1660ti shunt mod without liquid metal - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

1660ti shunt mod without liquid metal

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 25 (permalink) Old 08-09-2019, 12:14 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ratchet4234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 71
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
It seems very likely, you will probably need to use something over 5 milliohms to bypasses without triggering safe mode.

Tbh i wouldnt even know where to begin because i thought this would be as simple as solder bridging over the resistor.

Also where can i buy these 5 milli ohm resistors in the same style used on the pcb of this 1660ti???

Are they the same as your "2080 Ti - Working Shunt Mod" thread on this forum?

Last edited by ratchet4234; 08-09-2019 at 01:36 AM.
ratchet4234 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 25 (permalink) Old 08-09-2019, 10:32 AM
Robotic Chemist
 
Asmodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,546
Rep: 185 (Unique: 123)
Quote: Originally Posted by ratchet4234 View Post
Are they the same as your "2080 Ti - Working Shunt Mod" thread on this forum?
Yes, from the photo posted here it looks like it uses the same shunts as the 2080 Ti.
Asmodian is offline  
post #23 of 25 (permalink) Old 08-09-2019, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ratchet4234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 71
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Ok so from that mod would you use 8 milli ohm still?

I found out that since I'm from Australia I'm trying to find these resistors with free shipping because they cost like 70 cents each but the shipping is 30$ XD

Edit: I bought some I copped the extra cost

Edit: Score of my 1660 ti before mod max oc will be interesting to see how much higher this score is.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Heaven High Score.png
Views:	3
Size:	3.57 MB
ID:	287734  


Last edited by ratchet4234; 08-09-2019 at 08:25 PM.
ratchet4234 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 25 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 12:31 AM
Robotic Chemist
 
Asmodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,546
Rep: 185 (Unique: 123)
Quote: Originally Posted by ratchet4234 View Post
Ok so from that mod would you use 8 milli ohm still?
I would.

Quote: Originally Posted by ratchet4234 View Post
I found out that since I'm from Australia I'm trying to find these resistors with free shipping because they cost like 70 cents each but the shipping is 30$ XD

Edit: I bought some I copped the extra cost
Ouch. I bought 10x of a bunch of different ones for that reason, after the 5 milliohm shunts I had leftover from doing it to my Titan X (Pascal) triggered safe mode on my 2080 Ti. Shipping was such a large component of the price that I went for variety, it didn't seem much more than just one resistance and I wasn't sure what I would need at that point.

Quote: Originally Posted by ratchet4234 View Post
Edit: Score of my 1660 ti before mod max oc will be interesting to see how much higher this score is.
It really will! Please report back!

You do see it trigger the power limit and/or clock down (in Afterburner or similar) when you run Heaven?
Asmodian is offline  
post #25 of 25 (permalink) Old 08-10-2019, 01:16 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ratchet4234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 71
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I would.



Ouch. I bought 10x of a bunch of different ones for that reason, after the 5 milliohm shunts I had leftover from doing it to my Titan X (Pascal) triggered safe mode on my 2080 Ti. Shipping was such a large component of the price that I went for variety, it didn't seem much more than just one resistance and I wasn't sure what I would need at that point.



It really will! Please report back!

You do see it trigger the power limit and/or clock down (in Afterburner or similar) when you run Heaven?
In the Power consumption in GPU Z TDP is 102% and it does clock down from watching the core speeds it sits at 1980mhz and peaks at 2115mhz but for a very short period so yes it does clock down.
ratchet4234 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off