Drivers for RTX and GTX in same PC - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Drivers for RTX and GTX in same PC

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter
Dark and Dropped SUV
 
MrBalll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West TX
Posts: 3,905
Rep: 141 (Unique: 119)
Drivers for RTX and GTX in same PC

I currently have two GTX 970's, not in SLI, and am running four monitors.
What I'd like to do is sale one of the GTX 970's and purchase an RTX 2080 and use it solely for my 1440p monitor for gaming. I would then use the one remaining GTX 970 and run three 1080p monitors for misc. things.

So I am wondering if:
A) can I use an RTX 2080 as my primary and run one monitor and use a GTX 970 to run three other monitors
B) how would I go about drivers for two different cards?

If specs are needed it is for the "New Gaming" pc in my signature. Fairly sure I'll have more than enough power, but let me know if not.

"Dubstep is porn for blind people."
New Gaming
(15 items)
i7 Rig
(13 items)
CPU
Intel 4790K
Motherboard
Asus Maximums Hero VII
GPU
2x EVGA GTX 970 SC
RAM
Corsair Vengeance 16Gb
Hard Drive
Corsair 250GB SSD
Hard Drive
2x WD Green 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860
Cooling
NH-D14
Case
Corsair 750D
Operating System
Windows 8.1
Monitor
3x Asus VG248QE
Monitor
Asus PB278Q
Keyboard
Logitech G19
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Chroma
Mouse
Razer Goliathus
CPU
i7 920 D0 @ 3.8GHz (watercooled)
Motherboard
Evga x58 e758 (with Enzotech block)
GPU
2x EVGA GTX 275 1792mb
RAM
6GB Corsair Dominator (1600)
Hard Drive
3x 640GB WD Black
Optical Drive
2x Samsungs
Power Supply
Corsair HX1000
Case
Cooler Master HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 7 Home Premium
Monitor
3x 21.5" ASUS, 1x 19" HP
Keyboard
Logitech G19
Mouse
Logitech G5
Mouse
Razer Goliathus Control
▲ hide details ▲


MrBalll is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 07:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheHorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 660
Rep: 20 (Unique: 17)
Nope. You can't. You'll need 2 separate computers.
TheHorse is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 07:27 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15,444
Rep: 952 (Unique: 587)
you don't need two drivers, just install 419.35. it's the latest driver for both cards. it'll detect both and work just fine. I ran a 1060 + 950 + 7850 just fine when I used to fold.

Even if the cards needed separate drivers (they don't), just install both drivers.


Quote: Originally Posted by TheHorse View Post
Nope. You can't. You'll need 2 separate computers.

....no.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(7 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill 16GB DDR4 4133
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mousepad
X-Ray XL 26" x 14"
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
Audio
Monoprice Modern Retro
Audio
AudioSource LS100
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter
Dark and Dropped SUV
 
MrBalll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West TX
Posts: 3,905
Rep: 141 (Unique: 119)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
you don't need two drivers, just install 419.35. it's the latest driver for both cards. it'll detect both and work just fine. I ran a 1060 + 950 + 7850 just fine when I used to fold.

Even if the cards needed separate drivers (they don't), just install both drivers.
I read several other threads on having two different GPU's and was confused by TheHorse's post so thanks for firsthand info and confirmation.

"Dubstep is porn for blind people."
New Gaming
(15 items)
i7 Rig
(13 items)
CPU
Intel 4790K
Motherboard
Asus Maximums Hero VII
GPU
2x EVGA GTX 970 SC
RAM
Corsair Vengeance 16Gb
Hard Drive
Corsair 250GB SSD
Hard Drive
2x WD Green 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860
Cooling
NH-D14
Case
Corsair 750D
Operating System
Windows 8.1
Monitor
3x Asus VG248QE
Monitor
Asus PB278Q
Keyboard
Logitech G19
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Chroma
Mouse
Razer Goliathus
CPU
i7 920 D0 @ 3.8GHz (watercooled)
Motherboard
Evga x58 e758 (with Enzotech block)
GPU
2x EVGA GTX 275 1792mb
RAM
6GB Corsair Dominator (1600)
Hard Drive
3x 640GB WD Black
Optical Drive
2x Samsungs
Power Supply
Corsair HX1000
Case
Cooler Master HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 7 Home Premium
Monitor
3x 21.5" ASUS, 1x 19" HP
Keyboard
Logitech G19
Mouse
Logitech G5
Mouse
Razer Goliathus Control
▲ hide details ▲


MrBalll is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-07-2019, 09:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,329
Rep: 134 (Unique: 101)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
you don't need two drivers, just install 419.35. it's the latest driver for both cards. it'll detect both and work just fine. I ran a 1060 + 950 + 7850 just fine when I used to fold.

