How do u reach GPU PCIe- latch ? without breaking stuff - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How do u reach GPU PCIe- latch ? without breaking stuff

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 32 (permalink) Old 02-27-2019, 02:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
kd5151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tampa,FL
Posts: 3,176
Rep: 134 (Unique: 104)
Don't stab the motherboard. Been there. Done that.
kd5151 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 32 (permalink) Old 02-27-2019, 07:53 PM
professional curmudgeon
 
looniam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,681
Rep: 791 (Unique: 451)
Quote: Originally Posted by 8051 View Post
Try doing that w/a Noctua DH-15 or Phanteks PH-TP14Pe CPU cooler and a video card w/a backplate. I couldn't even SEE the PCIe latch w/those things installed.
had a D14 for years; it blocked the first pci-e x1 but theres plenty 'o room. where do you think i got the method from?

heres a pic of mine:

Click image for larger version

Name:	20140731_201639(1).jpg
Views:	13
Size:	1.78 MB
ID:	256326

ooops its sideways

Remember the golden rule of statistics: A personal sample size of one is a sufficient basis upon which to draw universal conclusions.
Upload the computer to Dropbox and provide a link to it so others may download it to examine and give advice for repairs.
loon 3.2
(18 items)
CPU
i7-3770K
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-V Pro
GPU
EVGA 980TI SC+
RAM
16Gb PNY ddr3 1866
Hard Drive
PNY 1311 240Gb
Hard Drive
1 TB Seagate
Hard Drive
3 TB WD Blue
Optical Drive
DVD DVDRW+/-
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Cooling
EKWB P280 kit
Cooling
EK-VGA supremacy
Case
Stryker M [hammered and drilled]
Operating System
Win X
Monitor
LG 24MC57HQ-P
Keyboard
Ducky Zero [blues]
Mouse
corsair M65
Audio
SB Recon3D
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by looniam; 02-27-2019 at 08:00 PM.
looniam is offline  
post #23 of 32 (permalink) Old 02-28-2019, 03:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
8051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,815
Rep: 22 (Unique: 16)
Quote: Originally Posted by looniam View Post
had a D14 for years; it blocked the first pci-e x1 but theres plenty 'o room. where do you think i got the method from?

heres a pic of mine:

Attachment 256326

ooops its sideways
"it blocked the first pci-e x1". Unfortunately on my Asrock Extreme 4 x99 there is no first pci-e x1 slot, the pci-e x16 slot IS the first one and there isn't even 10mm of clearance between the back of the video card backplate and the fin stack of the Phanteks phtc14pe.
8051 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 32 (permalink) Old 02-28-2019, 06:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
./Cy4n1d3\.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,653
Rep: 64 (Unique: 57)
Quote: Originally Posted by 8051 View Post
I know exactly what you're talking about and I broke the PCIe latch on the slot closest to my CPU, but I haven't had any problems without it for three years now.
I did the same thing to my ASRock Z77 Exteme motherboard. Not had any problems so far

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

HAFBeast
(25 items)
CPU
Intel Core i5-2500k
Motherboard
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU
Asus gtx 770
RAM
CORSAIR XMS 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
RAM
CORSAIR XMS 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda ST3000DM001
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda ST4000DM005
Optical Drive
HP DVD A DH16AAL
Power Supply
PC Power and Cooling Silencer Mk II 750W
Cooling
PHANTEKS PH-TC14PE_BL
Cooling
Cooler Master SickleFlow 120 mm Blue LED (rear)
Cooling
Cooler Master Megaflow 200 mm Blue LED (top)
Cooling
Cooler Master Megaflow 200 mm Blue LED (front)
Cooling
NZXT Sentry-2
Cooling
Corsair AF120 Blue LED
Case
Cooler Master HAF 912
Operating System
Windows 7 Home Premium
Monitor
ASUS VH232H
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Audio
Superlux HD668B
Other
HAF 912 Transparent Acrylic Side Window Panel
Other
ORICO Monster USB 3.0 PCI - Express Card
Other
TP-Link AC1900 T9E WiFi PCI-Express Wireless Network Card
▲ hide details ▲


./Cy4n1d3\. is offline  
post #25 of 32 (permalink) Old 02-28-2019, 07:52 PM
professional curmudgeon
 
looniam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,681
Rep: 791 (Unique: 451)
Quote: Originally Posted by 8051 View Post
"it blocked the first pci-e x1". Unfortunately on my Asrock Extreme 4 x99 there is no first pci-e x1 slot, the pci-e x16 slot IS the first one and there isn't even 10mm of clearance between the back of the video card backplate and the fin stack of the Phanteks phtc14pe.
yeah, it me me a second after my last to think not all slot lay outs are the same.

glad i found that pic and your reply so we can better understand each other.

