2080 Ti - Working Shunt Mod - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

2080 Ti - Working Shunt Mod

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 140 (permalink) Old 01-12-2019, 03:07 PM
 
 
MrTOOSHORT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location:  Edmonton
Posts: 12,688
Rep: 1508 (Unique: 1047)
Quote: Originally Posted by Lashmush View Post
Oh yeah, can I use nailpolish as a safetyprecaution for the stuff around the resistor in the first picture? It seems to have quite a few other bits of solder that probably shouldn't be touched around it and I don't want any to leak onto them, you know?
Yes you can use nail polish. About the voltage, max is 1.093v via OC scanner/Curve in MSI AB or other software. Card needs to be cool to make use of the extra voltage.

9980XE  •  APEX VI  •  3600CL15  •  KPE 2080TI HC  •  34GK950F-B  •  905P AIC  •  1600T2  •  800D


MrTOOSHORT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 140 (permalink) Old 01-12-2019, 03:18 PM
Observer
 
iamjanco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 2,054
Rep: 97 (Unique: 57)
@Asmodian

You might want to cover up the labels/serial numbers of the pcbs you've been modding. Just a suggestion should you ever need to rma those cards.

Not that I think anyone in NVIDIA support is following this thread, mind you


iamjanco is offline  
post #23 of 140 (permalink) Old 01-12-2019, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter
Asmodian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 140 (permalink) Old 01-12-2019, 10:53 PM
no regurts
 
Kalm_Traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 331
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
I have no 2080Ti to compare, but on my Titan RTX cards I just removed the 5MO resistors and replaced them with 3MO.

No fancy aftermarket higher TDP BIOS for me, but with 112% power limit in Afterburner both cards are pulling nearly 430w each, and I'm only heat limited as far as I can tell (still in top 10 HoF for the new Port Royal ray tracing benchmark).

HEDT Overkill
(14 items)
Razer Blade 2017
(4 items)
CPU
Core i9 7960x
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Extreme
GPU
Titan RTX
GPU
Titan RTX
RAM
G.Skill Trident-Z RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Power Supply
Corsair AX1600i
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus PG348Q
Keyboard
Razer Huntsman Elite
Mouse
Razer Mamba Elite
Audio
Creative Labs SoundBlaster Z
CPU
core i7 9900k
Motherboard
Asus Maximus XI Code
GPU
Titan V
RAM
G.Skill Trident-Z RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Power Supply
Corsair HX1000i
Case
Fractal Design Define R6 blackout tempered glass edition
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Keyboard
Corsair K70 LUX RGB with Cherry MX blue switches
Mouse
Corsair Glaive
CPU
core i7 7700HQ
GPU
Geforce GTX 1060
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
Kalm_Traveler is offline  
post #25 of 140 (permalink) Old 01-13-2019, 12:42 AM - Thread Starter
Robotic Chemist
 
Asmodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,595
Rep: 192 (Unique: 129)
Quote: Originally Posted by Kalm_Traveler View Post
I have no 2080Ti to compare, but on my Titan RTX cards I just removed the 5MO resistors and replaced them with 3MO.
Very nice.

The result of my mod is very similar, adding the 8MO on top of the 5MO is equivalent to replacing it with a 3.077 mOhm resistor but I didn't need to de-solder the original. The difference with Turing is that it goes into emergency mode if you use a 2.5 mOhm resistor while Pascal was fine with it.
Asmodian is offline  
post #26 of 140 (permalink) Old 01-13-2019, 09:38 AM
no regurts
 
Kalm_Traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 331
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Very nice.

The result of my mod is very similar, adding the 8MO on top of the 5MO is equivalent to replacing it with a 3.077 mOhm resistor but I didn't need to de-solder the original. The difference with Turing is that it goes into emergency mode if you use a 2.5 mOhm resistor while Pascal was fine with it.
Yeah I had been following the 2080Ti threads prior to purchasing resistors for my cards - on my Titan Xp's you're right, stacking 5MO on top of the existing 5MO (for an effective 2.5MO) worked like a charm. Those things are beasts with unlocked power input and good water cooling, but just can't compete with the new kids in town.

Having never seen emergency mode - does the display shut off if that happens? I'd assumed that since I'm able to pass all sorts of crazy benchmarks with a heat-limited OC and ~ 430w pull (stock max limit with 112% power is 313.6w - cards never reached that high as far as they know) that the 3MO resistance is fine.

