what should I buy ? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

what should I buy ?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-15-2009, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
_Marvin_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Iasi
Posts: 553
Rep: 25 (Unique: 25)
I am in a big dilemma.
I want to get more FPS in games so should I get the accelero xtreme gtx280, to further increase my OC or should I get another GTX 280. What would give me better performance?
I don’t care about the price difference between the items, what concerns me are the following issues:
Will my Asus U-75HA, 750W power supply give enough juice to these thirsty 65nm beasts?
Will it be overkill due to my high vid q6600, which I run @ 3.6, thus bottlenecking my pc?
Should I just wait for the next gen and cash out on an i7 quad SLI beast ?
Right now I run my gtx 280 @ 700/1460/1225

be nice

_Marvin_ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-15-2009, 11:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,037
Rep: 353 (Unique: 312)
If you play source games or FSX you would want to upgrade your cpu because they are dependent on a good processor.
If you play any other games you would want to buy another GTX 280 or overclock your current GTX 280.


Angmaar is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-15-2009, 11:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
linskingdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In Office
Posts: 14,249
Rep: 3468 (Unique: 1499)
I don't think you can get more from xtreme gtx280 if your current gtx280 is able to do 700/1460/1225. Q6600 at 3.6 can take up to 180w depending on vcore. GTX280 is a 236w GPU and draws about 215w on load. The Asus 750w can do 54a/648w on 12v. You may need a solid 800w psu that can do 60a on 12v if you go for gtx280 sli on your rig.
linskingdom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-15-2009, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
_Marvin_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Iasi
Posts: 553
Rep: 25 (Unique: 25)
What are source/FSX games? I play GTA4 maxed out and I get like 64FPS in the benchmark, I play Crysis, Crysis Warhead, Crysis Wars, GRID and DiRT, DMC4, the point is I am a graphics whore, and like to play games with great looks with high fps

_Marvin_ is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-15-2009, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
_Marvin_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Iasi
Posts: 553
Rep: 25 (Unique: 25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by linskingdom View Post
I don't think you can get more from xtreme gtx280 if your current gtx280 is able to do 700/1460/1225. Q6600 at 3.6 can take up to 180w depending on vcore. GTX280 is a 236w GPU and draws about 215w on load. The Asus 750w can do 54a/648w on 12v. You need a solid 800w psu that can do 60a on 12v if you go for gtx280 sli on your rig.
what a bummer , but if I had the 800w PSU and got my SLI game on, will the cpu bottleneck me ?

_Marvin_ is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-15-2009, 11:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
linskingdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In Office
Posts: 14,249
Rep: 3468 (Unique: 1499)
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Marvin_ View Post
what a bummer , but if I had the 800w PSU and got my SLI game on, will the cpu bottleneck me ?
We are talking about gtx280 sli. The Asus psu may work if you don't have tons of fans and HDs etc. Your cpu should be fine.
linskingdom is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-15-2009, 11:29 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sri Lanka
Posts: 649
dammit I have the same PSU, my 295 runs like a dream
ShaveWithALightsaber is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-15-2009, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
_Marvin_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Iasi
Posts: 553
Rep: 25 (Unique: 25)
Hooray
I only have one HDD, and will use just 3 basic case fans with my sli setup.

I am going to buy it during this summer, but first I will lapp my cpu and heatsink

_Marvin_ is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off