2080 Ti - Working Shunt Mod - Page 11 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

2080 Ti - Working Shunt Mod

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #101 of 117 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 08:07 AM
Packet Pusher
 
Renegade5399's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North Rose, NY
Posts: 2,286
Rep: 229 (Unique: 145)
Quote: Originally Posted by Kalm_Traveler View Post
Won't boost as high and might damage the pcie slot on the motherboard.
That one is for the 75W PCIe slot limit like Kalm said. You risk damaging your motherboard. I would remove that ASAP and put it in the proper location.

My Sauce Is Much 13373|2 Than Yours

What's in your hardware wallet?

[Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti Owner's Club]
Project Blackout
(24 items)
CPU
i9 7900X Delidded
Motherboard
ASUS TUF X299 Mark 1
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC BLACK EDITION GAMING
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC BLACK EDITION GAMING
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z Royal Series 16GB - Samsung B-die DDR4 4000
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB - Samsung B-die DDR4 4000
Hard Drive
4x 1TB Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
2x 480GB Kingston HyperX Savage SSD
Hard Drive
2x ADATA Ultimate SU800 1TB 3D NAND
Hard Drive
Intel 660p Series M.2 2280 1TB PCI-Express 3.0 x4
Hard Drive
INTEL® RAID ADAPTER RSP3DD080F
Hard Drive
2x 2TB Western Digital Green
Power Supply
CORSAIR HX Series HX1000
Cooling
Custom Water Cooling Setup
Cooling
Bitspower MonoBlock ASX299TUF RGB-Nickel
Case
Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered Glass Edition Black
Operating System
Winders 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Pixio PX276h 27"
Monitor
Acer GN276HL 27"
Monitor
HP EliteDisplay E222 22"
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB PLATINUM - Cherry MX Speed - Gunmetal
Mouse
HP Omen Reactor
Mousepad
Corsair Gaming MM800 RGB Polaris
Audio
Sades SA926 Gaming Headset
▲ hide details ▲


Renegade5399 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #102 of 117 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 10:43 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,853
Rep: 293 (Unique: 214)
Quote: Originally Posted by dante`afk View Post
welll< I don't have a multimeter, can this not be answered without?

FE card
Not without knowing what card you are actually asking about.
You can look at the PCB closely and try trace it with your eyes, it's best to verify with any continuity meter anyway as to which resistor leads to which connector.
JackCY is offline  
post #103 of 117 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 03:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
LCRava's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 181
Rep: 10 (Unique: 7)
Thank you Renegade and Asmodian for the input.

Since the card has a BIOS switch I thing I’ll flash the XOC Bios on the “Performance” BIOS and test stable 24 OC before and after the Shunt Mod with both BIOSes.

Last question, why did you pick that BIOS over the HOF and where can I get the version you guys are referring to?

It will be a while, but if you guys are interested I’ll post the Shunt Mod and the results here.

Thx again for helping out.

"I don't always GAME in 4K, but when I do, I prefer 4 TITANS" cheers.gif
LCRava is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #104 of 117 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 09:42 AM
Packet Pusher
 
Renegade5399's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: North Rose, NY
Posts: 2,286
Rep: 229 (Unique: 145)
I have gone back to the stock EVGA BIOS with the shunt mod. The XOC BIOS is nice and all, but it cripples NVLink SLi and I can't get the RAM nearly as high as I can on stock BIOS.

With the shunt mod and stock BIOS with the waterblocks installed, I have finally began testing. I am not sorry I did the shunt mod. 2070-2100 in games and benches with .975V. Superposition 4K runs 2100 all the way to the last 10 seconds at 2100, then it drops to 2070 as the temp creeps over 52°C. These Barrow blocks are decent. I have been fighting with the mount on this card to get it just right. The other card mounted perfectly to its block, but this one has been a hassle. I know I can get the temps a bit lower, just have to take it apart again.

