GTX 460 Default Voltage and Max Safe Voltage - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

GTX 460 Default Voltage and Max Safe Voltage

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 33 (permalink) Old 03-21-2011, 06:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bbuccola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flisker;12818470 
I currently have 900Core/1800Shader/2100Memory @ 1.05v seems very stable with low temps.

what temps are you sitting at?

Bbuccola is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-23-2011, 12:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ConsciousInsanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 58
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Everytime I increase my voltage on my gtx 460 it reverts back to normal. How cna I effectivly change this?


THE ABSOLUTE ILLEST CRYSIS 2 MONTAGE YOU'LL EVER SEE!!!!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JKL3c...el_video_title
ConsciousInsanity is offline  
post #23 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-23-2011, 12:32 PM
Ore Wa Gundam
 
EvoBeardy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: London/Kent
Posts: 1,800
Rep: 187 (Unique: 158)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConsciousInsanity;14319573 
Everytime I increase my voltage on my gtx 460 it reverts back to normal. How cna I effectivly change this?

How much are you increasing it to, and what program are you using?

Unicorn SD
(13 items)
Astraea
(8 items)
CPU
l Intel® Core™ i7-5820K l
Motherboard
l MSI X99A SLI Krait Edition l
GPU
l MSI GTX 980Ti Gaming 6G l
RAM
l Corsair Dominator® Platinum (4x4GB) DDR4 3Ghz l
Hard Drive
| Samsung PM951 M.2 PCI-e NVMe 512GB |
Hard Drive
l Samsung 840 Evo 500GB l
Hard Drive
l Toshiba X300 4TB 128MB Cache l
Hard Drive
l Toshiba MD04ACA400 4TB l
Hard Drive
l Toshiba DT01ACA300 3TB (x3) l
Hard Drive
l Samsung F3 1TB l
Optical Drive
l Pioneer BDR-209EBK l
Power Supply
l EVGA SuperNOVA G2 850w l
Cooling
l NZXT Kraken X61 (2x Noctua NF-A14-2000-IP67) l
Cooling
l Phobya MaxGuide 6 Controller l
Case
l CM Storm Stryker™ l
Operating System
l Windows 7 x64 Customised. l
Monitor
l LG M2380D 1080p l
Monitor
l Acer Predator XB240H 144Hz G-Sync l
Keyboard
l Logitech G19s l
Mouse
l Logitech G502 l
Mouse
l Razer Vespula l
Audio
l Steelseries Siberia V2 MSI Gaming Edition l
Audio
l Logitech Z506 5.1 l
Audio
l Creative Fatal1ty HS-800 V2 l
CPU
G3258 @4Ghz
Motherboard
MSI Z97I Gaming AC
GPU
MSI GTX 460
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Sport 1600MHz 8GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 128GB
Hard Drive
Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB
Optical Drive
Optiarc 7170S
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro M2 520w Modular
Cooling
Corsair H60
Case
Cooler Master Elite 130
Operating System
Windows 7 x64
Keyboard
Logitech K400 Wireless Touch
Mouse
Logitech M187
CPU
i5 460m
Motherboard
MSI Intel HM55
GPU
Onboard Intel HD
RAM
Kingston PC3-8500F
RAM
Kingston PC3-8500F
Hard Drive
Toshiba MQ01ABD100H [Hybrid]
Optical Drive
Optiarc AD-7580S
Operating System
Windows 7 X64 nVidia Ed.
▲ hide details ▲
EvoBeardy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-23-2011, 12:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ConsciousInsanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 58
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvoBeardy;14319773 
How much are you increasing it to, and what program are you using?

MSI Afterburner. At default it was set to 1.012. Im just going up to 1.013.


THE ABSOLUTE ILLEST CRYSIS 2 MONTAGE YOU'LL EVER SEE!!!!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JKL3c...el_video_title
ConsciousInsanity is offline  
post #25 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-23-2011, 01:19 PM
Ore Wa Gundam
 
EvoBeardy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: London/Kent
Posts: 1,800
Rep: 187 (Unique: 158)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConsciousInsanity View Post
MSI Afterburner. At default it was set to 1.012. Im just going up to 1.013.
Oh, reason being, Voltage goes up in "straps" (see nVidia Strap Guide in my sig for a little more understanding), and goes up in increments of just around 0.013v, so you'll need to up it to 1.025v before it accepts it.

It goes in like that by the way, one after will be 1.037, 1.050 and so on.

