How do I use the GPU on the CPU instead of the video card ? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How do I use the GPU on the CPU instead of the video card ?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Subzero11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 969
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
How do I use the GPU on the CPU instead of the video card ?

So I might in between GPU's for a couple of months but I obliviously need to be able to use my PC in the mean time. My motherboard is a z390 Asus strix/9600k with a Display port in the back of it.

So do I install a Intel GPU driver first then take the GPU out. Then I plug the Display port cable to motherboard then power on the PC ? Do I have to go into bios though and do what there ? Also when I do get a new GPU how do I go back using just that ? Thanks

Subzero11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 01:57 PM
Software 'Engineer'
 
jakethesnake438's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Noo Zolond
Posts: 866
Rep: 53 (Unique: 48)
It's pretty much plug and play,
Whip out your GPU, plug the DP cable into the motherboard.

Don't forget to plug back in to your new GPU when you install it.

Windows will sort out the Intel drivers for you

Is this still broken?
Xeon machine
(13 items)
CPU
Xeon E5-2667V2
Motherboard
HP Z620 2012
GPU
Sapphire RX 580 4GB
RAM
32GB 1333MHZ
Hard Drive
2x 256GB SATA SSD
Operating System
Windows 10
Operating System
MacOS Mojave
Monitor
Dell P2418D 1440p
Monitor
Dell U2414H 1080p
Keyboard
Apple Kbd
Mouse
Steelseries QCK
Mouse
Logitech G602
Audio
Senheiser HD449
▲ hide details ▲
jakethesnake438 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 02:21 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Subzero11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 969
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
So no need to into the bios then ? Thanks

Subzero11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 02:46 PM
Programmer
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 28,247
Rep: 1554 (Unique: 1016)
Plug display into MB, boot PC, install GPU driver.

Intel Core i9 9900K HT 5GHz
GIGABYTE Z390 Ultra
AMD ASUS STRIX OC VEGA 64
G-Skill Trident 2x8GB DDR4 4000MHz
Samsung EVO NVM.e 250GB
SeaSonic 1250W Gold
Corsair 900D + Custom Loop.


BradleyW is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 07:08 PM
Memory Overclocker
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 405
Rep: 12 (Unique: 6)
If your BIOS is in its pure default configuration, it will probably just auto-detect which GPU has a monitor plugged into it and just use that GPU. But, many boards have a BIOS setting that lets you configure which GPU should be used. If you modified that setting, then you may need to set it back to something that will use the iGPU.

In looking at the manual for the ROG Strix Z390-E (you don't say which Strix model you have), there's a specific option in the Advanced Tab for Graphics Configuration where the options allow you to set the Primary Display to "Auto", "CPU Graphics" or "PCIE Graphics". Either of the first two should enable the iGPU.

That same screen is where you would configure the iGPU to be used as part of a multi-monitor setup so both the iGPU and the PCIE graphics were enabled (not what you're trying to do).

[email protected] (-1 AVX offset) on ASRock Z390 Taichi with Noctua NH-D15 air cooler
CPU offset voltage of -25mv, runs VRVout 1.240-1.313V on full AVX load, 1.225-1.275V on non-AVX load
2x8GB [email protected] at 1.45V, G.Skill F4-3733C17Q-32GTZKK (XMP rated [email protected])
EVGA GTX 1060 6GB OC with Corsair RMx 750W power supply
Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVMe boot SSD and four other drives all in a Fractal Design R6 Case

Last edited by jfriend00; 02-21-2019 at 07:17 PM.
jfriend00 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-22-2019, 06:10 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,720
Rep: 285 (Unique: 210)
Select it in UEFI. If you want to you can unplug your dGPU and install iGPU driver.
JackCY is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-22-2019, 06:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
flash2021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston,TX
Posts: 776
Rep: 41 (Unique: 36)
yea as long as your BIOS doesn't have onboard graphics disabled you should be good. maybe clear CMOS if you don't overclock anyway if it doesn't work right away. you could uninstall the graphics driver before you shutdown just to do it, else do it after you reboot with the card removed
flash2021 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off