[Official] NVIDIA RTX 2080 Ti Owner's Club - Page 890 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] NVIDIA RTX 2080 Ti Owner's Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8891 of 8966 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 04:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
max883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 247
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
What about your warenty? Removing the sticker from the screw
max883 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8892 of 8966 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 04:15 AM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,161
Rep: 79 (Unique: 60)
Quote: Originally Posted by max883 View Post
What about your warenty? Removing the sticker from the screw
EVGA and MSI don't enforce that in the USA. They can't legally enforce that anymore. No one can in this country. "Warranty void if removed" stickers aren't valid in USA anymore.
kithylin is offline  
post #8893 of 8966 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 04:46 AM
Gamer and overclocker !
 
GRABibus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 1,493
Rep: 56 (Unique: 46)
Quote: Originally Posted by maivorbim View Post
For anyone trying to apply liquid metal to an Asus RTX 2080 TI Strix card, don't bother! After applying Conductonaut to both the die and die plate, I saw increased temperatures compared to stock (from 64C to 69C during load). Screws were all tightened in a X pattern. Most likely, the cooler plate does not make perfect contact with the die and the liquid metal cannot bridge the gap, being less viscous than thermal paste. I have cleaned the conductonaut and applied Kryonaut. I am now back to identical stock temperatures.

In conclusion, the stock thermal paste used by Asus is as good as it gets (with a margin of 1-2C). Don't bother opening the card and repasting.
From my side on the MSI sea Hawk, conductonaut improved a lot .

At 25degreed ambient :
Stock paste => 60degrees under heaven benchmark
Noctua NH-T1 => 53degrees under heaven Benchmark
Conductonaut => 48 degrees under heaven benchmark

My war machine
(21 items)
CPU
INTEL Core i7-5930K : [email protected],7GHz / [email protected],5GHz / Vccin=1,8V / Vcore=1,24V (Adaptative mode) / Vcache=1,25V (Offset mode, offset=+0,371V) / Vccsa=0,8V (Offset=-0,01V) / Vccio=1,05V
Motherboard
ASUS X99-Deluxe II (BIOS Beta 2101)
GPU
MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti SEA HAWK X : "Gaming overclock settings in MSI Afterburner => [email protected] / [email protected] / Vddc=1,093V" - BIOS GALAX RTX 2080 Ti OC Reference PCB (2x8-Pin) power target 380W version 90.02.0B.00.A9 / Thermal paste THERMAL GRIZZLY Kryonaut
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z DDR4-3200 32GB(8GBx4) CL14 @ 3200MHz @ 13-14-14-34-1T @ Vdimm=1,4V
Hard Drive
SSD SAMSUNG 860 PRO 2TB (System)
Hard Drive
HDD WESTERN DIGITAL Caviar Blue 1TB SATA3-600 64MB cache (Data)
Optical Drive
LG BH16NS40
Power Supply
COOLER MASTER Silent Pro M2 1000W
Cooling
EVGA CLC 280 (Liquid metal paste THERMAL GRIZZLY Conductonaut)
Case
ANTEC Nine Hundred Two V3 (Opened side panel)
Operating System
MICROSOFT Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
Monitor
ASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
Keyboard
LOGITECH K120
Mouse
LOGITECH G402 Hyperion Fury
Audio
SPEAKERS CREATIVE Inspire T6160
Audio
HEADSET ACER Predator Gaming
Audio
SOUND CARD REALTEK ALC1150 on-board
Other
PRINTER EPSON DX8450
Other
WEBCAM LOGITECH C170
Other
FTTH INTERNET CONNECTION : 1Gbps DL / 300Mbps UL
Other
RAZER Goliathus Control (Small)
▲ hide details ▲
GRABibus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8894 of 8966 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 06:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by AvengedRobix View Post
Have you do an error ti apply LM.. I'M15/10 low with lm

Inviato dal mio ONEPLUS A6013 utilizzando Tapatalk

What 2080 ti model do you have?
maivorbim is offline  
post #8895 of 8966 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 06:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by GRABibus View Post
From my side on the MSI sea Hawk, conductonaut improved a lot .

At 25degreed ambient :
Stock paste => 60degrees under heaven benchmark
Noctua NH-T1 => 53degrees under heaven Benchmark
Conductonaut => 48 degrees under heaven benchmark
Your post is what convinced me to try liquid metal and I wish I had the same results as yours. However, I am not the only one that has noticed no improvements with liquid metal:

https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comm...080_ti_yet_my/
https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comm..._conductonaut/
https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comm...i_lower_temps/
https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comm...tal_on_turing/

My suspicion is that it is due to poor contact of cold plate with the die. Strix have a metal frame around the die, while yours seems to not have one. I'm thinking that because of the metal frame, the cold plate sits higher and has less of contact pressure with the die? I don't think it is user error, as I have used liquid metal before and tightened the screws really well.

Strix: https://tpucdn.com/review/asus-gefor...ront_small.jpg
Sea Hawk x: https://imgur.com/a/3WDEXZk#U9ARHY9
maivorbim is offline  
post #8896 of 8966 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 08:05 AM
Gamer and overclocker !
 
GRABibus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 1,493
Rep: 56 (Unique: 46)
Ok. Thanks for the links.

What we miss is the feedback some years after of people who applied LM on GPU.

