Mixing "Ti" and standard cards in SLI? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Mixing "Ti" and standard cards in SLI?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-14-2019, 12:17 PM - Thread Starter
Old Timer
 
SoaDMTGguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 4,895
Rep: 312 (Unique: 232)
Mixing "Ti" and standard cards in SLI?

I have two eVGA GTX 780 Classified cards in SLI and I want to add a third, because why not, they're cheap now, and I wanna bump up my supersampling scale.

There is a local craigslist listing for a 780 Ti Classified. Would this card work well with my two standard 780's, or would it end up underutilized? Does it make a difference which position in run it in?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulTa go_quote.gif
I'm like Obi wan. I just pop in and out, offer vague comments and advice, and then tell you to use the force.
SoaDMTGguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-14-2019, 12:23 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,969
Rep: 1122 (Unique: 647)
officially, no. The most you can do (officially) is mix vRAM capacities but the actual card has to be the same. You can mix on Crossfire but not SLI.

You can use a "hack" to force it (or even mix completely different cards) but performance isn't guaranteed to be ideal and you have to disable UAC which is a red-flag for a lot of online games' anti-cheat.

https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/t...-cards.158907/

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Dierya DK63-BT 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-14-2019, 12:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 19,650
Rep: 563 (Unique: 321)
no, not really... welcome to bug fest and custom drivers.

you'll get zero functionality in anything released in the last 10 years, besides benchmarks. hell, you can barely get two cards ACTUALLY working (this means WITH ACTUAL SCALING) in most modern titles

and DX12 SLI? no where to be seen yet.

trust me when I say i'll be on board, day one when it returns though.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-14-2019, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
Old Timer
 
SoaDMTGguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 4,895
Rep: 312 (Unique: 232)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
officially, no. The most you can do (officially) is mix vRAM capacities but the actual card has to be the same. You can mix on Crossfire but not SLI.

You can use a "hack" to force it (or even mix completely different cards) but performance isn't guaranteed to be ideal and you have to disable UAC which is a red-flag for a lot of online games' anti-cheat.

https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/t...-cards.158907/
Ok thanks. I'll wait for a proper GTX 780 Classified to show up.


Quote:
no, not really... welcome to bug fest and custom drivers.

you'll get zero functionality in anything released in the last 10 years, besides benchmarks. hell, you can barely get two cards ACTUALLY working (this means WITH ACTUAL SCALING) in most modern titles

and DX12 SLI? no where to be seen yet.

trust me when I say i'll be on board, day one when it returns though.
This is my first SLI build, and I only went SLI because I found a second 780 for $65 and figured what the hey. The biggest benefit I've seen is it lets me run Cities: Skylines at 200% scale factor without being GPU limited, which is nice because Cities has crappy AA. I want a third to try and get BF4 smooth at 200% scale, too.

When you say "Get two cards actually work, with actual scaling", how do you quantify this? My benchmark for "is SLI working" is to look at the GPU utilization while a game is running. If both cards are more or less symmetrical, I assume SLI is working properly. I do see FPS change correspondingly when one GPU is not being utilized. Is this not a valid test?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulTa go_quote.gif
I'm like Obi wan. I just pop in and out, offer vague comments and advice, and then tell you to use the force.
SoaDMTGguy is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-14-2019, 01:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 19,650
Rep: 563 (Unique: 321)
you quantify this by disabling v-sync, seeing you get 99% GPU usage, AND more performance.

You're lucky that the titles you enjoy have support. most don't BF4 will allow dual card, but I'm pretty sure it requires a little bit of work. Fortunately, Frostbite has baked in DX11 mGPU, it just has to be force enabled.

Most other engines aren't quite as friendly, or will give you "fake" SLI ,which is easily proven/disproven by no-vsync gpu usage and perf #s.

ORRRR if the SLI does work, the stutter it injects negates any high frame benefits as you'll go from an epic 120FPS down to 40, back to 120 so quick that all you see is a giant DERP.

my last good, functional SLI setup used that same architecture . 3x OG Titans. 99% of the time, card #3 is off, even in sli supporting titles.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.

Last edited by skupples; 10-14-2019 at 01:57 PM.
skupples is online now  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-14-2019, 02:30 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,430
Rep: 34 (Unique: 30)
You can do it in ashes of the singularity and there may be other dx12 games that will work with two different gpus but I don't know of any other than ashes of the singularity.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti
UltraMega is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-14-2019, 02:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 19,650
Rep: 563 (Unique: 321)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
You can do it in ashes of the singularity and there may be other dx12 games that will work with two different gpus but I don't know of any other than ashes of the singularity.
say wha?!

this title is using multi-gpu while in DX12?

*googlefu*

WE HAVE A FIRST!!!!!!

maybe DX12 MGPU will come faster than I expected as well.

How else am I gonna drive 3x 4K120s in portrait surround?

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is online now  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-14-2019, 02:50 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,969
Rep: 1122 (Unique: 647)
AoS is usually called Ashes of the Benchmark. Gameplay is terrible but it's coded really well

in BF4 my GPU hovers around 60% utilization at 1440p and I've never seen it use my 9900K more than 25% and it usually stays sub-20%. It's an old game, buying a third card isn't really smart regardless but even if it's just for BF4 it's probably going to do absolutely nothing lol.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Dierya DK63-BT 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-14-2019, 02:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 19,650
Rep: 563 (Unique: 321)
nothing, or add stutter that makes you wanna punch your monitor.

i think this is something top tier SLI users lie to themselves about. "smoothest game play experience ever, see? just look at my youtube video recorded @ 30FPS 720p"

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is online now  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
Old Timer
 
SoaDMTGguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 4,895
Rep: 312 (Unique: 232)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
you quantify this by disabling v-sync, seeing you get 99% GPU usage, AND more performance.

You're lucky that the titles you enjoy have support. most don't BF4 will allow dual card, but I'm pretty sure it requires a little bit of work. Fortunately, Frostbite has baked in DX11 mGPU, it just has to be force enabled.

Most other engines aren't quite as friendly, or will give you "fake" SLI ,which is easily proven/disproven by no-vsync gpu usage and perf #s.

ORRRR if the SLI does work, the stutter it injects negates any high frame benefits as you'll go from an epic 120FPS down to 40, back to 120 so quick that all you see is a giant DERP.

my last good, functional SLI setup used that same architecture . 3x OG Titans. 99% of the time, card #3 is off, even in sli supporting titles.
My experience so far has been that setting the SLI mode the nVidia control panel to "Alternate Frame Rendering 2" gives me symmetrical GPU usage in all the games that I play (Dota 2, Cities: Skylines, Counter Strike: GO, Battlefield 4, Doom). In the more demanding games like Battlefield, Cities, and Doom, I see 99% usage with v-sync disabled.

Is there any testing I can do to quantify my performance figures? I have not seen any fluidity issues or stuttering unless I crank up the resolution scale.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulTa go_quote.gif
I'm like Obi wan. I just pop in and out, offer vague comments and advice, and then tell you to use the force.
SoaDMTGguy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off