1660Ti only running at PCI-E 3.0 x8 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

1660Ti only running at PCI-E 3.0 x8

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-17-2019, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bleets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 327
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
1660Ti only running at PCI-E 3.0 x8

Hi all...

Picked up an MSI GTX 1660Ti Gaming X today, plugged it in, installed drivers, everything seemed to be running fine...

Till i see in GPU-Z...
PCIe x16 3.0 @ x8 1.1(3.0)

So err...it's only using 8 lanes, reboot to BIOS, check board explorer and yep, x8...

Tried a different slot (X99 so a second slot wired for x16), tried latest BIOS, tried unplugging other PCI-E devices (even though those run on the PCH lanes) and still no different...

Put old card back in (MSI GTX 960 Gaming 2GB)

Compatability issue or faulty card? It's weird though I've never seen a card run at x8 before as a fault...

(and yes, I know the card running at x8 would have a minimal performance hit if anything, but if there's a fault on the card it's not something I'd want to keep!)

So yeah...faulty card or something else? Anybody seen this before where it's a fault with the card?

Thanks
bleets is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-17-2019, 03:29 PM
Tech Enthusiast
 
deafboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 12,111
Rep: 439 (Unique: 335)
And when you plugged in your old card it came back showing running at 16x?

Best guess maybe something on one of the pins on the 1660 perhaps.

IN HONOR OF SYRILLIAN, R.I.P.
ASUS ROG Rampage IV Black Owners Club || PNW Overclockers Club
BMW TJ07 Build Log -- The Ultimate Cooling Machine
2 year anniversary In Remembrance of a Great - RIP Syrillian
Overkill FreeNAS
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-1680 V2
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
GPU
nVidia Titan XP (2100/5200)
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 400GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 1.2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung PM981 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200i
Cooling
2x Swiftech D5 w/ EK Dual Pump Top
Cooling
XSPC EX480, EX360 & 2x Phobya 1080
Cooling
EK Supremacy EVO CPU Block
Cooling
EK Advanced 250mL Res
Cooling
Lamptron FC-5V2
Cooling
EK Rampage IV BE Water Block
Cooling
Copper Tubing w/ push fittings
Cooling
EK-FC Titan XP Copper/Acetal
Case
Silverstone TJ07, heavily modified
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus PG297Q
Keyboard
Leopold Otaku
Mouse
Corsair M65
Mouse
Corsair MM600
Audio
Sennheiser HD595 / HD428 / HD280
Audio
Corsair SP2500
CPU
E5-2670v1
CPU
E5-2670v1
Motherboard
Supermicro X9DRL-iF
Hard Drive
12x HGST 4TB CoolSpin
Hard Drive
6x WD Red 8TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX750
Cooling
2x Noctua nh-u9dxi4
Cooling
3x Scythe AP-30
Case
Norco 4224
Operating System
FreeNAS
▲ hide details ▲


deafboy is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-17-2019, 03:42 PM
professional curmudgeon
 
looniam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,688
Rep: 792 (Unique: 451)
i bought a used old gtx570 years ago that would read x8 2.0 but not 1.1. you did run that render test?

after checking the OS and bios that no power saving would affect the slot and another card read as expected; i figured, meh, 3% performance hit is ok.

had it been new, from a store, i would have thought different and taken it back.

Remember the golden rule of statistics: A personal sample size of one is a sufficient basis upon which to draw universal conclusions.
Upload the computer to Dropbox and provide a link to it so others may download it to examine and give advice for repairs.
loon 3.2
(18 items)
CPU
i7-3770K
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-V Pro
GPU
EVGA 980TI SC+
RAM
16Gb PNY ddr3 1866
Hard Drive
PNY 1311 240Gb
Hard Drive
1 TB Seagate
Hard Drive
3 TB WD Blue
Optical Drive
DVD DVDRW+/-
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Cooling
EKWB P280 kit
Cooling
EK-VGA supremacy
Case
Stryker M [hammered and drilled]
Operating System
Win X
Monitor
LG 24MC57HQ-P
Keyboard
Ducky Zero [blues]
Mouse
corsair M65
Audio
SB Recon3D
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
▲ hide details ▲


looniam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-17-2019, 05:02 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bleets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 327
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by deafboy View Post
And when you plugged in your old card it came back showing running at 16x?

Best guess maybe something on one of the pins on the 1660 perhaps.
Yep old card runs at x16 fine :| all the pins look fine visually but that doesnt say much...

Quote: Originally Posted by looniam View Post
i bought a used old gtx570 years ago that would read x8 2.0 but not 1.1. you did run that render test?
not the render test but a normal stress test to see if it was boosting correctly and what the power usage was, all of that was normal...

and during the testing the PCIe gen went from 1.1 to 2.0 to 3.0 which is all normal. render tests/stress tests don't make it show as x16 though if it's running at x8, that would be static and could only change on a reboot...which it hasn't :|
bleets is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-18-2019, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
bleets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 327
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Ok, I got the card swapped at the store fr another of the same model, it's running at x16 now...thankfully.

Just some odd behaviour in GPU-Z...

PerfCap Reason, even with +160 on the core running at 2130 and memory at 1625, the PerfCap reason is staying at Idle...i've never seen that before, on an old 560Ti or 750Ti or 960 the perfcap reason was Pwr or Vrel...never seen it staying at Idle (or previously Util) @ 100% with an overclock...

Of course when I lower the power limit to 90% or 80% in PerfCap Reason changes to Pwr...I've just never seen it stay at Idle under full load...
bleets is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-19-2019, 12:23 AM
professional curmudgeon
 
looniam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,688
Rep: 792 (Unique: 451)
glad you were able to exchange it w/o a hassle.

that gpu-z readings; if i understand it correctly, it reports what the driver reads from the bios about power and voltage limits. since you don't seem to have a performance issue, (have you run firestrike or something?) i'd guess the either gpu-z is misreading what the driver reports, or the driver isn't reading it right.

maybe try re-installing one or both?

Remember the golden rule of statistics: A personal sample size of one is a sufficient basis upon which to draw universal conclusions.
Upload the computer to Dropbox and provide a link to it so others may download it to examine and give advice for repairs.
loon 3.2
(18 items)
CPU
i7-3770K
Motherboard
Asus P8Z77-V Pro
GPU
EVGA 980TI SC+
RAM
16Gb PNY ddr3 1866
Hard Drive
PNY 1311 240Gb
Hard Drive
1 TB Seagate
Hard Drive
3 TB WD Blue
Optical Drive
DVD DVDRW+/-
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Cooling
EKWB P280 kit
Cooling
EK-VGA supremacy
Case
Stryker M [hammered and drilled]
Operating System
Win X
Monitor
LG 24MC57HQ-P
Keyboard
Ducky Zero [blues]
Mouse
corsair M65
Audio
SB Recon3D
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
▲ hide details ▲


looniam is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off