My war machine
(21 items)
CPU
INTEL Core i7-5930K : [email protected],7GHz / [email protected],5GHz / Vccin=1,8V / Vcore=1,24V (Adaptative mode) / Vcache=1,25V (Offset mode, offset=+0,371V) / Vccsa=0,8V (Offset=-0,01V) / Vccio=1,05V
Motherboard
ASUS X99-Deluxe II (BIOS Beta 2101)
GPU
MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti SEA HAWK X : "Gaming overclock settings in MSI Afterburner => [email protected] / [email protected] / Vddc=1,093V" - BIOS GALAX RTX 2080 Ti OC Reference PCB (2x8-Pin) power target 380W version 90.02.0B.00.A9 / Thermal paste THERMAL GRIZZLY Kryonaut
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z DDR4-3200 32GB(8GBx4) CL14 @ 3200MHz @ 13-14-14-34-1T @ Vdimm=1,4V
Hard Drive
SSD SAMSUNG 860 PRO 2TB (System)
Hard Drive
HDD WESTERN DIGITAL Caviar Blue 1TB SATA3-600 64MB cache (Data)
Optical Drive
LG BH16NS40
Power Supply
COOLER MASTER Silent Pro M2 1000W
Cooling
EVGA CLC 280 (Liquid metal paste THERMAL GRIZZLY Conductonaut)
Case
ANTEC Nine Hundred Two V3 (Opened side panel)
Operating System
MICROSOFT Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
Monitor
ASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
Keyboard
LOGITECH K120
Mouse
LOGITECH G402 Hyperion Fury
Audio
SPEAKERS CREATIVE Inspire T6160
Audio
HEADSET ACER Predator Gaming
Audio
SOUND CARD REALTEK ALC1150 on-board
Other
PRINTER EPSON DX8450
Other
WEBCAM LOGITECH C170
Other
FTTH INTERNET CONNECTION : 1Gbps DL / 300Mbps UL
Other
RAZER Goliathus Control (Small)
▲ hide details ▲
GRABibus is offline  
post #8897 of 8966 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 10:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,366
Rep: 98 (Unique: 48)
Quote: Originally Posted by GRABibus View Post
From my side, i don't see reallly this rule.

For example in BFV :

if I set [email protected] in V/F curve. I am at 22°c ambient.
Then the game starts at 38°C, then the clock is already down at 2160MHz.
Then, when temperature is roughly 41°C-42°C, then the clock goes down to 2145MHz.
At 47°C-48°C, the clock goes down at 2130MHz.

And I am sure at 50°C-52°C, it would go down at 2115MHz..

So you see, 2160MHz-2130Mz=30MHz=2x15MHz when GPU temperature goes from 38°C to 48°C...10°C....

So for me, it is more like -15MHz each 5°C more on the GPU...

Maivorbim wrote : "it is set for 2130 mhz @ 1.093V, which I hit only for a few seconds in BF V, then downclock to 2070 [email protected] as temps rise and stabilise at around 64C".
i don't know at which temperature the GPU is at when he starts playing BFV.

I don't know for other people...
I also didnt understand how he could stepdown from 2130 to 2070mhz !
Yeap its in steps of 15mhz for sure. For me mostly at 37c and 42c! So 5degrees! But sometimes it gets a certain compensation where it can hold the freq but with a higher voltage.



Quote: Originally Posted by ducky083 View Post
Hi,

Can we put Asus XOC bios on 2080ti reference pcb without any problem ? even if my screen is connected by Display Port ?
How it's possible with this XOC bios to let the voltage at 1.093v all time ?

Thanks
Yes you can. In my case it wasnt at 1.093v all the time! Its just using the normal Pstates as rest of bios versions. So its probably how this bios runs on your card!


Quote: Originally Posted by kithylin View Post
From what others in this thread have commented.. the XOC bios causes extremely excessive power draw from these cards. As much as +2x / double what any other "normal bios" for 2080 Ti's would draw. It may not be a good idea to run this long-term. I believe the XOC bios is more for competitive overclocking / Liquid nitrogen / etc.
hmm cant confirm with ASUS XOC on my card. With my tesresults it was just using slightlty more power then other 330-380w bios versions! Definitly not double or something. The Kingpin XOC was drawing double for sure
And the ASUS XOC is not that special. Their is no powerlimit but most of us will be voltage limited. And the ASUS has just the regular 1.093v limit.

For competitive OC and Liquid Nitrogen i would definitly use a bios with higher voltage limit! Kingpin or HOF XOC!


Quote: Originally Posted by max883 View Post
What about your warenty? Removing the sticker from the screw
Im in Europe so we are not covered! But its just a silly sticker. Use a hairdryer and gently remove the sticker with a Utility knife and stick it somewhere save. If you need to RMA, just place the silly sticker back

majestynl is offline  
post #8898 of 8966 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 11:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
Rep: 0
Thanks for all yours answers ;-)
ducky083 is offline  
post #8899 of 8966 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 01:08 PM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,161
Rep: 79 (Unique: 60)
Quote: Originally Posted by majestynl View Post
hmm cant confirm with ASUS XOC on my card. With my tesresults it was just using slightlty more power then other 330-380w bios versions! Definitly not double or something. The Kingpin XOC was drawing double for sure And the ASUS XOC is not that special. Their is no powerlimit but most of us will be voltage limited. And the ASUS has just the regular 1.093v limit.
I didn't know there was more than one XOC bios for these cards.. my mistake.
kithylin is offline  
post #8900 of 8966 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 02:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
Rep: 0
Hi,



It is possible to bypass the 1.093v limit on reference pcb board ? is there any voltage mod to do like soldering a variable resistor ?


Or to bypass frequency throttling with the gpu temperature ?


Still not possibility to modify original bios like maxwell bios tweaker ? ( to remove throttling, power limit...)


Thanks !
ducky083 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off