[Official] NVIDIA RTX 2080 Ti Owner's Club - Page 726 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] NVIDIA RTX 2080 Ti Owner's Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7251 of 7635 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 06:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jura11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London,UK
Posts: 1,884
Rep: 98 (Unique: 62)
Quote: Originally Posted by Hemorz View Post
Hey mate can you explain how to do the voltage curve?

I'm flashed on Galax 380w too....this is best result I've gotten so far I think core clock does spike a little.

You got messenger?



Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
Hi there

2145MHz is quite nice there without the question,I still think you should be able squeeze bit more if yours temperatures will be under 37-38°C then you will gain extra 15MHz

With custom V/F curve too you can gain extra few more MHz, I can gain around 40-50MHz on top what OC Scanner in MSI Afterburner reporting as my max OC

Have look on this YT video, its for Pascal GPUs but works for Turing RTX as well

https://youtu.be/koBxaf-KZgo

But still +1300MHz on VRAM is very nice

Hope this helps

Thanks, Jura
jura11 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7252 of 7635 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 06:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 46
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by jura11 View Post
Hi there



2145MHz is quite nice there without the question,I still think you should be able squeeze bit more if yours temperatures will be under 37-38°C then you will gain extra 15MHz



With custom V/F curve too you can gain extra few more MHz, I can gain around 40-50MHz on top what OC Scanner in MSI Afterburner reporting as my max OC



Have look on this YT video, its for Pascal GPUs but works for Turing RTX as well



https://youtu.be/koBxaf-KZgo



But still +1300MHz on VRAM is very nice



Hope this helps



Thanks, Jura
Thanks mate...haven't even done OC scanner haha didn't know it was a thing. Trying that now to compare too

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
Hemorz is offline  
post #7253 of 7635 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 07:16 PM
Old and Decrepit
 
JustinThyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Princeton
Posts: 499
Rep: 27 (Unique: 21)
Quote: Originally Posted by Hemorz View Post


It would be more beneficial if you took screen shots instead of pictures of your monitor. Hard to see whats going on.
Also download and install techpowerup GPUZ and run that, take a screen shot of that as well.

In case you arent versed in screen shots.

CTRL+PrtSc
Then open paint and CTRL+V
you can select and crop then save as PNG or JPEG.

Das Beast
(29 items)
CPU
I9 9940X
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Extreme
GPU
Asus Strix 2080 Ti OC
GPU
Asus Strix 2080 Ti OC
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum CMD64GX4M8X3800C19
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Intel 905P
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
Aquaero 6 pro controller
Cooling
Corsair SP120 PWM x 11
Cooling
Heatkiller IV pro
Cooling
Heatkiller Tube 200
Cooling
2x Phanteks Strix 2080ti blocks
Cooling
EKWB 480 XE
Cooling
EKWB 480 PE
Cooling
EKWB 360XE
Cooling
Corsair LL 120 PWM X8
Cooling
D5 pumps x2 in serial bitspower head with mod kit
Cooling
Heatkiller VRM block
Case
Phantek Entoo Elite Black
Operating System
WIN 10 Pro
Monitor
ASUS PG34Q
Keyboard
ASUS Core
Mouse
Asus spatha
Mouse
Asus Sheath
Audio
Audio Engine A5+
Audio
SVS1000 Sub
Audio
Audio engine 192kBPS DAC
▲ hide details ▲
JustinThyme is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7254 of 7635 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 07:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 46
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
It would be more beneficial if you took screen shots instead of pictures of your monitor. Hard to see whats going on.

Also download and install techpowerup GPUZ and run that, take a screen shot of that as well.



In case you arent versed in screen shots.



CTRL+PrtSc

Then open paint and CTRL+V

you can select and crop then save as PNG or JPEG.
Lol I know how to take screenshots..I thought all the numbers I took a photo of are legible especially when you zoom

Just noticed gpuz turned out blurry...will get another clearer picture soon

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
Hemorz is offline  
post #7255 of 7635 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 08:13 PM
Umm, How Bout Noooooo.
 