HEDT Overkill
(14 items)
Razer Blade 2017
(4 items)
CPU
Core i9 7960x
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Extreme
GPU
Titan RTX
GPU
Titan RTX
RAM
G.Skill Trident-Z RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Power Supply
Corsair AX1600i
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus PG348Q
Keyboard
Razer Huntsman Elite
Mouse
Razer Mamba Elite
Audio
Creative Labs SoundBlaster Z
CPU
core i7 9900k
Motherboard
Asus Maximus XI Code
GPU
Titan V
RAM
G.Skill Trident-Z RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Power Supply
Corsair HX1000i
Case
Fractal Design Define R6 blackout tempered glass edition
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Keyboard
Corsair K70 LUX RGB with Cherry MX blue switches
Mouse
Corsair Glaive
CPU
core i7 7700HQ
GPU
Geforce GTX 1060
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
Kalm_Traveler is offline  
post #27 of 140 (permalink) Old 01-13-2019, 03:45 PM - Thread Starter
Robotic Chemist
 
Asmodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,595
Rep: 192 (Unique: 129)
Quote: Originally Posted by Kalm_Traveler View Post
Having never seen emergency mode - does the display shut off if that happens? I'd assumed that since I'm able to pass all sorts of crazy benchmarks with a heat-limited OC and ~ 430w pull (stock max limit with 112% power is 313.6w - cards never reached that high as far as they know) that the 3MO resistance is fine.
No, it simply locks to 300 MHz with the power limit instead of the load limit in apps like HWInfo. When I was using a 5MO resistor on top, instead of the 8MO, it would go in and out of safety. For example, in the Space Center in Kerbal Space Program it would go into lock mode and I would get 14 fps or something, but while actually flying rockets it would unlock and I would get great performance. Timespy ran fine but Firestrike was locked to 300 MHz. Idle in windows would bounce locked and unlocked, watching the power limit trigger on and off when idling at 300 MHz is an odd thing.

I think half the power used (2.5 mOhm), compared to expected, is very close to or at the limit. I wish I had started with 7MO on top (2.917 mOhm) instead of 8MO (3.077 mOhm). I bought a large selection of these resistors but I expected to need to go to an even higher value (I have up to 20MO) so I stupidly used the 8MO instead of the 7MO to save time... I am totally content with a max of ~520W instead of ~548W but it would have been nice to know and I did order them.
Asmodian is offline  
post #28 of 140 (permalink) Old 01-14-2019, 05:51 AM
ASUs fan
 
Rob w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Cheltenham, uk.
Posts: 191
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
@Asmodian are you saying 7mo resistors would be better for the shunt than 8mo.
I tried 5mo,s last time and card failed, I don’t know if the shunts caused it or natural nv failure.
Rob w is offline  
post #29 of 140 (permalink) Old 01-15-2019, 12:18 AM - Thread Starter
Robotic Chemist
 
Asmodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,595
Rep: 192 (Unique: 129)
Quote: Originally Posted by Rob w View Post
@Asmodian are you saying 7mo resistors would be better for the shunt than 8mo.
I tried 5mo,s last time and card failed, I don’t know if the shunts caused it or natural nv failure.
I am saying I believe they would work, and they would allow more power, but I did not test them to be sure they do not cause the same failure as 5MOs.
Asmodian is offline  
post #30 of 140 (permalink) Old 01-19-2019, 10:25 AM
Overclocked / Overvolted
 
MrFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Classified
Posts: 219
Rep: 11 (Unique: 9)
Thanks for the info and photos in the opening post. Great job, bro.

I had done this mod to my 1080 Ti and it worked great, and now I am planning to do the same with my 2080 Ti. I was able to run the 1080 Ti at 2240 on core with 1.200V and no dynamic clocking nonsense, so I am hoping to be able to do the same or better with the 2080 Ti. Without the mod, my max core clock is 2205 with frequent dropping to 2175 in spite of the fact that I keep it below 30°C when benching it.

Question: Why no shunt mod on RS16? I am wondering if not doing that is what is triggering your low clocks with the 5 ohm resistors and possibly limiting your max core overclock. I did the shunt mod in all three power circuits on the 1080 Ti.

Punisher // EVGA X299 Dark | 7960X @ 5.2GHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Hydro Copper | Corsair 32GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 @ 4200 CL16 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1600 P2 | Hailea HC-500A (1/2HP~790W) Water Chiller | Dual XSPC 360 Radiators | Dual XSPC Photon 270 | Praxis WetBench

Last edited by MrFox; 01-19-2019 at 04:59 PM.
MrFox is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off