[Official] NVIDIA RTX 2070 / SUPER Owner's Club - Page 8 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] NVIDIA RTX 2070 / SUPER Owner's Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #71 of 459 (permalink) Old 12-06-2018, 08:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Redoctober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
I ended up getting a Duke 2070 to replace my gigabyte windforce 970 and its running pretty amazing with my 1440p 144hz monitor. Monster Hunter World it drops to the 80-90 fps. Thats the only graphic intensive game i tested it on. https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/30946059 I don't test stuff often but this is what i got for my score, not sure if cpu kinda hindered the score it cause its an old 4820k. But regardless happy with it so far and will try to OC later.
Redoctober is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #72 of 459 (permalink) Old 12-06-2018, 08:21 AM
335is
 
NoGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oakland Co, MI
Posts: 10,920
Rep: 769 (Unique: 312)
Quote: Originally Posted by RTX Alex View Post
Thanks for the welcome. I am confused on how to properly overclock this GPU. I'm sure it is fairly simple and I am simply missing something. I tried using Precision X1 but was unsure where to apply the OC it suggested. I tried some other forums/videos and got mixed responses. Some said add to the memory, some said add to the core. I was also tired last night, I will have to try again when I'm better rested.
Memory only nets you a little gain. Do the core in increments and test until you find instability or crash, and roll it back some.
I do what I call bounce testing. Jump like 200 at first and test and do that until crash. Then maybe only 50 at a time and test until crash. until you get down to around 10 notches from crash and back it up by like 30.

Let me know if that makes sense or you need some help?
NoGuru is offline  
post #73 of 459 (permalink) Old 12-06-2018, 08:23 AM
335is
 
NoGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oakland Co, MI
Posts: 10,920
Rep: 769 (Unique: 312)
Quote: Originally Posted by Redoctober View Post
I ended up getting a Duke 2070 to replace my gigabyte windforce 970 and its running pretty amazing with my 1440p 144hz monitor. Monster Hunter World it drops to the 80-90 fps. Thats the only graphic intensive game i tested it on. https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/30946059 I don't test stuff often but this is what i got for my score, not sure if cpu kinda hindered the score it cause its an old 4820k. But regardless happy with it so far and will try to OC later.
Score looks pretty good. CPU does not seem to be bottle necking from a quick glance.
NoGuru is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #74 of 459 (permalink) Old 12-06-2018, 08:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by NoGuru View Post
Memory only nets you a little gain. Do the core in increments and test until you find instability or crash, and roll it back some.
I do what I call bounce testing. Jump like 200 at first and test and do that until crash. Then maybe only 50 at a time and test until crash. until you get down to around 10 notches from crash and back it up by like 30.

Let me know if that makes sense or you need some help?
Thanks for the response. I will give that a go today when I get home from work. What about voltages? Should I even touch that setting?

CPU
i5-8400
Motherboard
EVGA ROG STRIX Z370i
GPU
EVGA 2070 XC Ultra
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z
Hard Drive
Adata SU800 (BOOT)
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO (Main Gaming)
Hard Drive
Adata SX900 (Secondary Gaming)
Hard Drive
Seagate 3TB (Storage)
Power Supply
EVGA 750 B3
Cooling
EVGA CLC 240
Cooling
Corsair LL120mm x2
Case
Corsair Crystal 280x RBG M-ATX
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64bit
▲ hide details ▲
RTX Alex is offline  
post #75 of 459 (permalink) Old 12-06-2018, 09:31 AM
335is
 
NoGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oakland Co, MI
Posts: 10,920
Rep: 769 (Unique: 312)
Quote: Originally Posted by RTX Alex View Post
Thanks for the response. I will give that a go today when I get home from work. What about voltages? Should I even touch that setting?
As long as temps are good and it's not crashing, crank them up
NoGuru is offline  
post #76 of 459 (permalink) Old 12-06-2018, 12:04 PM
Kraust
 
Secret Dragoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 257
Rep: 9 (Unique: 7)
The easy way is to use the auto tuning wizard, in Afterburner it's Ctrl+F, idk what it is in Precision X. Gave me a +115MHz OC.
And then you can put memory at somewhere above +500MHz, seems very random.

hwbot - currently not active.
Secret Dragoon is offline  
post #77 of 459 (permalink) Old 12-06-2018, 07:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Secret Dragoon View Post
The easy way is to use the auto tuning wizard, in Afterburner it's Ctrl+F, idk what it is in Precision X. Gave me a +115MHz OC.
And then you can put memory at somewhere above +500MHz, seems very random.
Thanks, I ran the VF Curve Tuner in Precision X1. Gave me a +147, so I settled at +145. I added +100 to the memory and +10 to the voltage. Under load 62c.

