Increasing voltage causes glitchy graphics? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Increasing voltage causes glitchy graphics?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 08:35 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
zAdrenaline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
Rep: 0
Increasing voltage causes glitchy graphics?

It's been a while, just got my hands on Metro Exodus and it's not that well optimized.

I'm overclocking a 750 Ti (Palit Stormx Dual version), using Valley for benchmark and Afterburner.

As usual started with core clock and brought it to crash point, this time however (never oc'ed this card) increasing voltage won't stabilize it at all, graphics are glitching even at +1.

Right now I left core clock at a stable value without volatge and messed with memory clock, got a decent boost but I wonder if I'm doing something wrong?
zAdrenaline is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 09:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,330
Rep: 134 (Unique: 101)
I had problems running games with a 750TI 3-4 years ago, they were pretty slow for that time too.
Card might be voltage locked. Are you actually getting more voltage when you change the slider?
Maxwell benefited most (in my experience) from a custom BIOS, I couldn't get much out of my 980 FTW or my 750TI with software. Usually I have better luck using NVinspector than AB.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 10:02 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,846
Rep: 293 (Unique: 214)
Metro will be an exodus for 750Ti. Voltage control on NV cards is laughable = nonexistent on Maxwell+. You will need something much better to play Metro Exodus even at 1080p low. It will run but I've done this decade ago on laptop, running low resolutions low details for modern games and you're better off getting new hardware if you do enjoy these games.
JackCY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-21-2019, 10:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,330
Rep: 134 (Unique: 101)
Quote: Originally Posted by JackCY View Post
Metro will be an exodus for 750Ti. Voltage control on NV cards is laughable = nonexistent on Maxwell+. You will need something much better to play Metro Exodus even at 1080p low. It will run but I've done this decade ago on laptop, running low resolutions low details for modern games and you're better off getting new hardware if you do enjoy these games.
Pretty much. It's not a problem with Metro it's just that AAA titles have moved pretty far past a 750TI.
I had to make several compromises to get Crysis 3 to run at 30fps without too many dips. Borderlands 2 ran really well though.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-22-2019, 12:46 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
zAdrenaline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 24
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by JackCY View Post
Metro will be an exodus for 750Ti. Voltage control on NV cards is laughable = nonexistent on Maxwell+. You will need something much better to play Metro Exodus even at 1080p low. It will run but I've done this decade ago on laptop, running low resolutions low details for modern games and you're better off getting new hardware if you do enjoy these games.
Well I'm playing it right now, in most spaces I get solid 40-60 fps, a bit less in open areas where whole map can be seen (1080p high quality settings, "shading rate" at 0.8 which is resolution scaling I guess, no vsync, game looks fantastic just the same) but in some areas fps just dives below 30 and really sucks. Using low resolution would just ruing it for me.

I'd invest in better hardware but need my budget on other things so I'll have to make due for now. Maybe they'll release a patch or something optimizing the game or more graphics settings available.

As for voltage I think I won't mess with it anymore, doesn't seem to like it.
zAdrenaline is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-22-2019, 02:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,330
Rep: 134 (Unique: 101)
Not trying to be an ass but you could double your GPU power for around $100 give or take. There doesn't seem to be an issue with the game but there are always one or two settings that make no visible difference (especially upscaling to 1080p) between the highest setting and the next down. Find those.
Textures are the thing I usually leave on the highest setting as there is little performance difference as long as you have plenty of fast ram.
The highest quality shadows and reflections are usually the ones that kill frame rate with little visible impact. Distance scaling can reduce pop-in but is harder to run on the CPU and GPU. Reducing AA could help if you're using MSAAx 4+.
As always use DDU in safe mode to clean install your driver and use the newest driver when playing games that just launched.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-22-2019, 06:09 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,846
Rep: 293 (Unique: 214)
The "shader" scaling simply is a lower resolution of rendering the game, it's almost equal to running lower resolution altogether but modern games heavy on shaders can adjust their shading "texture size" to try lower the shader load. Some games work well at lowest settings on low end hardware, many don't.
JackCY is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off