NVLInk (NOT SLI) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

NVLInk (NOT SLI)

post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-25-2020, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
Been there, done that

Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
NVLInk (NOT SLI)

Recently, I have rebuilt my rig with used parts. I went from a x58 platform with a xeon 5690x 6c 12t, to a x79 platfrom with a xeon e5 2697v2 12c 24t 30mb Cache. I am an Engineer, so I figured the I would go with more cores and cache for CAD software and rendering.

I bought (2) MSI RTX 2070 SUPERS and then an ASUS ROG RBG NvLink 4 Slot Bridge ( I could not find the MSI bridge ) My mobo an ASUS P9X79 DELUXE has PCIE 3.0 x16 slots in locations that require me to use the 4 slot, the other PCIE 16x Slots do not the fully 16x capacity. ( You can see the pins only go up to 8x in the 16x lane. )

I did some digging on the NVLink, for i knew right of the get go it is not the same type of interface as SLI. My understanding is NVLink is the same type of platform the Quadro Cards have used, and every sales rep at each computer store I went to, told me it was told it was not recommended to buy (2) RTX 2070 SUPERS as for the "SLI" did not have the performance gains than previous generations. After a month of time went buy with only one RTX 2070 SUPER of normal use and benchmarking, I couldn't take it anymore. I had to have two!

So how is it? HOLY SMOKES! The performance gain has been incredible! In 3DMark has shown results of almost 100% gains on the graphics scores! Frame rates for DX11 Skydiver are went from 180-200 to 400+!
DX12 Time Spy are when from 60-75fps to 120-140fp! Time Spy Extreme 4K went from 30fps to 60fps. For the price of 1100 for both cards and the bridge. I would say these results would be equal to if not the same as a RTX 2080 Ti which is still hovering in the 1300-1400$ Range.