Even if the cards needed separate drivers (they don't), just install both drivers.
Yep, the cards covered by the driver go all the way back to the 600 series.
You can also use Nvidia and AMD cards in the same rig if you install both drivers.
Games will run on the primary card.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-08-2019, 03:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheHorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 660
Rep: 20 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
you don't need two drivers, just install 419.35. it's the latest driver for both cards. it'll detect both and work just fine. I ran a 1060 + 950 + 7850 just fine when I used to fold.

Even if the cards needed separate drivers (they don't), just install both drivers.





....no.
Yeah no that's not how drivers work, drivers detect the card you have installed and install the appropriate drivers for the specific card. That's why you can't SLI say a 970 and a 980. Don't talk if you don't know what you're talking about.
TheHorse is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-08-2019, 03:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 17,044
Rep: 521 (Unique: 293)
maybe some freaky VM action, but that's it.

you can run different series on the same server, but not in SLi.

I don't get why he thinks he needs two drivers to run two different series card. They won't sli, n the drivers drive both.

if it'll actually work how you expect? I have no clue.

I did run AMD & NV in the same system for awhile. peripheral displays on AMD.
skupples is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-08-2019, 03:25 PM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,043
Rep: 6 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by TheHorse View Post
Yeah no that's not how drivers work, drivers detect the card you have installed and install the appropriate drivers for the specific card. That's why you can't SLI say a 970 and a 980. Don't talk if you don't know what you're talking about.

xD. You can run two different Nvidias just fine, you only won't be able to use an SLI profile. Regardless, using 2080 and 970 on a gaming PC will provide only issues and worse performance.

PC for all
(18 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX660 2048MB DDR5/192bit SuperClocked 1101MHz/1505MHz
RAM
2x KHX2400C11D3/8GX 11-12-12-32-1T-250
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro
Hard Drive
Toshiba HDWD10 (P300)
Power Supply
Corsair CS650M
Cooling
Raijintek Tisis + Arctic Cooling MX4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 310
Mousepad
SteelSeries QCk Mini
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808
Audio
AKG K240 Studio 1st rev
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by BroadPwns; 03-08-2019 at 03:29 PM.
BroadPwns is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-08-2019, 03:48 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15,444
Rep: 952 (Unique: 587)
Quote: Originally Posted by TheHorse View Post
Yeah no that's not how drivers work, drivers detect the card you have installed and install the appropriate drivers for the specific card. That's why you can't SLI say a 970 and a 980. Don't talk if you don't know what you're talking about.

"Yeah no."

Where did OP say anything about SLI? He wants to run a second monitor.

Someone doesn't know what they're talking about and it's not me.

Quote: Originally Posted by BroadPwns View Post
xD. You can run two different Nvidias just fine, you only won't be able to use an SLI profile. Regardless, using 2080 and 970 on a gaming PC will provide only issues and worse performance.

How will it reduce performance? Outside maybe higher temps from having multiple GPUs lowering boost clock it shouldn't affect it at all.

I agree though, it's a bit of waste, but it shouldn't hurt performance unless something's changed in the past few years since I mixed cards.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(7 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill 16GB DDR4 4133
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mousepad
X-Ray XL 26" x 14"
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
Audio
Monoprice Modern Retro
Audio
AudioSource LS100
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by The Pook; 03-08-2019 at 03:57 PM.
The Pook is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-08-2019, 04:10 PM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,474
Rep: 103 (Unique: 81)
Quote: Originally Posted by TheHorse View Post
Nope. You can't. You'll need 2 separate computers.



Incorrect.


You can even have AMD and Nvidia drivers operating each family of cards on the same computer.


The computer doesnt care what you have, as long as there IS A driver.


Nvidia and AMD both do a good job of allowing multiple generations of cards in the same system.




I did it with a 1080 TI and a gtx 770. Each drove a single monitor just fine.
mattliston is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off