Overclocked:

Time Spy Score was Overall: 8,888 GPU: 9851 CPU: 5721
Heaven: FPS: 128.2 Score: 3230 (Mode: 1920x1080, 8xAA, full screen, Quality: Ultra, Tessellation:Extreme)

Stock:

Time Spy Score was Overall: 8,475 GPU: 9289 CPU: 5663
Heaven: FPS: 119.8 Score: 3018 (Mode: 1920x1080, 8xAA, full screen, Quality: Ultra, Tessellation:Extreme)

I don't know how those numbers stack up compared to others. I'm not complaining anyway, I'm able to play all my games on Ultra capped @ 60FPS. I'm waiting till after Christmas to purchase a 1440p monitor, so that's exciting.

I appreciate the help guys. I hope I can have some more time tomorrow to mess around and see what I can push out of this card.

CPU
i5-8400
Motherboard
EVGA ROG STRIX Z370i
GPU
EVGA 2070 XC Ultra
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z
Hard Drive
Adata SU800 (BOOT)
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO (Main Gaming)
Hard Drive
Adata SX900 (Secondary Gaming)
Hard Drive
Seagate 3TB (Storage)
Power Supply
EVGA 750 B3
Cooling
EVGA CLC 240
Cooling
Corsair LL120mm x2
Case
Corsair Crystal 280x RBG M-ATX
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64bit
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by RTX Alex; 12-06-2018 at 07:40 PM.
RTX Alex is offline  
post #78 of 459 (permalink) Old 12-07-2018, 03:35 AM
Kraust
 
Secret Dragoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 257
Rep: 9 (Unique: 7)
That's more or less what I ended up getting:
http://hwbot.org/submission/3997877_

I'd say that's a slightly above average OC. Lot of people seem to be getting in the 9000-10000 area in TimeSpy.
Wondering what makes TimeSpy so different as that's 1080Ti and entering into Titan XP performance.

hwbot - currently not active.

Last edited by Secret Dragoon; 12-07-2018 at 03:42 AM.
Secret Dragoon is offline  
post #79 of 459 (permalink) Old 12-07-2018, 06:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
So I've been taking your guys' advice and I came up with a pretty good solid result tonight.

Thanks again for the advice guys/gals.

https://www.3dmark.com/spy/5322385
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	9209 Time Spy.png
Views:	90
Size:	2.16 MB
ID:	236854  


CPU
i5-8400
Motherboard
EVGA ROG STRIX Z370i
GPU
EVGA 2070 XC Ultra
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z
Hard Drive
Adata SU800 (BOOT)
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO (Main Gaming)
Hard Drive
Adata SX900 (Secondary Gaming)
Hard Drive
Seagate 3TB (Storage)
Power Supply
EVGA 750 B3
Cooling
EVGA CLC 240
Cooling
Corsair LL120mm x2
Case
Corsair Crystal 280x RBG M-ATX
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64bit
▲ hide details ▲
RTX Alex is offline  
post #80 of 459 (permalink) Old 12-13-2018, 04:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Gorribal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Rep: 0
Was there any major change in the way nvidia gpu is produced since gtx 770 ?

I'm asking because I just changed my msi 770 for 2070 armor and it just doesn't seem to fit motherboard/case right.
I used to just insert my 770, pull it up ~~0.5inch or smth and screw it in, everything fine.
Im trying to do the same with 2070 armor: cant screw it in, and even if I could then hdmi port would be a bit covered by case.
So it feels like either my motherboard pcie slot is a bit too high, or my case slots are a bit too low.
Now my 2070 armor isn't screwed in, it just lays on the lower slot covers of my case, and it would probly hang lower without it.

My motherboard is MSI B85i Gaming, and my case is nzxt s340

Thx in advance and I hope this is the right place to ask this.
Gorribal is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off