should i upgrade? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

should i upgrade?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 02:06 AM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
-iceblade^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Equestria :D
Posts: 16,922
Rep: 814 (Unique: 613)
i have the chance to get this Zotac GTX 260 for £125. it is a 192 core version

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/160748

i've always wanted a GTX 260, but i can't spare the extra for a 216 core version... and i will have to sell my 8800GT. should i do it? am i better off just waiting till i can get a core 216 card? is the performance delta / OCing capability between the two cards that much that i would miss?

and lastly, how much performance increase will i see when migrating? note that my card runs at stock speeds most of the time

R.I.P Syrillian
Blitz6804, ... you watch too many telecomunications commercials XD
staryoshi: Your wallet is tight like a clam. Let it breathe like a fish
JCG: you spent half of your life studying for a job, and the other half complaining about the said job
Miki, re Boxxy; She's totally adorable, who could not like her? I know, I know, some find her annoying. But, I think they are just boring so their opinions don't count.
Afrodisiac; You are such a hypocrite it's not even funny


-iceblade^ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 02:11 AM
Old school
 
Acoma_Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 14,377
Rep: 1522 (Unique: 1046)
Yeah it would be a decent upgrade.

Personally I'm playing the waiting game

My CPU history
Main rigs: 386 33mhz > 486 DX2 > Pentium 90 > Pentium 3 666mhz > Pentium 4 1.8Ghz > AMD Athlon 2400+ > AMD Sempron 3000+ > Core 2 Duo E6300 > Core 2 Duo E8400 > Core 2 Quad Q9550 > Core i5 3570k > Core i7 7700k
Secondary: AMD Athlon 4000+ > AMD Athlon X2 3800+ > AMD Phenom II 940 > Pentium G3258 > AMD A10 6800K
Acoma_Andy is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 02:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Ecchi-BANZAII!!!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 15,773
Rep: 605 (Unique: 450)
If you are getting a 260, you MUST have the Core216 IMO

TERA
(24 items)
CPU
i9-9900K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z390-E GAMING
GPU
ASUS GTX 1070 ROG STRIX Gaming OC
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB 3200MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO SSD 500GB
Hard Drive
2x WD RED SOHO 3TB
Hard Drive
WD BLACK 4TB
Hard Drive
WD RED SOHO 4TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO SSD 500GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 850 G3
Cooling
XSPC Raystorm D5
Cooling
XSPC RX480
Cooling
XSPC RX360
Cooling
7x GT AP-15
Cooling
3x GT AP-13
Case
Corsair 900D
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Philips 65PUS6162/12
Keyboard
Logitech K800
Mouse
Logitech MX Master
Mousepad
ASUS ROG Sheath
Audio
Denon AVR-2313
Audio
Dali Zensor 7, 5, 1 and Center
Other
VIVE + Deluxe Strap
▲ hide details ▲


Ecchi-BANZAII!!! is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 04:04 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
mardon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,169
Rep: 44 (Unique: 40)
I'll sell you a BFG GTX 260 core 216 OC2 for £150 delivered if you fancy it. It can overclock the the spec's in my sig too.

Got a 10 year warrenty set up too. Can just change the details to your address etc.

mardon is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 04:24 AM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
-iceblade^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Equestria :D
Posts: 16,922
Rep: 814 (Unique: 613)
i can get a new XFX GTX 260 core 216 for that price but like i said i cannot afford that much. 'sides i don't think my PSU can cut it

R.I.P Syrillian
Blitz6804, ... you watch too many telecomunications commercials XD
staryoshi: Your wallet is tight like a clam. Let it breathe like a fish
JCG: you spent half of your life studying for a job, and the other half complaining about the said job
Miki, re Boxxy; She's totally adorable, who could not like her? I know, I know, some find her annoying. But, I think they are just boring so their opinions don't count.
Afrodisiac; You are such a hypocrite it's not even funny


-iceblade^ is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 04:46 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
mardon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,169
Rep: 44 (Unique: 40)
Didn't know they require that much more power. Mine is a hyper 630w Hyper and it copes fine. Google mine and yours and see if they have the same amount of power on the 12v rails.

Is the XFX version the overclocked one?

mardon is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 04:50 AM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
-iceblade^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Equestria :D
Posts: 16,922
Rep: 814 (Unique: 613)
it's this one. not sure if it is OCed or not.

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/896MB...lus-FREE-Vouch

your PSU is a lot better than mine. it's more efficient and has 4 18A 12V rails

R.I.P Syrillian
Blitz6804, ... you watch too many telecomunications commercials XD
staryoshi: Your wallet is tight like a clam. Let it breathe like a fish
JCG: you spent half of your life studying for a job, and the other half complaining about the said job
Miki, re Boxxy; She's totally adorable, who could not like her? I know, I know, some find her annoying. But, I think they are just boring so their opinions don't count.
Afrodisiac; You are such a hypocrite it's not even funny


-iceblade^ is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 04:54 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
mardon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,169
Rep: 44 (Unique: 40)
Well the GPU core is 621mhz so yeah it is overclocked.

Personally i'd wait and save a little longer and go for the 216 version. When overclocked they make better use of the stream processors and do pull ahead of the 192 version.

What resolution are you gaming at?

mardon is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 04:58 AM
Windows Wrangler
 
Sanders54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 2,733
Rep: 185 (Unique: 169)
I'd say hit it. It's a nice deal, and a GPU upgrade is always nice


Sanders54 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-24-2009, 04:58 AM
Old school
 
Acoma_Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 14,377
Rep: 1522 (Unique: 1046)
Quote:
Originally Posted by -iceblade^ View Post
i can get a new XFX GTX 260 core 216 for that price but like i said i cannot afford that much. 'sides i don't think my PSU can cut it
Should be a piece of cake for your PSU. I remember reading somewhere that certain Hiper Type M PSU's were actually pretty darn good quality.

My CPU history
Main rigs: 386 33mhz > 486 DX2 > Pentium 90 > Pentium 3 666mhz > Pentium 4 1.8Ghz > AMD Athlon 2400+ > AMD Sempron 3000+ > Core 2 Duo E6300 > Core 2 Duo E8400 > Core 2 Quad Q9550 > Core i5 3570k > Core i7 7700k
Secondary: AMD Athlon 4000+ > AMD Athlon X2 3800+ > AMD Phenom II 940 > Pentium G3258 > AMD A10 6800K
Acoma_Andy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off