GTX 1050 shunt mod? Anyone done it? Increase BIOS powerlimit? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

GTX 1050 shunt mod? Anyone done it? Increase BIOS powerlimit?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-03-2019, 11:05 PM - Thread Starter
Overclock Everything
 
Awesomeguy10578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 465
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
GTX 1050 shunt mod? Anyone done it? Increase BIOS powerlimit?

So I got a HTPC set up with a Ryzen 2700 and a GTX 1050 that I got as placeholder until GTX 1650 low profile cards come out, is there some way to increase the power limit on this thing? My card is the MSI GTX 1050 2GB Low Profile. Its not fast but I just like pushing overclocks on everything lol

Its always bumping against the 75W limit and I know it doesn't have a pcie 6-pin connector so technically increasing it would be "unsafe" but so is overclocking of any type so has anyone done a shunt mod on the GTX 1050/1050Ti? I can't seem to find the shunts at all, and I tried flashing it with a Strix GTX 1050 that has a 6-pin but that just bricks it because it doesn't want to post as it checks if there's a 6-pin connected which this card obviously doesn't have any.
Awesomeguy10578 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-04-2019, 09:00 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,539
Rep: 1065 (Unique: 628)
You can't find the shunts because there isn't any. Shunt mod is only for 1060 and up.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-06-2019, 03:40 AM - Thread Starter
Overclock Everything
 
Awesomeguy10578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 465
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
You can't find the shunts because there isn't any. Shunt mod is only for 1060 and up.
So how does it measure the power consumption then?
Awesomeguy10578 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-06-2019, 07:14 AM
Custy
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Co, USA
Posts: 129
Rep: 12 (Unique: 8)

Last edited by Rocklin; 08-06-2019 at 08:01 AM. Reason: oops
Rocklin is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 04:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Cucumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
The connector cant supply more power. Either you gotta get a new card with a power connector and try and push that more, or just wait until you can plop something else entirely in there. There is nothing you can do with your current card.
Cucumber is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-15-2019, 04:08 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,539
Rep: 1065 (Unique: 628)
Quote: Originally Posted by Awesomeguy10578 View Post
So how does it measure the power consumption then?

shunts don't measure power consumption.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 08:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kaltenbrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,267
Rep: 17 (Unique: 16)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
You can't find the shunts because there isn't any. Shunt mod is only for 1060 and up.
why and/or how is that ? Where do they measure the power from? Something internal to a big chip ?

I wish I had some old GPUs do mess with, I have 1 broken 1, IDK if the main chip is fried, but it works for about 30s, the fan ramps to max, and it all shuts down, till it cools down again

Kaltenbrunner is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 08:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ssateneth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 886
Rep: 43 (Unique: 38)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
shunts don't measure power consumption.
Shunts are required to give feedback to the IC's responsible to measure power. They are a very low resistance resistor that all power from that rail passes through, which causes a small voltage drop. the drop is bigger if more current (so more power) is going through it. That voltage drop is what the power measure circuit ues to determine power used. Without a shunt, there isn't an easy way to measure power (AMD measures power from the individual VRM stages and is very difficult to bypass). Yes, it has a shunt. if you looked at any PCB pictures, you'd see it.

I've pointed out the most likely resistors. It's probably the top one. Verify with multimeter when video card is powered.


Intel Core i9-9900k (Silicon Lottery 5.1GHz @ 5.3GHz 1.36 VCore)
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS XI APEX
G.SKILL F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW (2x16GiB 4000MHz 19-19-19-39 2T, tuned to 4133MHz 14-17-17-31 2T)
EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
Seasonic PRIME 1300W 80+ Platinum
ssateneth is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-10-2019, 06:12 AM - Thread Starter
Overclock Everything
 
Awesomeguy10578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 465
Rep: 10 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by ssateneth View Post
Shunts are required to give feedback to the IC's responsible to measure power. They are a very low resistance resistor that all power from that rail passes through, which causes a small voltage drop. the drop is bigger if more current (so more power) is going through it. That voltage drop is what the power measure circuit ues to determine power used. Without a shunt, there isn't an easy way to measure power (AMD measures power from the individual VRM stages and is very difficult to bypass). Yes, it has a shunt. if you looked at any PCB pictures, you'd see it.

I've pointed out the most likely resistors. It's probably the top one. Verify with multimeter when video card is powered.

I kinda forgot I asked this here and kinda gave up after a while lol but that changes everything. I'm gonna take a look at my card and find those shunts then report back if I'm successful lol thanks
Awesomeguy10578 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 09:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
juggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 38
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Pretty sure ive heard of motherboards being ruined by drawing more than 75 watts from the PCIe slot.

I think the RX 480 had this issue at one point and some motherboards were killed.
juggar is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off