Now a word of warning now that I have actually tried:

A 1000W power supply may not be enough to run 2 of these cards with the shunt mod. Just to test I enabled SLi and ran Furmark. It ran literally 1 second and the PC shut off. PSU tripped for over current/power. Installed a Dell 1200W server supply with breakout board I had left over from mining and put the cards on that. No issues after that, Furmark ran fine, LOL. So under heavy load (gaming, AI/DL, password cracking) these cards have the potential to pull over 500W each.

In games these cards are just the cats' ass.

My Sauce Is Much 13373|2 Than Yours

What's in your hardware wallet?

[Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti Owner's Club]
Project Blackout
(24 items)
CPU
i9 7900X Delidded
Motherboard
ASUS TUF X299 Mark 1
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC BLACK EDITION GAMING
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC BLACK EDITION GAMING
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z Royal Series 16GB - Samsung B-die DDR4 4000
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB - Samsung B-die DDR4 4000
Hard Drive
4x 1TB Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
2x 480GB Kingston HyperX Savage SSD
Hard Drive
2x ADATA Ultimate SU800 1TB 3D NAND
Hard Drive
Intel 660p Series M.2 2280 1TB PCI-Express 3.0 x4
Hard Drive
INTEL® RAID ADAPTER RSP3DD080F
Hard Drive
2x 2TB Western Digital Green
Power Supply
CORSAIR HX Series HX1000
Cooling
Custom Water Cooling Setup
Cooling
Bitspower MonoBlock ASX299TUF RGB-Nickel
Case
Thermaltake Core X71 Tempered Glass Edition Black
Operating System
Winders 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Pixio PX276h 27"
Monitor
Acer GN276HL 27"
Monitor
HP EliteDisplay E222 22"
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB PLATINUM - Cherry MX Speed - Gunmetal
Mouse
HP Omen Reactor
Mousepad
Corsair Gaming MM800 RGB Polaris
Audio
Sades SA926 Gaming Headset
▲ hide details ▲


Renegade5399 is offline  
post #105 of 117 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 08:42 PM
Umm, How Bout Noooooo.
 
Cyber Locc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: White Moutians, Arizona
Posts: 3,616
Rep: 113 (Unique: 78)
Quote: Originally Posted by Renegade5399 View Post
UPDATE ON THIS BIOS: It SEVERELY cuts the NVlink bandwidth. Opinion is it makes multi card setups pointless as the link is crippled. Still great for single GPU setups though, if your card works with it.

I will be sticking with the stock, upgraded (from evga) BIOS for these cards as none of the others lets me get even close to the memory speeds I get with OEM. I also will be applying the shunt mod to raise my available power limit. Lastly, waterblocks will be installed (already have them, just no time with 4, soon to be 5, kids).



I used clear nail polish my wife had lying about as I couldn't find my can of liquid electrical tape. This is a good idea though.
Wait what you mean stock upgrade? The 363 bios? or is there another? EVGA needs to step it up and give us more POWA! like Galax!

But shoot that said, after reading results here, I am pretty happy, with a stable 2160/2175c (depends on house temps, 1-2c water temp will drop it to 2160) / 8000mem, with the stock bios and no modding. Now I def dont want to risk the card lol.

My siggy so empty frown.gif
Favorite OCN Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakusonfire go_quote.gif

You are just talking more and more nonsense now. It's time to take this back to whatever noob forum it came from.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Last edited by Cyber Locc; 03-21-2019 at 08:57 PM.
Cyber Locc is offline  
post #106 of 117 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 09:32 PM - Thread Starter
Robotic Chemist
 
Asmodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,390
Rep: 177 (Unique: 117)
Quote: Originally Posted by Cyber Locc View Post
But shoot that said, after reading results here, I am pretty happy, with a stable 2160/2175c (depends on house temps, 1-2c water temp will drop it to 2160) / 8000mem, with the stock bios and no modding. Now I def dont want to risk the card lol.
What is the stock power limit on your card?! I don't see how you could maintain 2160+ MHz with the stock power limit and a reasonably heavy load, unless it is a very high power card like the Galax. For example, I hit around 400W at just 2100 MHz in 8K Superposition.

