Bottleneck or faulty card/software? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Bottleneck or faulty card/software?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 10:45 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blodflekk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 978
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Bottleneck or faulty card/software?

I have a 2080Ti and things are not what I expected.

I think I need to track back to before I got the card. So I previously had a gtx1080, overclocked the snot out of it and was happy for a couple of years but then as always I was itching for more frames so I came at it again to overclock it further. Ended up doing a shunt mod on it and 2 weeks later it was dead. Not completely dead but lots of flickering and black screens and hangs. Dropped in my old gtx680 classified and problem solved, I haven't teared down the 1080 yet to see exactly what happened, I wanted to get back into gaming again so I needed a new card.

Looking at all the insane prices of the 20 series card, I decided if I'm going to be over paying for a new card then I may aswell go all out and find the best card I could. I landed on the evga ftw3 ultra. This is where all the problems started. Firstly precision x1 is only supported by windows 8 & 10. I have been using windows 7 and very content with it, the idea of upgrading os was utterly repulsive. So I tried using the only other software I was aware of that supported the RTX cards, which was afterburner. I've had problems with afterburner in the past and this time was no different, clocks weren't applying and I didn't have access to all 3 of my fans on it.

I decided I didn't pay all this money for this card to run it at stock so I decided to move to win10 and grabbed x1, worked like a charm. However the issues I have been having are low frame rates, only marginally above my 1080, a LOT of stutters and after about 5 minutes in game I am getting complete system crashes.

I have a 6850k at 4.3 (recently pushed 2 core to 4.4) 32GB DDR4 @3200 with tightened timings, all this has held up to all my stress testing, however I ran defaults to see if it improved my situation and it hasn't. So my question is, is it my cpu just holding back my gpu or is there something else possibly causing this? While I know 4.4/4.3 isn't much, I didn't think it was weak enough to really slow everything down to a crawl and cause crashes.

And War, War Never Changes
Rampage
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 6850K
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
eVGA RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Corsair HX850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
eVGA DG-87
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
HP 2511x
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Alumic
Audio
Hyper X Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
blodflekk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 10:58 PM
Manual breath enabled
 
Streetdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: In my celler
Posts: 966
Rep: 21 (Unique: 17)
First: After apply a overclock with MSIA close it! Its nothing new, that afterburner can cause crashes/freezes when its in the background. At least for me.

When you play a game, are there threads pinned to 100% usage? If not, its fine and not bottlenecking.

Try a DDU fresh Driver install.


Dont think that that could be a problem: what is your PSU? the 2080TI use way more power than a 1080(nonTI)

Streetdragon is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 11:37 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blodflekk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 978
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
I've done multiple fresh installs with DDU in both win7 and win10. I haven't run hwinfo64 while attempting to game. I'll make that my next step.

PSU is an old corsair hx850

And War, War Never Changes
Rampage
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 6850K
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
eVGA RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Corsair HX850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
eVGA DG-87
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
HP 2511x
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Alumic
Audio
Hyper X Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
blodflekk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 12:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,174
Rep: 126 (Unique: 96)
Crashes or shut downs? A good PSU (from 2012) mgiht be the issue but it doesn't exactly sound like that.
Slow hardware won't cause random crashes and your CPU is still very good.
Does this happen with the GPU at stock speeds? Does the 680 have the same problem?



Unrelated:
All the things you probably hate about 10 (forced updates, constant personal data acquisition, reinstalled bloat and more) can be fixed with O&O Shutup10. It's stand alone, all it does is give you easy control of the registry.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 12:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blodflekk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 978
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
I ran hwinfo64 and hopped into bf1 and only 2 cores hit 100%. I ran the osd for precision x1 aswell to make sure the card was boosting to the right frequency and yes it was.

As for the issues with win10 mentioned, I have win10 enterprise LTSC and I use O&O shutup10 along with other tools. I also blocked things through group policy editor.

These issues have only been present with the 2080Ti, at stock frequency and stock bios in both win10 and win7.

And War, War Never Changes
Rampage
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 6850K
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
eVGA RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Corsair HX850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
eVGA DG-87
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
HP 2511x
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Alumic
Audio
Hyper X Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
blodflekk is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 12:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,174
Rep: 126 (Unique: 96)
Quote: Originally Posted by blodflekk View Post
I ran hwinfo64 and hopped into bf1 and only 2 cores hit 100%. I ran the osd for precision x1 aswell to make sure the card was boosting to the right frequency and yes it was.

As for the issues with win10 mentioned, I have win10 enterprise LTSC and I use O&O shutup10 along with other tools. I also blocked things through group policy editor.

These issues have only been present with the 2080Ti, at stock frequency and stock bios in both win10 and win7.
I see now. Yeah running on 2 cores would definitely be a problem.
I don't see how this could be anything but hardware if it's following you through a clean install.
But I don't think the GPU would be hurting the CPU clocks but if it doesn't happen with the other GPU I'm at a loss as to which to blame.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 12:46 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blodflekk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 978
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by white owl View Post
I see now. Yeah running on 2 cores would definitely be a problem.
I don't see how this could be anything but hardware if it's following you through a clean install.
But I don't think the GPU would be hurting the CPU clocks but if it doesn't happen with the other GPU I'm at a loss as to which to blame.
I didnt monitor CPU usage with the other cards. But could this be just turbo boost 3 only loading the 2 cores I have clocked higher than the rest ?

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

And War, War Never Changes
Rampage
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 6850K
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
eVGA RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Corsair HX850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
eVGA DG-87
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
HP 2511x
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Alumic
Audio
Hyper X Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
blodflekk is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 01:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,174
Rep: 126 (Unique: 96)
Why would it do that when it could use all of them and get better results? If you have a modern GPU trying to play anything built on Frostbite your cores are going to be used. In this case 100% should be on all cores, even if you had a 9900k you'll still see very high use on all cores.
You should pull up HWinfo with games in windowed mode (or use Riva) to monitor what your CPU is doing exactly while this is going on. I really can't imagine the GPU causing this unless there were some serious driver issue or something.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 07:01 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blodflekk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 978
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
CPU usage is very low. I really don't understand what is happening here. BF1 is the only demanding game I have installed right now. Even older games have issues like UT3 and cod mw3. This was the card run at stock settings, just increased power target and temp target.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	53344678_412393959496300_2512394270015488000_n.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	145.5 KB
ID:	256046  


And War, War Never Changes
Rampage
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 6850K
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
eVGA RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Corsair HX850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
eVGA DG-87
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
HP 2511x
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Alumic
Audio
Hyper X Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
blodflekk is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 07:15 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
blodflekk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 978
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
I thought maybe I could flash the vbios and see if that solve it, but my bios isn't listed on techpowerup so I wouldn't know if the ones listed for my card are older or newer.

And War, War Never Changes
Rampage
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 6850K
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
eVGA RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Corsair HX850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
eVGA DG-87
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
HP 2511x
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Alumic
Audio
Hyper X Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
blodflekk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off