GIGABYTE RTX 2080 Super Power Limit Hard Locked? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

GIGABYTE RTX 2080 Super Power Limit Hard Locked?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-17-2020, 05:20 AM - Thread Starter
Programmer
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 28,671
Rep: 1561 (Unique: 1019)
GIGABYTE RTX 2080 Super Power Limit Hard Locked?

Hello, here is my new GPU:
https://www.gigabyte.com/uk/Graphics...8SWF3OC-8GD#kf

In software, I can only adjust the power target from 100% to 102%. I've tried using MSI AB, EVGA X1 and AUROS. How can I lift the limit? Most Super's support +124%. Thank you.

Intel Core i9 9900K HT 5GHz
GIGABYTE Z390 Ultra
Nvidia MSI Trio-X RTX 2080 Super
G-Skill Trident 2x8GB DDR4 4000MHz
Samsung EVO PLUS NVM.e 500GB
SeaSonic 1250W Gold
Tt Core-X71 + Custom Loop.


BradleyW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-17-2020, 05:35 AM
mfw
 
ToTheSun!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Terra
Posts: 7,585
Rep: 451 (Unique: 219)
Power limit also depends on base power. A card with a 102% power limit might have a better power budget than one with, say, 105%.

It's not something you can change without installing a BIOS from another card with a higher power budget.

CPU
Intel 6700K
Motherboard
Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
GPU
Gigabyte 2070 Super Windforce OC
RAM
G.skill Trident Z 3200CL14 8+8
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Crucial M4 256GB
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Noctua NH C14S
Case
Fractal Design Core 500
Operating System
Windows 10 Education
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
Keyboard
Vortex Rac3 RGB
Mouse
Glorious Odin
Mousepad
Gigabyte AMP500
Audio
Fiio E17K v1.0 + Beyerdynamic DT 1990 PRO (Dekoni pads)
▲ hide details ▲
ToTheSun! is offline  
post #3 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-17-2020, 05:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 999
Rep: 17 (Unique: 10)
I had some similar issues with my gigabyte aorus xtreme waterforce. Maybe this will help. Close all gpu overclocking programs. If you use cam, disable the gpu oc feature. Open up aorus engine, reset to default, save, close aorus engine. Open up msi afterburner. Unlink the temp/power limit chain. From here you should be able to max out the limits, the voltage slider and set your clocks. I use afterburner instead of aorus engine now. Engine can be a bit buggy.

RGB GAMING
(13 items)
MSI GT83VR-6RE
(6 items)
CPU
[email protected] 4.78GHz/Cache HT/OFF ACDC/1 LLC/MEDIUM OFFSET/+120mv EIST/C3
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS MASTER BIOS/F11e
GPU
AORUS 2080Ti XTREME [email protected]/8000/366w
RAM
4x8GB [email protected] 15-15-15-32 1.58v/VDimm 1.3v/SA-IO
Hard Drive
2x256GB SAMSUNG PM961 NVMe/RAID0
Hard Drive
512GB AORUS RGB NVMe
Hard Drive
500GB T-FORCE DELTA MAX RGB SSD
Hard Drive
2x240GB HYPERX SAVAGE SSD/RAID0
Hard Drive
480GB HYPERX SAVAGE SSD
Power Supply
EVGA 850w G+
Cooling
NZXT KRAKEN X72
Case
Fractal Define S2 Vision RGB
Monitor
ALIENWARE AW2518HF 1080p/240Hz
CPU
[email protected]/4.2GHz Cache 1.27v/Load
GPU
2x GTX 1070/SLI
RAM
4x8GB [email protected]/3200MHz
Hard Drive
500GB Crucial MX500 M.2 SSD
Hard Drive
256GB Toshiba NVMe
Power Supply
2x Delta 230w(460w)
▲ hide details ▲
reachthesky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-17-2020, 06:03 AM - Thread Starter
Programmer
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 28,671
Rep: 1561 (Unique: 1019)
Quote: Originally Posted by ToTheSun! View Post
Power limit also depends on base power. A card with a 102% power limit might have a better power budget than one with, say, 105%.

It's not something you can change without installing a BIOS from another card with a higher power budget.
The TDP is 250w so I think GIGABYTE have just hard locked it to a low limit. It is hitting the power limit at default clocks. It clocks in at 1920 @ 1.050mv.

I've never flashed a GPU BIOS.

Quote: Originally Posted by reachthesky View Post
I had some similar issues with my gigabyte aorus xtreme waterforce. Maybe this will help. Close all gpu overclocking programs. If you use cam, disable the gpu oc feature. Open up aorus engine, reset to default, save, close aorus engine. Open up msi afterburner. Unlink the temp/power limit chain. From here you should be able to max out the limits, the voltage slider and set your clocks. I use afterburner instead of aorus engine now. Engine can be a bit buggy.
Tried this, but it looks like the BIOS is at fault.

Intel Core i9 9900K HT 5GHz
GIGABYTE Z390 Ultra
Nvidia MSI Trio-X RTX 2080 Super
G-Skill Trident 2x8GB DDR4 4000MHz
Samsung EVO PLUS NVM.e 500GB
SeaSonic 1250W Gold
Tt Core-X71 + Custom Loop.



