Upgrade from 980 ti to gtx 1080? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Upgrade from 980 ti to gtx 1080?

Old 01-29-2019, 11:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
doom3crazy Level 1

Upgrade from 980 ti to gtx 1080?

So I’ve been using a MSi gaming x 980 ti for several years now. I am thinking about upgrading to a gtx 1080(not ti) as they’re pretty cheap right now(around 350$). I have been lucky enough with my MSi card to get a great overclocker. I am stable at 1516 on the core and 4180 on the memory. I currently game @ 1440p. The 980 ti handles it okay but I would eventually like do ultra wide 3440x1440. It also struggles a bit doing heavy intensive games like the witcher 3.

From what I understand the gtx 1080 weren’t great overclockers. The couple I have been looking at have been the EVGA ftw card, the MSi gaming x card, and then the gigabyte aorus extreme that has 11gbps on the memory instead of 10 and seems like it comes damn close to a 1080 ti.

My question is, with 1080 ti still going for around 550-600$, is going to a 1080 worth it for the price/performance ratio over what I get currently on my 980 ti? I did read somewhere that a heavily overclocked 980 ti(I have custom bios) with 1500mhz + on the core does sit around the same stock performance of a 1080. With the added two extra gb of vram I would gain, would overclocking the 1080 push me to enough performance over my 980 ti to warrant a purchase ?

Thanks in advance. You guys are the best.

Last edited by doom3crazy; 01-30-2019 at 12:09 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-29-2019, 11:20 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
The Pook has a spectacular aura about The Pook has a spectacular aura about The Pook has a spectacular aura about The Pook has a spectacular aura about The Pook has a spectacular aura about The Pook has a spectacular aura about The Pook has a spectacular aura about The Pook has a spectacular aura about