Cyber Locc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: White Moutians, Arizona
Posts: 3,616
Rep: 113 (Unique: 78)
Quote: Originally Posted by jura11 View Post
Hi there

That's quite good OC 2175MHz on core and assuming 1000MHz on VRAM?

Graphics Score 7715 is nice,I can do max 7688 that's with 2115MHz and 1125MHz on VRAM and my CPU Score is 4239(4309 is best) that's with 5960X with 4.7GHz

Here is my score and please ignore GTX1080Ti with which I scored this,not sure why 3DMark reports this is my main GPU,although I have 4 GPUs

https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/34874282

Hope this helps

Thanks,Jura
Very nice score , and ya our Haswell Es kill the CPU score also you are correct 1k on the mem

I'm still messing with the memory, I literally put it to 1000, and benched it a few times, got that score, and then had to go to bed. My wife hates my fans, which are loud when I bench as I dont have an external rad for my TB so 2 360 EK XEs for now with 3k Vardar Evos, so I have to do when she is sleeping lol. Then haven't been able to bench since then, as other stuff has came up and new board+CPU on the way anyway. Now I have to add an external rad, with a second 2080ti going in soon, and the I9 9960x

My siggy so empty frown.gif
Favorite OCN Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakusonfire go_quote.gif

You are just talking more and more nonsense now. It's time to take this back to whatever noob forum it came from.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Last edited by Cyber Locc; 03-25-2019 at 08:21 PM.
Cyber Locc is offline  
post #7256 of 7635 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 10:40 PM
Invalid Media
 
J7SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 613
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
GN has a nice tear-down of the KingPin 2080 Ti / looks juicy, EVBot connector and all. Vince in another vid mentioned that there might be a second version, one w/ a full cover water-block

J7SC is offline  
post #7257 of 7635 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 11:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
This is with fluid at 4c, highest I could push it for now.

lkkane00 is offline  
post #7258 of 7635 (permalink) Old 03-26-2019, 04:49 AM
Blue and Green Team!
 
The_Rocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: England
Posts: 10,733
Rep: 705 (Unique: 528)
Quote: Originally Posted by Renegade5399 View Post
At 70°C you have almost no headroom. You have to understand how the thermal throttling works on these cards. Those of us that have done the shunt mod try and get temps BELOW 45°C at 100% load. We have to resort to things like drawing in cold winter air or installing a ridiculous amount of radiators. I have (2) 360mm and (1) 240mm right now and am considering another 240mm since I have 2 GPUs and a coal fired CPU in the loop. Every 10° beginning at (I think) 30°C causes a reduction of clocks because of how Boost 3.0 and it's associated "features" work. I would NOT do the shunt mod on those Turbo model cards with the stock cooler. The VRM and GPU and in turn, the whole back of the card will get hot. Like, really hot.

My suggestion is to work with what you have for now and save up for some type of water cooling for the cards. Then you can do the shunt mod, as long as you fully understand the risks (card damage, void warranty).

The power limit in the stock BIOS does not matter once the shunts are installed. Changing the value of them causes the measured voltage reported back to the controller to be higher. This fools the controller into thinking there is less power usage than what is actually being drawn. You hit the limit of the silicon before you hit the "new" power limit.

The nice thing about forums like this are access to knowledge of how to perform such mods. The downside is misunderstanding/misinformation. The shunts are NOT 5 Ohm. The add-on resistors for the shunts are NOT 8 Ohm. The total replacement resistor for the shunts are NOT 3 Ohm. All values are in milliohm. The stock shunts are 5 mOhm (milliohm). You add on an 8 mOhm resistor to get the target goal of ~3mOhm. If you find yourself in wonder as to how this works and don't understand how resistors work in parallel, please consider going out and researching that, getting a basic understanding, then consider if modding like this is for you. Also, if you've never done more than just tin wires with a soldering iron and/or have a 300W broad tip soldering iron, don't try this mod. Get a proper tip for SMD work (this is personal preference, I use an SMD "broad" tip which is actually nice and tiny), a proper 150-200W or lower if you like iron, and practice on a dead board with similar SMDs on it. One of those magnifying lights really really helps too. I'm not saying don't try it or you don't have the skills/understanding to do it. I am saying go do the proper prep work first.