That is a nice card though, don't break it.
Asmodian is offline  
post #107 of 117 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 05:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kaltenbrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,149
Rep: 15 (Unique: 15)
Quote: Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I will never try to RMA my cards after doing this mod.
I'm afraid to take the cooler off mine, just too look at the PCB. If I was richer than I'd try mod's like this, and BIOS mods too.

Kaltenbrunner is offline  
post #108 of 117 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 03:14 PM
Umm, How Bout Noooooo.
 
Cyber Locc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: White Moutians, Arizona
Posts: 3,616
Rep: 113 (Unique: 78)
Quote: Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
What is the stock power limit on your card?! I don't see how you could maintain 2160+ MHz with the stock power limit and a reasonably heavy load, unless it is a very high power card like the Galax. For example, I hit around 400W at just 2100 MHz in 8K Superposition.

That is a nice card though, don't break it.
I believe the stock limit is 338.

I need more power lol! It jumps around, in 3dmark, averages 2160, but drops sometimes as low as 2125, and goes up to 2190. I cant get it to stay at 2190, heaven will stay at it, at 2190 consistently, (as long as I keep temps under 40c), but Timespy Extreme looks like the stock market lol.

Its weird too, because I noticed after trying to lock the voltage today, it wont work. In 3dmark when it drops, it lowers the voltage first, then the clocks. I lock clock and voltage and in heaven it stays for the most part, however in 3dmark it refuses to stay put. I think my CPU might be Bottleneck it or something idk.

So this is from Heaven, and Timespy is just all over the place, dont have one of those, I will on next run want to test some other stuff . (highest was 2190 not 2205, and it stayed at 2190 most of the time) Heaven was maxed, and at 4k to get to peg GPU like that.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2019-03-22 15_37_29-Settings.png
Views:	4
Size:	107.4 KB
ID:	260844  


My siggy so empty frown.gif
Favorite OCN Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakusonfire go_quote.gif

You are just talking more and more nonsense now. It's time to take this back to whatever noob forum it came from.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Last edited by Cyber Locc; 03-22-2019 at 03:41 PM.
Cyber Locc is offline  
post #109 of 117 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 04:33 PM - Thread Starter
Robotic Chemist
 
Asmodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,390
Rep: 177 (Unique: 117)
I see, even Timespy Extreme isn't too high power so that makes sense.

I think the odd voltage drops might simply be lower voltage+clock+temperature bins that at that particular temperature happen to stay the same clock.
Asmodian is offline  
post #110 of 117 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 08:35 PM
Umm, How Bout Noooooo.
 
Cyber Locc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: White Moutians, Arizona
Posts: 3,616
Rep: 113 (Unique: 78)
Quote: Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I see, even Timespy Extreme isn't too high power so that makes sense.

I think the odd voltage drops might simply be lower voltage+clock+temperature bins that at that particular temperature happen to stay the same clock.
Ya my wife likes it hot in the house, so I can only bench at reasonable temps at night, till couple months. If its cold outside she wants it 80, if its hot she wants it 60, Women man. Also this is on my bench, so way rad limited. I need more rad, and more Wattage .

What aggravates me, is the curve wont stick. So I can do 2200 at 1.093, when it sticks, and I can do 1185 at 1.081 I think it is, it doesnt matter, because the curve will only let me set custom clock for 1.

So when the voltage drops, it drops way more clocks then it needs. I guess I need to try setting a low clock only, and see what it does for the upper clocks. The card just doesn't want to let me manage it, and I cant stand that.

My siggy so empty frown.gif
Favorite OCN Quotes (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakusonfire go_quote.gif

You are just talking more and more nonsense now. It's time to take this back to whatever noob forum it came from.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Cyber Locc is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off