Remember the golden rule of statistics: A personal sample size of one is a sufficient basis upon which to draw universal conclusions.
Upload the computer to Dropbox and provide a link to it so others may download it to examine and give advice for repairs.
loon 3.2
(18 items)
CPU
i7-3770K
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-V Pro
GPU
EVGA 980TI SC+
RAM
16Gb PNY ddr3 1866
Hard Drive
PNY 1311 240Gb
Hard Drive
1 TB Seagate
Hard Drive
3 TB WD Blue
Optical Drive
DVD DVDRW+/-
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Cooling
EKWB P280 kit
Cooling
EK-VGA supremacy
Case
Stryker M [hammered and drilled]
Operating System
Win X
Monitor
LG 24MC57HQ-P
Keyboard
Ducky Zero [blues]
Mouse
corsair M65
Audio
SB Recon3D
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
▲ hide details ▲


looniam is offline  
post #26 of 32 (permalink) Old 02-28-2019, 08:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
blodflekk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,024
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
I'm currently using the third pci-e slot because I have a noctua d15 and my card won't fit in the first slot, so its a little easier and I use my finger, but in the past when I've used the first slot, I have just taken the screw out and gently wiggled it and pulled it out. On my current board I have pulled the latch off but it doesn't seem to break, it can be clicked in and out quite easily, however on other boards in the past I have broken them but as long as they are secured with all the screws on the back panel, its never been an issue.

And War, War Never Changes
Rampage
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 6850K
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
eVGA RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Corsair HX850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
eVGA DG-87
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
HP 2511x
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Alumic
Audio
Hyper X Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
blodflekk is offline  
post #27 of 32 (permalink) Old 02-28-2019, 09:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
LunaTiC123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 197
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
yep, same here, built a new pc with an asus z370-a prime mobo then after a few months i bought 2 m.2 ssd's so i had to take out the gpu, I've tried everything to get the gpu out safely but the thing was stuck.. so the latch broke eventually but thankfully you don't need it anyway, still was able to put the gpu back in safely without any issues ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Just lurking around, don't mind me.
LunaTiC123 is offline  
post #28 of 32 (permalink) Old 03-01-2019, 02:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
8051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,815
Rep: 22 (Unique: 16)
Quote: Originally Posted by looniam View Post
yeah, it me me a second after my last to think not all slot lay outs are the same.

glad i found that pic and your reply so we can better understand each other.
When I upgrade I'm going to have to remember to get a motherboard like yours instead of mine. I sometimes wonder how much heat is being trapped between the back of the video card and the fin stack of the phtc14pe.
8051 is offline  
post #29 of 32 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 05:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cerealkeller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Emporium, PA
Posts: 88
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
What I’ve been doing lately is using the plastic handle end of a spatula lol
That way if I slip it’s not going to smash SMDs like a flat head screw driver would
And this is assuming you can’t reach it with your hand. If you can, use your finger

cerealkeller is offline  
post #30 of 32 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 06:39 PM
I Love this Hobby!
 
Gunderman456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7,188
Rep: 592 (Unique: 492)
Quote: Originally Posted by white owl View Post
I cut a hole in the motherboard above the PCIE latch so I can get my finger in there.
Come on guys, this was funny! Burst out laughing.

I can reach with my finger as the cards are effectively single slot as they are water cooled. Haven't needed to touch them in 5 years though.

-Guide to 1st Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...ing-guide
-Guide to 2nd Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...e-fan-mod
Bit'O'Heaven
(16 items)
Cigar ATX PC
(14 items)
CPU
Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VI Rog Gene
GPU
Gigabyte AMD R9 290 @ 1160GHz Core/1350GHz Mem
GPU
Gigabyte AMD R9 290 @ 1160GHz Core/1350GHz Mem
RAM
G.SKILL Trident X DDR3 16GB 2400MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 PRO 256GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
Optical Drive
Pioneer Black Blu-ray 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA G2 1300W 80PLUS Gold Fully Modular
Cooling
Open Water Loop
Case
Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Nixeus EDG 27" Freesync 1440p 144Hz
Monitor
Samsung 245BW 24" 1200p 60Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Microsoft Sidewinder X5
Mousepad
ALLSOP Redmond Mouse Pad
Audio
Cambridge Soundworks 5.1
CPU
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX mITX
GPU
Sapphire AMD HD 7990
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3 8GB 1600MHz
Hard Drive
Crucial SSD 128GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda HDD 1TB
Optical Drive
LG DVD R/W
Power Supply
Corsair Professional Series Gold AX850 Fully Modular
Cooling
Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H100
Case
BitFenix Prodigy Mini-ATX Black Case
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Samsung TV 52"
Keyboard
Logitech K330 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M215 Wireless
Mousepad
Corsair Vengeance MM200
Audio
Yamaha RX-V681 PSB/PolkAudio 5.1
CPU
AMD Athlon II X4 640
Motherboard
ASRock N68C-GS
GPU
NVIDIA 6600GT
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600MHz
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Blue 500GB 16MB Cache 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Optical Drive
Power Supply
Thermaltake TR2 600W
Cooling
Thermaltake Max Orb
Case
Cigar Boxes
Operating System
Windows 7
Monitor
Viewsonic 19” Flatscreen CRT
Keyboard
Gigabyte GK-K6800 103
Mouse
Zalman ZM-M300
Mouse
Corsair Vengeance MM200
▲ hide details ▲


Gunderman456 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off