Good luck!
This is good advice. Luckily I have a fair bit of soldering experience, not with SMD however but I can get my hand in on some other stuff before attempting this mod. I have a Hako 888 iron with variable temp and multiple tips so im all good on that front.

I was just going to try the mod with silver trace pen first as shown in the RTX Titan thread. A good thick layer appears to work. However its certainly a much nicer solution if I solder 8mOhm resistors on top instead. Any particular type I need to buy? May as well get them in now.

On the cooling front, these blower cards are actually temporary replacements to my originals which were eVGA Black's with the dual fan open cooler, 2 slot. I should have both of them in by the end of the week.

However, as I have done it before, numerous times, im feeling like I might rebuild this system into a thermaltake W200 with a pair of Black Ice GTR 560mm rads, one loop on the cards, one on the GPU. From what I am learning about these cards it seems like I should wait until I have the cards under water to do the shunt mod as it heats up everything regardless of clocks?

20i9 STEALTH
(13 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9 9820X @ 4.5Ghz (1.253v NO AVX OFFSET)
Motherboard
ASUS X299 TUF Mark 2
GPU
2 x ASUS 2080Ti TURBO (Blower, NON-A)
RAM
32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000Mhz (4 x 8GB)
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung 970 EVO PLUS NVMe SSD
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200 1200W
Cooling
Corsair H150i Pro (Corsair ML120's push/pull)
Case
Fractal Design Define S Windowed
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HU 165Hz GSYNC 1440P
Keyboard
Corsair K70 MXRed
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Elite
Audio
Schiit 2Uber Stack + Beyerdynamic DT1770
▲ hide details ▲


The_Rocker is offline  
post #7259 of 7635 (permalink) Old 03-26-2019, 05:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dante`afk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 585
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by jura11 View Post
Hi there

I'm pretty sure first thermal throttling or downclocking starts at 37-38°C or something around that figure, then next step or next thermal throttling or downclocking I think will be around 47-48°C with this I'm not sure as I have seen such temperatures on my RTX 2080Ti

These downclocking steps are definitely different to Pascal Nvidia Boost 3.0 what I know and tested

https://tpucdn.com/reviews/NVIDIA/Ge..._analysis2.jpg

Hope this helps

Thanks, Jura

38, 42, 45, etc.

i9 9900k 5.3ghz - evga z390 dark - corsair ax1200i
16 GB g.skill tridentZ 4500 CL 17 - 2080Ti RTX 2160/8000
960PRO 512GB NVMe - 960EVO 512GB NVMe - SanDisk Ultra II 960GB - WD caviar black 3x 4tb
Lian Li O11 - ASUS ROG PG279Q Gsync @ 165hz - 2x Qnix2710 @ 120hz - klipsch promedia 2.1

http://beta.speedtest.net/result/6850164303.png
dante`afk is online now  
post #7260 of 7635 (permalink) Old 03-26-2019, 07:12 AM
Slovak_Killer
 
dangerSK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 158
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Hemorz View Post
Is it just temperature preventing more power on cards?

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
No, its nvidia locking up cards for nothing...

LN2 Beast
(6 items)
CPU
i9 9980XE
Motherboard
Evga X299 Dark
GPU
MSI RTX 2080Ti Lightning Z
RAM
G-skill 3200 c14 Trident Z
Cooling
Kingpin F1 Dark
Cooling
EKWB Loop
▲ hide details ▲
dangerSK is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (3 members and 1 guests)
down2long27 , juan197 , pewpewlazer
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off