5200 messed up display at stock settings - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

5200 messed up display at stock settings

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-04-2005, 10:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
--Filip--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: S. Central PA
Posts: 1,090
Rep: 222 (Unique: 159)
My one friend's main P4 rig has been decomissioned because he built a P4 system for his uncle but forgot the heat sink...so he ordered a heat sink and just put the sink off his on his uncle's new computer.

He has an AMD Duron 1.2GHz system that's his mom's which he's using right now, and he just tried taking the nVidia 5200 from his P4 system and sticking it in his Duron's board which has AGP 4x...but he got messed up graphics in BF1942 and RoN, like the battlefield main menu was dotty/liney/and completely red lol and RoN was messed up too.

It's not a heat issue. The card isn't hot, the side of the case is open, the room is cool, plus windows looks fine. It can't be because the card artifacts in the main menu of games, when it's not really under load.

I'm thinking it might be the power supply. The Duron runs off a 300-350W cheapo PSU ($15) which should be enough for a 5200 but I don't know what its ampere ratings are. There are only a few fans (like one or two+cpu fan) so they're not sucking much power.

My other thought is a driver conflict. The usual card in there is a PCI Radeon 7000, but it's not installed right now and the comp has been running off 16MB integrated for a long time, yet there are both ATi and nVidia drivers on the thing, so I'm not sure. He has tried this before, with the same result.

Any other ideas?

--Filip-- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-04-2005, 10:35 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,623
Well check the cable on the monitor. My friend gave me his 5200 and it works fine on my computer. If pins are missing the monitor will still work but it will mess up graphics on newer cards
clueless-oc is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-04-2005, 10:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PROBN4LYFE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 10,408
Rep: 603 (Unique: 367)
I'm going with the PSU not being enuff 1st...

PROBN4LYFE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-04-2005, 10:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
putertopia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 144
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
This is the guy with the computer.

I just replaced the PSU with an Ultra X-Connect 400 Watt PSU, and same problem. I even added a little cooling considering the CPU always runs at 50-55 Idle (no clue why lol it just does, but it's never given me probs with overheating). I guess I will try the drivers now... thx

--Edit--

CPU is now at 32-36 degrees idle and still same problem.

putertopia is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-04-2005, 10:56 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
--Filip--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: S. Central PA
Posts: 1,090
Rep: 222 (Unique: 159)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PROBN4LYFE
I'm going with the PSU not being enuff 1st...
Just slapped a 400W X-Connect on it that powered the P4...still happens.

--Filip-- is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-04-2005, 11:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PROBN4LYFE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 10,408
Rep: 603 (Unique: 367)
Quote:
Originally Posted by --Filip--
Just slapped a 450W X-Connect on it that powered the P4...still happens.
Use the driver cleaner...then slap in some XG 71.84 drivers (for the 5200)...

PROBN4LYFE is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-04-2005, 11:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
--Filip--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: S. Central PA
Posts: 1,090
Rep: 222 (Unique: 159)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PROBN4LYFE
Use the driver cleaner...then slap in some XG 71.84 drivers (for the 5200)...
EDIT: nevermind, the ATi drivers were removed a long time ago.

BTW I use XG drivers for my 6800 do they improve performance or quality? (I got them from the 6800 unlocking/overclocking guide)

--Filip-- is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-04-2005, 11:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PROBN4LYFE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 10,408
Rep: 603 (Unique: 367)
Quote:
Originally Posted by --Filip--
Does ATi have a driver cleaner bundled with their drivers?

BTW I use XG drivers for my 6800 do they improve performance or quality? (I got them from the 6800 unlocking/overclocking guide)
Dunno if ATI does...as for the XG performance increases...run dxdiag with a regular forceware driver...then with an XG...you'll see

PROBN4LYFE is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-04-2005, 11:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kramy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,523
Rep: 1075 (Unique: 804)
Quote:
Originally Posted by --Filip--
EDIT: nevermind, the ATi drivers were removed a long time ago.

BTW I use XG drivers for my 6800 do they improve performance or quality? (I got them from the 6800 unlocking/overclocking guide)
Depends. I switched to the XG 76.50's, and my graphics got prettier, and my framerate in 3Dmark05 went up 2fps aswell. Now I run everything on 4xAA, 16xAS, High Quality, and max of anything else in nVidia control panel(with optimizations off)

Guru3D nVidia Driver Database

Look for XG xx.xx HD's, as they're usually the highest quality graphics(HD = High Definition?), and have optimizations for the 4, 5, 6 series, and now I imagine the 7 series aswell.
Kramy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off