Last edited by BradleyW; 01-17-2020 at 06:31 AM.
BradleyW is offline  
post #5 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-17-2020, 10:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dajez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 134
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
102% doesn't look right to me. My xtreme waterforce wb has 140%, I guess it should be close to 130% or so for your card

Current
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Gaming x570 plus wifi
GPU
Gigabyte RTX 2080 Super OC Waterforce WB
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Elite
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus
Power Supply
Corsair RM750x
Cooling
Custom watercooling
Case
Cooler Master Mastercase Maker 6 Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung C27HG70
Keyboard
Corsair k70 rgb
Mouse
Logitech G502
▲ hide details ▲
dajez is offline  
post #6 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-17-2020, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter
Programmer
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 28,671
Rep: 1561 (Unique: 1019)
Quote: Originally Posted by dajez View Post
102% doesn't look right to me. My xtreme waterforce wb has 140%, I guess it should be close to 130% or so for your card
After research, my card, the Wind Force, is 102%. The Wind Force Gaming OC (same card, higher clocks) is 120%. I've flashed the BIOS to the Gaming OC and now I can increase the power limit to 120%.

However, I've noticed with this card that no matter how much I increase the core voltage, the card doesn't seem to want to draw any more voltage..

Could the card be hard-locked physically not to draw more voltage regardless of what I set it to? Or is the card deciding not to draw more voltage to keep temperatures in check for the VRM's?

The card does 2010 @ 1.035v @ 63c. That's what RTSS reports in Superposition, Extreme.

Intel Core i9 9900K HT 5GHz
GIGABYTE Z390 Ultra
Nvidia MSI Trio-X RTX 2080 Super
G-Skill Trident 2x8GB DDR4 4000MHz
Samsung EVO PLUS NVM.e 500GB
SeaSonic 1250W Gold
Tt Core-X71 + Custom Loop.



Last edited by BradleyW; 01-17-2020 at 10:53 AM.
BradleyW is offline  
post #7 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-17-2020, 11:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
jonkrmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 42
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by BradleyW View Post
After research, my card, the Wind Force, is 102%. The Wind Force Gaming OC (same card, higher clocks) is 120%. I've flashed the BIOS to the Gaming OC and now I can increase the power limit to 120%.

However, I've noticed with this card that no matter how much I increase the core voltage, the card doesn't seem to want to draw any more voltage..

Could the card be hard-locked physically not to draw more voltage regardless of what I set it to? Or is the card deciding not to draw more voltage to keep temperatures in check for the VRM's?

The card does 2010 @ 1.035v @ 63c. That's what RTSS reports in Superposition, Extreme.

The BIOS of your card has a max power limit of 255 watts. The Nvidia max power draw for reference board designs is 250 watt.

This is why you can only increase your power limit 2%. 2% over 250 watts is 255wats.

The only way you can get around this is by flashing the BIOS on the card to another one that will work on your card that has a higher max power limit.

There is nothing wrong with your card or your software and your software is reporting it right.

The GPU will only draw the voltage it needs. This can be from good silicon and or temp\power envelope algorithm GPU Boost of the GPU is using.

Pushing the voltage slider to max will not nessasarily mean the GPU will draw that voltage.

Turing chips do not really like more voltage anyway. Turing chips are sensitive to temp more than anything else.

Last edited by jonkrmr; 01-17-2020 at 11:22 AM.
jonkrmr is offline  
post #8 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-17-2020, 11:33 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,778
Rep: 1276 (Unique: 691)
1) flash different BIOS
2) shunt mod

shunt mod will make your GPU think it's pulling <100% when it's pulling 100%, so your slider will still only go to 2% but it'll think it's only pulling <50% when it's pulling 102% and it'll be more or less unlimited anyway.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Cooling
Raijintek Morpheus II
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU 27" 1440p
Monitor
LG 24UD58 24" 4K
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mouse
Glorious Model D
Audio
Klipsch PowerGate + Schiit Hel
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Dierya DK63-BT 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech G603 Wireless
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #9 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-17-2020, 11:45 AM
Super Noob
 
Delphi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,756
Rep: 90 (Unique: 82)
I have the same card as you and have been looking at bios modding it to this bios as I am always smashing the power limit on this card before anything else. Below is the bios I believe should work and gives an additional 45w.

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...er-8192-190708

Jack all Trades
(9 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3800x
Motherboard
Gigabyte x570 Aorus Elite
GPU
Giagbyte Windforce OC RTX 2080 Super
RAM
4 x 8GB Adata 3600mhz Ram
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
Silverstone Strider 1000w
Cooling
Fractal Celsius S36
Case
Corsair 270r
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲


Delphi is offline  
post #10 of 34 (permalink) Old 01-17-2020, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter
Programmer
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 28,671
Rep: 1561 (Unique: 1019)
Thank you everyone for your kind support. I've learned a lot. I did some research prior to reading each reply. My research matches what has been discussed, with the power limits and BIOS limitations. I've flashed to the Gaming OC BIOS. The limit is now 120%, but the card still doesn't draw any more voltage, so the highest I can get my clock at very high load is 2010MHz. The card pulls 1.035v @ 65c.

Perhaps the shunt mod as suggested will now be a good step to take?

Intel Core i9 9900K HT 5GHz
GIGABYTE Z390 Ultra
Nvidia MSI Trio-X RTX 2080 Super
G-Skill Trident 2x8GB DDR4 4000MHz
Samsung EVO PLUS NVM.e 500GB
SeaSonic 1250W Gold
Tt Core-X71 + Custom Loop.


BradleyW is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off