, ranging from 2075 to 2050 based on if my card hits 70+ or not. I live in TX so ambient is at like 76F in my house, which causes it to run warmer than others. Extremely happy with it though, been playing Witcher 3 at 90+fps 1440p everything maxed out biggrin.gifthumb.gif

I found that if the card is at 2088 then it has like a 25% chance to crash on heaven or other stress testing.

Sorry typo meant f4 beta

I7 6700K @ 4.8 Ghz
Corsair H100i GTX
16gb GSkill Ripjaw V 3000
Asus Z170 Deluxe
EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
Corsair AX860i
Acer XB271HU
Qba73 is offline  
Old 04-10-2017, 10:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
nonnac7 Level 1
 
nonnac7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: TX
Posts: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qba73 View Post

Sorry typo meant f4 beta
No worries man, was just gonna go ahead and download/update it if that were so smile.gif

OIF 3/5 Vet - 3ID - Infantry Mortarman
nonnac7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-11-2017, 03:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
braddocksp Level 1
 
braddocksp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 15
One question, but sorry for my english:

My brother have buy a two aorus 1080ti extreme. But the frecuencies not are the same as defined. In the web say: Boost: 1746 MHz / Base: 1632 MHz in OC mode
Boost: 1721 MHz / Base: 1607 MHz in Gaming mode, but the cards go to 1900Mhz or 2000Mhz without touching any. The program of aorus is very simple three profiles Gaming,OC, silent or custom. Msi afterburner the same, the Mhz defined in program no correspond to real.

Is normal on these cards? I have nvidia card from the gforce 256 to actuality (gforce 256,8800,4800,9800gt,and 750ti) and edit bios,etc,etc,and now RX470 (yes, my first no NVIDA, but questions of money), but this is embarrasing, or confusing.
braddocksp is offline  
Old 04-11-2017, 08:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
JustinZanyo Level 1
 
JustinZanyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by prelude514 View Post

Sorry, can't answer posts individually right now as I'm in a rush. From what I've gathered, some BIOSes have stock 250w TDP and +50% available, while others have stock 300w with +25%. What reallyt matters, is that everyone no matter if Extreme or not has 375w available if the slider is maxed out.

https://www.overclock.net/t/1624521/nvidia-gtx-1080-ti-owners-thread/4690#post_26003001

Props to ThingyNess for posting the above. Run this command in a command prompt:
Code:
"C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVSMI\nvidia-smi.exe" -q -d power

Here's mine for example:



Not even sure which BIOS I'm running right now LOL. Flashed too many last night... Think it's non-Extreme F4 beta, though.
Does BIOS flashing require the same circuits on PCB? I just flashed my non extreme to extreme 1080ti b/c they have the same PCB. Now I am thinking about flashing my 1080ti G1 to extreme water block bios. (different PCB) Will it work?
JustinZanyo is offline  
Old 04-11-2017, 09:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
ThingyNess Level 1
 
ThingyNess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 58
Just an FYI for everyone, the BIOSes that are floating around for the Aorus XTreme and non-XTreme all have the same 375w maximum with the TDP slider set all the way to the right.

The ones with a +50% adjustment range have the stock FE 250w default TDP limit (this looks to be the BIOS that most of the reviewers got, and is the one posted to TechPowerUp's database)
The ones with a +25% adjustment range have a 300w default TDP limit, but adding +25% gives you the same 375w maximum.

So don't worry if your slider only goes up to +25%, you're actually better off out of the box anyway. smile.gif
ThingyNess is offline  
Old 04-11-2017, 10:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
c0ld Level 1
 
c0ld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,082
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThingyNess View Post

Just an FYI for everyone, the BIOSes that are floating around for the Aorus XTreme and non-XTreme all have the same 375w maximum with the TDP slider set all the way to the right.

The ones with a +50% adjustment range have the stock FE 250w default TDP limit (this looks to be the BIOS that most of the reviewers got, and is the one posted to TechPowerUp's database)
The ones with a +25% adjustment range have a 300w default TDP limit, but adding +25% gives you the same 375w maximum.

So don't worry if your slider only goes up to +25%, you're actually better off out of the box anyway. smile.gif

With the F4 BIOS?
c0ld is offline  
Old 04-11-2017, 10:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
jootn2kx Level 1
 
jootn2kx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 40
I flashed the extreme bios on my non extreme AORUS 1080ti card
But changing the voltages doesnt do anything, card doesnt seem to respond on it

I also saw in MSI afterburner the voltage was greyed out (also with the stock bios)
I need to use the Aorus software tool to change those voltages but doesnt do much

Any idea's?
jootn2kx is offline  
Old 04-11-2017, 12:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
prelude514 Level 1
 
prelude514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by jootn2kx View Post

I flashed the extreme bios on my non extreme AORUS 1080ti card
But changing the voltages doesnt do anything, card doesnt seem to respond on it

I also saw in MSI afterburner the voltage was greyed out (also with the stock bios)
I need to use the Aorus software tool to change those voltages but doesnt do much

Any idea's?

You need to use afterburner's voltage curve to control specific voltages. Setting voltage to +100 will alow you to control up to 1.093v instead of 1.061 if I remember correctly.

prelude514 is offline  
Old 04-11-2017, 12:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
nonnac7 Level 1
 
nonnac7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: TX
Posts: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by jootn2kx View Post

I flashed the extreme bios on my non extreme AORUS 1080ti card
But changing the voltages doesnt do anything, card doesnt seem to respond on it

I also saw in MSI afterburner the voltage was greyed out (also with the stock bios)
I need to use the Aorus software tool to change those voltages but doesnt do much

Any idea's?

Go into afterburner settings. In the General tab, check unlock voltage control and the drop down to the right set to third party.

If that doesn't allow you to manipulate the voltage bar in afterburner, check How To Get Voltage Slider In Afterburner Working On a 1080 Ti thread out.

OIF 3/5 Vet - 3ID - Infantry Mortarman
nonnac7 is offline  
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off