1660ti shunt mod Success!!!! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

1660ti shunt mod Success!!!!

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 02:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ratchet4234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 71
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
1660ti shunt mod Success!!!!

Hi Guys so last week i explored the possibility to shunt mod a 1660 ti and it was possible.


My card I decided to mod is a GALAX model 1660ti beware that different manufacturers are likely different
My card only had 1 current sense resistor shown in the photos to shunt mod.


https://www.overclock.net/forum/atta...289474&thumb=1

https://www.overclock.net/forum/atta...289476&thumb=1

Thanks to looniam who helped me out with finding pcb photos
Photo of shunt mod:

https://www.overclock.net/forum/atta...289478&thumb=1

I personally used lead solder as it is the best

Heaven 4.0 Score:
https://www.overclock.net/forum/atta...289480&thumb=1

That run was with my current overclock and the shunt mod.

Before shunt mod with current overclock:

https://www.overclock.net/forum/atta...289482&thumb=1


Conclusion:

This Card with the shunt mod and already overclocked gained 52 points just from this mod maybe 20 more points or so could be gained but I am going to have to mess around with this 1660 ti to see if this is possible. The speeds on this card after the mod reported on GPU Z is 2130/7500.

Overall this mod is possible and not too hard to achieve.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0708.JPG
Views:	18
Size:	2.12 MB
ID:	289478  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Heaven High Score 2252.png
Views:	34
Size:	3.40 MB
ID:	289480  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Heaven High Score.png
Views:	34
Size:	3.57 MB
ID:	289482  

Attached Images
   
ratchet4234 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 03:29 PM
Robotic Chemist
 
Asmodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,553
Rep: 185 (Unique: 123)
Asmodian is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ratchet4234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 71
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Great to see this happen on a 1660 Ti too.

Not a lot of extra performance but you should have stable clocks now.
I noticed the in gpu z under load read 87% TDP so I there is plenty of power for it to use some else might be holding it back but at least its probably the fastest 1660ti so still a success.

This is also one of the base model 1660ti Galax cards too so that might have something to do with it.

https://hwbot.org/submission/4219139_ - Fastest 1660ti Confirmed

Last edited by ratchet4234; 08-16-2019 at 09:53 PM.
ratchet4234 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 11:27 AM
Robotic Chemist
 
Asmodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,553
Rep: 185 (Unique: 123)
Asmodian is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-20-2019, 02:37 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ratchet4234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 71
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Haha, great! I bet there aren't too many modded 1660 Tis.
Cant win in superposition only got 2nd place maybe my i7 6700k cant keep up with this dude in 1st.
Idk why hes faster by 100+ points gpu speeds are on par i think that 2700x is a better cpu for this task.
Photo below is his rig https://hwbot.org/submission/4119802...ti_4143_points
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2165875.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	353.8 KB
ID:	290340  

Click image for larger version

Name:	2165881.png
Views:	7
Size:	1.02 MB
ID:	290342  

ratchet4234 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 06:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kaltenbrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,267
Rep: 17 (Unique: 16)
So what did they have the current limit set at, and what did you change it to ? How much % more power is on individual mosfet's ?


I just sold my last working old GPU, so I don't even have 1 to experiment on (that works). I'd never try this on my new 1, I want the warranty.

Kaltenbrunner is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off