Titan X (Pascal) Shunt Mod Done With Resistors - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Titan X (Pascal) Shunt Mod Done With Resistors

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-11-2019, 08:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
evassion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 25
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Yeah it was stupid, but at that moment nobody proposed solder another on top... Maybe I could buy 3 Mohm te be on the safe side, instead of solder 5 Mohm with other on top again or risking trying 2.5 Mohm... Could you help me to choose the correct 3 Mohm shunt? A link to the product specification or web to buy it...Thanks.


Edit: maybe this 3 Mohm


https://www.mouser.es/ProductDetail/...2%252BtTbTxA==

Last edited by evassion; 06-11-2019 at 08:28 AM.
evassion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-11-2019, 08:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
EniGma1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,284
Rep: 337 (Unique: 247)
Quote: Originally Posted by evassion View Post
Yeah it was stupid, but at that moment nobody proposed solder another on top... Maybe I could buy 3 Mohm te be on the safe side, instead of solder 5 Mohm with other on top again or risking trying 2.5 Mohm... Could you help me to choose the correct 3 Mohm shunt? A link to the product specification or web to buy it...Thanks.


Edit: maybe this 3 Mohm


https://www.mouser.es/ProductDetail/...2%252BtTbTxA==

Ya that one is good, or the ERJ-M1***3M0U model instead since it has the same 100 PPM/C spec. Though I dont think it matters since these dont get hot.

edit: E R J - M 1 W T F 3 M 0 U

profanity filter doesnt like "w t f" in model name.




If you use a 4mOhm resistor you will be 25% higher power limit already, plus adding another 20% in driver setting. A 3mOhm resistor will be 66% higher power limit, plus 20% again in driver. Basically removing the limit entirely.


Last edited by EniGma1987; 06-11-2019 at 08:44 AM.
EniGma1987 is offline  
post #33 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 02:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
evassion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 25
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Last question.. How can I know the shunts orientation in the pcb?

I did not take a photo before "liquid metaling" them.

My plan it is to do like this and use 3Momh directly (the pcie shunt is untouched):
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_3436_1560720623927.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	1.08 MB
ID:	274754  

evassion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 08:10 PM - Thread Starter
Robotic Chemist
 
Asmodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,553
Rep: 185 (Unique: 123)
Quote: Originally Posted by evassion View Post
Last question.. How can I know the shunts orientation in the pcb?
Shunts do not have an orientation that is important. Put it on so the text is rightsight up.

3 mOhm directly is ideal, let us know how it goes.
Asmodian is offline  
post #35 of 40 (permalink) Old 08-09-2019, 01:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
chibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 602
Rep: 28 (Unique: 25)
When stacking the 2x 5M0 resistors, do I still need to utilize MSI Afterburner to raise the power limit?

Similar question, if I order the 3M0 and do a replacement, does that still need the power limit raised in AB? I would prefer not to have third party software installed if the PL issue can be resolved with the hardware fix since no bios flash is available. TXp card by the way.

Thanks!

Unit 02
(12 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
GPU
NVIDIA Titan Xp
RAM
GSkill Trident Z - 16GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 PRO - 512GB
Power Supply
PRIME Ultra 1000 Titanium
Cooling
EK-CoolStream PE 360
Case
Lian Li PC-O11
Monitor
Dell AW3418DW
Keyboard
Corsair K70 RGB
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 300
Audio
AKG K7XX
▲ hide details ▲
chibi is online now  
post #36 of 40 (permalink) Old 08-09-2019, 01:17 PM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7,201
Rep: 64 (Unique: 50)
Hi,
Not sure how you'd oc the gpu without msi af or similar :/
But yes you'd still need to raise/ unlock voltage control and raise it that is what oc'ing is

It's just the cards firmware won't be able to tell and trip safety features.
Water cooling is recommended.

CPU
i9-9940x With Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #37 of 40 (permalink) Old 08-09-2019, 04:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
chibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 602
Rep: 28 (Unique: 25)
Quote: Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
Hi,
Not sure how you'd oc the gpu without msi af or similar :/
But yes you'd still need to raise/ unlock voltage control and raise it that is what oc'ing is

It's just the cards firmware won't be able to tell and trip safety features.
Water cooling is recommended.

My bad, I was not being specific enough. I don't want to OC my card as it's fast enough for the games I'm playing. I just don't want it to power limit under load. Yes, my GPU is watercooled with Heatkiller block and 2x 360mm rads.

Unit 02
(12 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
GPU
NVIDIA Titan Xp
RAM
GSkill Trident Z - 16GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 PRO - 512GB
Power Supply
PRIME Ultra 1000 Titanium
Cooling
EK-CoolStream PE 360
Case
Lian Li PC-O11
Monitor
Dell AW3418DW
Keyboard
Corsair K70 RGB
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 300
Audio
AKG K7XX
▲ hide details ▲
chibi is online now  
post #38 of 40 (permalink) Old 08-09-2019, 08:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Zfast4y0u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 298
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by chibi View Post
My bad, I was not being specific enough. I don't want to OC my card as it's fast enough for the games I'm playing. I just don't want it to power limit under load. Yes, my GPU is watercooled with Heatkiller block and 2x 360mm rads.
if u dont overclock ur card, u have more then enough headroom not to hit power limit ever. in games that is. if u undervolt ur card as well ( i assume ur gpu clocks till 2000mhz ), its going to be even better.

dont try to fix if it aint broken imo. i have 1080ti and max what i saw power draw was like 90-100% max with heavy overclock (in games), and i have headroom till 120%...
Zfast4y0u is offline  
post #39 of 40 (permalink) Old 08-09-2019, 11:14 PM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7,201
Rep: 64 (Unique: 50)
Hi,
Default clocks/ boost only throttling would be caused by heat not power demand...
Monitor memory and core temps possibly the water block isn't mounted properly
I myself used the wrong screws/ longer ones instead of the shorter ones and contact was crap and so were temps.

CPU
i9-9940x With Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #40 of 40 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 12:15 AM - Thread Starter
Robotic Chemist
 
Asmodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,553
Rep: 185 (Unique: 123)
Quote: Originally Posted by chibi View Post
When stacking the 2x 5M0 resistors, do I still need to utilize MSI Afterburner to raise the power limit?

Similar question, if I order the 3M0 and do a replacement, does that still need the power limit raised in AB? I would prefer not to have third party software installed if the PL issue can be resolved with the hardware fix since no bios flash is available. TXp card by the way.

Thanks!
No in both cases, this is a hardware mod so AB or similar are not required for it to work.

Once it is done the card will always think it is using less power than it really is, we are actually modifying what it uses to determin how much power it is drawing so with everything in the drivers/software/BIOS at stock the real power limit will actually be 2x stock (when stacking another 5 milliohm resistor, using a single 3 milliohm resistor would raise the power limit by 1.667x).
Asmodian is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off