Evga FTW3 GTX 1080 Ti Owner's Thread - Page 71 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Evga FTW3 GTX 1080 Ti Owner's Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #701 of 716 (permalink) Old 06-09-2018, 07:24 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
somebadlemonade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA.
Posts: 1,558
Rep: 108 (Unique: 95)
Quote: Originally Posted by Astral85 View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by dseg View Post
How quiet is this card?
Even at 100% fans, are the three fans super loud?
Looking at getting a FTW3 Elite or a SC2 ELITE GAMING card.
The FTW3 Elite has 3 fans while the SC2 has 2.
Also, what is the different between the FTW3 Elite and non-elite?
Looks like the same specs.
The FTW3 fans at 80% IMO are whisper quiet. With my case fans all running around 900-1200 rpm and the FTW3 fans at 80% under gaming loads I have a very quiet rig. From a few meters away the rig gives off a subtle purrr, not an obnoxious roaring, whining racket! When you first run the FTW3 fans at 80% they might appear loud but the more you get used to running them at that speed the more you will get used to it. The trick is to have them blend in with your case fans as they all increase under load, so I'll set a fan curve on the FTW3 where it gradually increases to 80%. If you flat out turn the fans up from 0% to 80-100% they will sound loud. Hope that helps. [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/wink.gif[/IMG]
I have it so the card intakes air from a vent in the side panel and after 60% fan speed it's more than a comfortable level, I have to use insulating headphones to not hear it, and my ears are about 7 feet from the fans.

It's part of the reason I'm going to put the block under water in a month or 2. It's get a a slim 280(Nemesis GTS or a SR2 with some phantek MP's or a set of Corsair ML fans) all to itself.

somebadlemonade is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #702 of 716 (permalink) Old 06-11-2018, 01:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Astral85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 244
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by mark_thaddeus View Post
Agreed, If MSI AB could just read/control the other fans speeds, I would have ditched XOC a long time ago!
It's something to do with the FTW3 not having a standard fan controller and that's why MSI AB can't control them. You should find some more info at the guru3d forum.

Asus Maximus X Hero, 8700K 5.0Ghz, Custom loop EKWB (CPU only), EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra, Corsair Dominator Platinum 2x8GB 3400Mhz, Samsung 850/860 Evo's, Seasonic Prime Ultra 1000W, Corsair Obsidian 450D, Asus ROG Swift PG349Q (2019) 34"
Astral85 is offline  
post #703 of 716 (permalink) Old 06-23-2018, 05:37 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 35
Rep: 0
hi all, I am having a terrible time trying to get my ftw3 DT into the OC slave bios. It just wont budge past 117%, nor will fan #1 spin during idle, like its supposed to.

I have rebooted, reinstalled precision, pulled the plug as soon as it was off and held power for 30 seconds, removed card from pci slot, even removed card then pulled motherboard battery for 5 minutes.

and i still cant get it into OC mode.

Am I doing something wrong?
sheek360 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #704 of 716 (permalink) Old 06-23-2018, 06:20 PM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7,519
Rep: 72 (Unique: 55)
Quote: Originally Posted by sheek360 View Post
hi all, I am having a terrible time trying to get my ftw3 DT into the OC slave bios. It just wont budge past 117%, nor will fan #1 spin during idle, like its supposed to.

I have rebooted, reinstalled precision, pulled the plug as soon as it was off and held power for 30 seconds, removed card from pci slot, even removed card then pulled motherboard battery for 5 minutes.

and i still cant get it into OC mode.

Am I doing something wrong?
Hi,
No you need to flash the slave bios,
https://forums.evga.com/1080-TI-FTW3...-m2693145.aspx

CPU
i9-9940x With Heatkiller IV Pro and VRM Plexi-Copper water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #705 of 716 (permalink) Old 06-23-2018, 06:41 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 35
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
Hi,
No you need to flash the slave bios,
https://forums.evga.com/1080-TI-FTW3...-m2693145.aspx
ive been in slave mode before, a few times in fact.

to me it seems like it just is not engaging correctly


EDIT: To everyone who suffers this issue, I rebooted approximately 12 times. in a row. then finally i saw I could go to 127% power target. I verified and the first fan is spinning, and according to HWINFO my card bios is on oc slave.

To surmise, uninstall precision. turn off pc. unplug pc. hold power button for 30 seconds. remove video card. remove bios battery. wait five minutes. put in bios battery. put in video card. flip switch to slave/oc mode. plug in and turn on. install precision. then reboot, over and over. took me 12 reboots.

/\ do all of that in that order if you were also having the same problem, otherwise you could end up flashing the OC bios over the master bios.

Last edited by sheek360; 06-23-2018 at 07:41 PM.
sheek360 is offline  
post #706 of 716 (permalink) Old 06-26-2018, 07:24 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7,519
Rep: 72 (Unique: 55)
Hi,
lol what ever

CPU
i9-9940x With Heatkiller IV Pro and VRM Plexi-Copper water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #707 of 716 (permalink) Old 06-27-2018, 07:19 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
somebadlemonade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA.
Posts: 1,558
Rep: 108 (Unique: 95)
I keep hitting the voltage limit at 2025MHz.
=/
I guess I can't complain about getting over 2GHz.

