Wow...gotta love random luck! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Wow...gotta love random luck!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-20-2005, 01:23 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
--Filip--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: S. Central PA
Posts: 1,090
Rep: 222 (Unique: 159)
Weird...my 6800LE used to not want to overclock in RivaTuner or Coolbits 2 at all...like if I set the core 1 MHz higher it would say the hardware test failed. So tonight I read something about someone offering to do a BIOS mod to a 6800GT and I thought '***? BIOS mod on a 6800?' I hadn't heard of anything like that so I looked in the FAQ section and found some irrelevant tweaks in the nVidia display tool.

So I go in there, look at them, then I go to the Coolbits tab. Just for the heck of it, I click 'detect optimal frequencies'...and it works for a while then successfully sets my clocks at 359/816 :***:

Of course I was thrilled...so I ran 3DMark05. Last time I ran it, I had 512MB of system memory...now I have 256MB because I lent some to a friend while he RMA's his. That time I scored 2612...now with 256MB of system RAM I Scored 2884.

Can't wait till I get my other 256 stick...moerso can't wait to upgrade RAM and see what happens then

I think the clocks can go higher, at least the core can. Leadtek puts a very nice heat sink on these things, and the core is idling at 56C just like it always did, even at stock freqs and pipes.

EDIT: W00t RAM is up to 920.

EDIT: Wow I'm looney I kept saying Riva Tuner 2 when I meant Coolbits 2

--Filip-- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-20-2005, 03:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 770
Rep: 61 (Unique: 53)
Quote:
Originally Posted by --Filip--
Weird...my 6800LE used to not want to overclock in RivaTuner or Coolbits 2 at all...like if I set the core 1 MHz higher it would say the hardware test failed. So tonight I read something about someone offering to do a BIOS mod to a 6800GT and I thought '***? BIOS mod on a 6800?' I hadn't heard of anything like that so I looked in the FAQ section and found some irrelevant tweaks in the nVidia display tool.

So I go in there, look at them, then I go to the Coolbits tab. Just for the heck of it, I click 'detect optimal frequencies'...and it works for a while then successfully sets my clocks at 359/816 :***:

Of course I was thrilled...so I ran 3DMark05. Last time I ran it, I had 512MB of system memory...now I have 256MB because I lent some to a friend while he RMA's his. That time I scored 2612...now with 256MB of system RAM I Scored 2884.

Can't wait till I get my other 256 stick...moerso can't wait to upgrade RAM and see what happens then

I think the clocks can go higher, at least the core can. Leadtek puts a very nice heat sink on these things, and the core is idling at 56C just like it always did, even at stock freqs and pipes.

EDIT: W00t RAM is up to 920.

EDIT: Wow I'm looney I kept saying Riva Tuner 2 when I meant Coolbits 2
Excellent, I'm v.happy for ya. Its always a good feelin when you do something that you thought was impossible. It makes you think, "wow... did that just happen" or "I wish I'd done that in the first place" lol. It'll be even better with 512mb too.

C2Duo6850/P5K Deluxe/4gb OCZ 8500/Corsair 620w/
8800GTX/Custom Water Cooled/CM Stacker Modded
4.203Ghz(SuperPI)/3.8Ghz(24/7)22c Idle/38c Load.
<<<<<<<<<<GALLERY>>>>>>>>>>>

FX60/DFI SLI-DR EXPERT/Geil One BH-5/PCP&C850/
2x7800GTX 512/Prommy r507 MachIIGT/LianLi V2000
3.4Ghz (Prime95) 1.5-2-2-2
DaGuv is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-20-2005, 03:37 AM
Retired Staff
 
Mr.N00bLaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,318
Rep: 262 (Unique: 154)
Good clock! Can you run stable @ 920 for while gaming?

All overclock, all the time
Mr.N00bLaR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-20-2005, 07:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Remonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 5,703
Rep: 316 (Unique: 240)
I had a stroke of luck yesterday too, I was stuck at a 218FSB and magically am not at 229 stable, amazing. but yeah, sorry your thred and all. Good luck when your RAM arrives and nice overclocking.

Remonster is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-20-2005, 11:55 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
--Filip--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: S. Central PA
Posts: 1,090
Rep: 222 (Unique: 159)
Haven't tried gaming, but it runs 3DMark05 fine I don't think any of my games are much heavier right now other than BF2 demo.

--Filip-- is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-20-2005, 02:43 PM
Retired Staff
 
Mr.N00bLaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,318
Rep: 262 (Unique: 154)
Hmm. I think I got about 425/450 to run on 3dmark 05. Wasn't as good as 420/427.5 tho. The highest overclock is usually not ur best, but I have the highest clock so

What drivers are you using? I noticed that with the stock and low 7xxx My overclock seems to shrink quite a bit..almost nothing to shake a stick at. 77.50 works wonders for me =)


EDIT: You know, this is similar to what happened to me one day. I had one of the higher 77 drivers installedand for the longest time I could not push my card past 428 and 857. That was IT! Then all of the sudden one day the card started to get cold, like 5-7 degrees colder then normal. I was @ 46 idle no aftermarket cooling or AS5. Then I could really push this baby high. and now the temps have went back to what they normally were, probably cuz I recently unlocked stuff and it's summer now.

All overclock, all the time
Mr.N00bLaR is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-20-2005, 02:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Kramy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 9,523
Rep: 1075 (Unique: 804)
Kramy is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-20-2005, 02:49 PM
Retired Staff
 
bigvaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ontario
Posts: 13,103
Rep: 898 (Unique: 371)
920 on the ram!!??!? oh my god man thats SWEET that must perform like crazy!!!

FOLD FOR OCN - TEAM 37726
OC Settings: 4800mhz 100x48, 1.4500 vcore, 1600mhz Mem 9-9-9-24, 1200/1600 GPU @ 1.26v.
bigvaL is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-20-2005, 03:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 360
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
that is really good for ram!!!

I'm a signature virus, copy me into your signature and help me spread!

I am 42% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?biggrin.gifthumb.gif
SlAyEr08 is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-20-2005, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
--Filip--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: S. Central PA
Posts: 1,090
Rep: 222 (Unique: 159)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigval
920 on the ram!!??!? oh my god man thats SWEET that must perform like crazy!!!
Woot! Just ran 3DMark05 again. 3210 with the RAM at 921MHz (no artifacts either) up from 2884 with RAM at 816 and 2600 at stock settings...beat that with a 6800LE I dare ya!

Plus I forgot to kill processes (Zone Alarm, AVG Antivirus, and MSN Messenger) so might have made an infinitesimal difference.

EDIT: Oh yeah, I ran the CPU benches as well by accident gave me a 2800 somethin I forget I know my CPU sucks lol.

--Filip-- is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off