Card for Borderlands III, etc. @ 4k?? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Card for Borderlands III, etc. @ 4k??

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 05:14 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Card for Borderlands III, etc. @ 4k??

Hey guys, the title basically says it. Got some guys waiting for this. Currently I have a 2560 monitor but want to go 4k... maybe... Anyway, will this stuff do it (below) or do I need to get something with even more performance?


Have 4 year old Corsair 650 watt "bronze" psu but need to do some other upgrades...


CPU (Not sure if I need to OC -- the unlocked as you know are more $$):
Intel Core i5-9400F Coffee Lake 6-Core 2.9 GHz (4.10 GHz Turbo) LGA 1151 (300 Series) 65W BX80684I59400F Desktop Processor Without Graphics


Graphics:
EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 SC GAMING, ACX 2.0 (Single Fan), 06G-P4-6163-KR, 6GB GDDR5





Thanks!
zadok is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 05:27 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,339
Rep: 2710 (Unique: 1611)
What exact model is the PSU you have?


4K gaming with a GTX 1060 is extremely unrealistic unless you are playing old games or everything on low settings
Besides that as said in the video a 1440P high refresh monitor is a better gaming experience

Seravee
(32 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 8 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 10 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
x5 Noctua NF-A14 FLX
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming Strafe RGB
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
Other
CableMod LED Strips
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by shilka; 04-01-2019 at 05:30 AM.
shilka is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
This is the PSU:

CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 650W ATX12V/EPS12V 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply

So yeah, I've done a lot with my 2560 monitor. It's 27".

I need to rock this out as best as possible b/c I don't want stuff to freeze, crash, etc.

Need a new controller, headset, -- to a degree, a newbie... to a degree
zadok is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 10:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 324
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
If you want to even think about 4K gaming at high/max settings and be anywhere close to 60fps, the only options are a 2080 or 2080ti. 650W would probably be ok for the 2080 with that CPU, but you'll probably want at least 750W if you get a 2080ti. If you end up getting a newer CPU or wanting to OC your CPU, you'll also want at least something in the 750-850W range. 850-1000W if you have something like an OC 9900K and an OC 2080ti.

For 1440p (non-widescreen) gaming you can get away with less, like a 2070 or maybe even 2060.

Last edited by tostitobandito; 04-01-2019 at 10:39 AM.
tostitobandito is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 10:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
EniGma1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,098
Rep: 328 (Unique: 240)
This will probably once again be an Nvidia sponsored title like the first two, so an Nvidia card will be the way to go.


We dont know much about the game yet, but the others were very easy to run. They used Unreal 3 engine if I remember right. New one might still be on UE3, or maybe UE4. Either way Id bet it will still be relatively easy to run. Just wait until we know more before deciding. Game is a little ways off still. We will know a real date most likely at E3 in June.

EniGma1987 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 11:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 17,129
Rep: 521 (Unique: 293)
the series has historically always been quite easy to run, at any resolution, high FPS. hell, most of us were cranking the ini settings as high as humanly possible on day one to get more shiny outta it cuz it was runny so smoothly.
skupples is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 11:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,347
Rep: 135 (Unique: 102)
Quote: Originally Posted by EniGma1987 View Post
This will probably once again be an Nvidia sponsored title like the first two, so an Nvidia card will be the way to go.


We dont know much about the game yet, but the others were very easy to run. They used Unreal 3 engine if I remember right. New one might still be on UE3, or maybe UE4. Either way Id bet it will still be relatively easy to run. Just wait until we know more before deciding. Game is a little ways off still. We will know a real date most likely at E3 in June.
Exactly. First time I played BL2 was about 5 years ago using a Core 2 Duo and a 750TI which easily ran at a constant [email protected] The only issue now is that the implementation of PhysX seems to be broken when using a Pascal GPU, any time you fire an elemental, cause an explosion or ruffle a banner the FPS tanks down into the 30s while you're getting less than 50% load on the GPU or CPU. I seem to recall having PhysX maxed on the 750TI.


That doesn't mean it will be equally easy to run now but I'd IMAGINE a 2060 should offer decent 4k performance in this particular game...not many others.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Okay, great! Yeah I know the v I and II were pretty easy on resources; I started on X-box.. but I'm done with consoles...

So I may do the CPU, mobo, RAM upgrades as I use this for Photoshop and about everything else. But I can wait on the card and PSU.

Okay, went on nVidia to check out specs.. So I have 53 amps on the 12v rails -- that would be really cooking the PSU, but nevertheless, that's it.

So with a 1080, which seems like crazy ass fast, is speced at 15 amps (assume 12v) or 180 watts. NV recommends a 500w PSU but if you were around when all the ATX restructuring was happening in like mid 2000's, you recall the rants about having solid amps on the 12v rails, and all the stuff about not buying and el-crapo PSU.

What do you think??
zadok is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 12:10 PM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,339
Rep: 2710 (Unique: 1611)
What AMD and Nvidia says you need is 28% overstated to cover el cheapo peak rated crappy PSU´s
If they say 500 watts its 360 watts in the real world with a good PSU

By the way Corsair has or have 7 TX650 models with the oldest being rated at only 80 plus and the newest at 80 plus gold
That leaves you with 5 models so could you take a picture of yout PSU and its label and i can tell you if you should keep it or replace it

If you have the Seasonic S12II rebrand you should NOT keep it

Seravee
(32 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 8 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 10 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
x5 Noctua NF-A14 FLX
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming Strafe RGB
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
Other
CableMod LED Strips
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by shilka; 04-01-2019 at 12:13 PM.
shilka is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 12:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 17,129
Rep: 521 (Unique: 293)
Quote: Originally Posted by zadok View Post
Okay, great! Yeah I know the v I and II were pretty easy on resources; I started on X-box.. but I'm done with consoles...

So I may do the CPU, mobo, RAM upgrades as I use this for Photoshop and about everything else. But I can wait on the card and PSU.

Okay, went on nVidia to check out specs.. So I have 53 amps on the 12v rails -- that would be really cooking the PSU, but nevertheless, that's it.

So with a 1080, which seems like crazy ass fast, is speced at 15 amps (assume 12v) or 180 watts. NV recommends a 500w PSU but if you were around when all the ATX restructuring was happening in like mid 2000's, you recall the rants about having solid amps on the 12v rails, and all the stuff about not buying and el-crapo PSU.

What do you think??
we welcome and free you from the shackles of peasant-hood.


All praise be to Gaben. And Let Gaben Be true.
skupples is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off