The weird thing is I'm not where near either power limit at around 108%-110%.

somebadlemonade is offline  
post #708 of 716 (permalink) Old 06-30-2018, 06:57 AM
( ━☞´◔‿ゝ◔`)━ ☞
 
Kokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 6,473
Rep: 425 (Unique: 364)
Tried the Kingpin BIOS on Slave and found that the power limit goes a bit higher now. Original Slave BIOS would reach about 120% but the Kingpin BIOS can max out at 129%. Still stuck at 2075-2088MHz with 1.092V without any memory OC, otherwise will range between 2062-2088 with the memory set to 6000MHz (+500 mem offset). I used Superposition 8K optimized to push the power limit.

The original Slave BIOS had no issues reaching 127% back when I bought this GPU last September, but it's a shame Nvidia mandated lower power requirements preventing EVGA from calling the Kingpin BIOS "official".

Black Heart
(21 items)
CPU
Intel i5 3570K [Delid]
Motherboard
Asrock Z77E-ITX
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080Ti FTW3
RAM
HyperX Fury 16GB 1866 DDR3 HX318C10FBK2/16
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 256GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX500 2TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue Scorpio 1TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Constellation 2 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime 600W Titanium Fanless
Cooling
XSPC RX240+EX240 [Painted White]
Cooling
5x 2150RPM Gentle Typhoons PWM [Painted Black+White]
Cooling
EK Supremacy EVO RGB + EK FC1080Ti FTW3 blocks
Cooling
Phanteks Glacier R160 + MCP35X
Case
Case Labs Mercury S3
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW 34" Ultrawide 3440x1440 120Hz G-Sync
Monitor
Qnix QX2710 1440p 120Hz
Keyboard
WASD CODE 87-Key [MX Clear + /dev/tty Keycaps]
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Sennheiser HD 6XX
Audio
Micca OriGen G2
▲ hide details ▲
Kokin is offline  
post #709 of 716 (permalink) Old 06-30-2018, 06:42 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
BullyApC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Kokin View Post
Tried the Kingpin BIOS on Slave and found that the power limit goes a bit higher now. Original Slave BIOS would reach about 120% but the Kingpin BIOS can max out at 129%. Still stuck at 2075-2088MHz with 1.092V without any memory OC, otherwise will range between 2062-2088 with the memory set to 6000MHz (+500 mem offset). I used Superposition 8K optimized to push the power limit.

The original Slave BIOS had no issues reaching 127% back when I bought this GPU last September, but it's a shame Nvidia mandated lower power requirements preventing EVGA from calling the Kingpin BIOS "official".
I haven't been around for a while, so I have some catching up to do. It was my understanding that we were warned to not install the Kingpin Bios as it would BRICK our cards. Is this no longer true?

CPU: 7700K @ 5.1 AIO
MOBO: Asus Maximus IX APEX
Memory: GSKILL DDR4 16GB 3200
GPU: EVGA 1080Ti SC w/ FTW flash
Storage: 2 Samsung 960 250GB NVMe RAID 0, 1 Samsung 960 500GB NVMe, 3 Samsung 950EVO 250GB RAID 0, 1 WD 1TB Black
BullyApC is offline  
post #710 of 716 (permalink) Old 07-01-2018, 12:00 AM
( ━☞´◔‿ゝ◔`)━ ☞
 
Kokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 6,473
Rep: 425 (Unique: 364)
Quote: Originally Posted by BullyApC View Post
I haven't been around for a while, so I have some catching up to do. It was my understanding that we were warned to not install the Kingpin Bios as it would BRICK our cards. Is this no longer true?
I apologize if my wording was vague as it's still a BIOS meant for the FTW3, but came from the Kingpin forums as an "unofficial" BIOS. From my understanding of the situation, EVGA says Nvidia has certain power delivery requirements/guidelines that prevent them from listing this BIOS as an "official fix" for the power limit issue. However, they are allowing people to reflash it to their Slave BIOS slot as long as the Master BIOS slot is left alone.

Honestly I didn't see a difference between the stock Slave BIOS and the "fixed" Slave BIOS in terms of higher overclocking numbers even though it's pulling more power. I'm using an EK waterblock, so I do not hit any voltage or temp limits, but was always triggering the power limit.

Black Heart
(21 items)
CPU
Intel i5 3570K [Delid]
Motherboard
Asrock Z77E-ITX
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080Ti FTW3
RAM
HyperX Fury 16GB 1866 DDR3 HX318C10FBK2/16
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 256GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX500 2TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue Scorpio 1TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Constellation 2 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime 600W Titanium Fanless
Cooling
XSPC RX240+EX240 [Painted White]
Cooling
5x 2150RPM Gentle Typhoons PWM [Painted Black+White]
Cooling
EK Supremacy EVO RGB + EK FC1080Ti FTW3 blocks
Cooling
Phanteks Glacier R160 + MCP35X
Case
Case Labs Mercury S3
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW 34" Ultrawide 3440x1440 120Hz G-Sync
Monitor
Qnix QX2710 1440p 120Hz
Keyboard
WASD CODE 87-Key [MX Clear + /dev/tty Keycaps]
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Sennheiser HD 6XX
Audio
Micca OriGen G2
▲ hide details ▲
Kokin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off