Unicorn SD
(13 items)
Astraea
(8 items)
CPU
l Intel® Core™ i7-5820K l
Motherboard
l MSI X99A SLI Krait Edition l
GPU
l MSI GTX 980Ti Gaming 6G l
RAM
l Corsair Dominator® Platinum (4x4GB) DDR4 3Ghz l
Hard Drive
| Samsung PM951 M.2 PCI-e NVMe 512GB |
Hard Drive
l Samsung 840 Evo 500GB l
Hard Drive
l Toshiba X300 4TB 128MB Cache l
Hard Drive
l Toshiba MD04ACA400 4TB l
Hard Drive
l Toshiba DT01ACA300 3TB (x3) l
Hard Drive
l Samsung F3 1TB l
Optical Drive
l Pioneer BDR-209EBK l
Power Supply
l EVGA SuperNOVA G2 850w l
Cooling
l NZXT Kraken X61 (2x Noctua NF-A14-2000-IP67) l
Cooling
l Phobya MaxGuide 6 Controller l
Case
l CM Storm Stryker™ l
Operating System
l Windows 7 x64 Customised. l
Monitor
l LG M2380D 1080p l
Monitor
l Acer Predator XB240H 144Hz G-Sync l
Keyboard
l Logitech G19s l
Mouse
l Logitech G502 l
Mouse
l Razer Vespula l
Audio
l Steelseries Siberia V2 MSI Gaming Edition l
Audio
l Logitech Z506 5.1 l
Audio
l Creative Fatal1ty HS-800 V2 l
CPU
G3258 @4Ghz
Motherboard
MSI Z97I Gaming AC
GPU
MSI GTX 460
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Sport 1600MHz 8GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 128GB
Hard Drive
Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB
Optical Drive
Optiarc 7170S
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro M2 520w Modular
Cooling
Corsair H60
Case
Cooler Master Elite 130
Operating System
Windows 7 x64
Keyboard
Logitech K400 Wireless Touch
Mouse
Logitech M187
CPU
i5 460m
Motherboard
MSI Intel HM55
GPU
Onboard Intel HD
RAM
Kingston PC3-8500F
RAM
Kingston PC3-8500F
Hard Drive
Toshiba MQ01ABD100H [Hybrid]
Optical Drive
Optiarc AD-7580S
Operating System
Windows 7 X64 nVidia Ed.
▲ hide details ▲
EvoBeardy is offline  
post #26 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-23-2011, 02:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ConsciousInsanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 58
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvoBeardy View Post
Oh, reason being, Voltage goes up in "straps" (see nVidia Strap Guide in my sig for a little more understanding), and goes up in increments of just around 0.013v, so you'll need to up it to 1.025v before it accepts it.

It goes in like that by the way, one after will be 1.037, 1.050 and so on.
Thanks but that guide is a bit confusing. i saw some stuff about shaders which im not worried about. My shader and core are linked and I just leave it at that. Im going to try upping the voltage by .013. And by the by is their an unsafe increment to up a voltage by. I was told for OC'ing to not increase a clock by more than 15MHZ at a time. Is there a similar rule for voltage increases?


THE ABSOLUTE ILLEST CRYSIS 2 MONTAGE YOU'LL EVER SEE!!!!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JKL3c...el_video_title
ConsciousInsanity is offline  
post #27 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-23-2011, 02:34 PM
Retired Staff
 
Mikecdm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,173
Rep: 740 (Unique: 540)
I think he means that the voltage goes up in increments as well, similar to how shader straps worked on the 200 series and below. The stock limit on my 460 is 1.1v. I personally wouldn't have a problem running at 1.1v 24/7. I ran it at 1.3v the other day on stock cooling to test it out. Turns out it doesn't clock too well on stock cooling, regardless of voltage.



Mikecdm is offline  
post #28 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-23-2011, 02:57 PM
Old to Overclock.net
 
Fossil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Bragg, NC
Posts: 3,396
Rep: 120 (Unique: 107)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConsciousInsanity View Post
Everytime I increase my voltage on my gtx 460 it reverts back to normal. How cna I effectivly change this?
Did you unlock the voltage control in settings?

Sager NP8652
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 4720HQ
Motherboard
P65_P67SG
GPU
Nvidia GTX 980M
RAM
16GB DDR3 1600mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Elements 4TB
Cooling
Custom cooler
Operating System
Windows 7 x64 Home
Monitor
AOC Q3277FQE
Keyboard
Sentey Cobalt Pro
Mouse
Mionix Naos 7000
Mouse
Steelseries QK Mini
Audio
Steelseries Arctis 3
Audio
Logitech Z337
▲ hide details ▲


Fossil is offline  
post #29 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-24-2011, 10:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ConsciousInsanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 58
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fossil;14321072 
Did you unlock the voltage control in settings?

yep


THE ABSOLUTE ILLEST CRYSIS 2 MONTAGE YOU'LL EVER SEE!!!!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JKL3c...el_video_title
ConsciousInsanity is offline  
post #30 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-24-2011, 10:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ConsciousInsanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 58
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvoBeardy;14320239 
Oh, reason being, Voltage goes up in "straps" (see nVidia Strap Guide in my sig for a little more understanding), and goes up in increments of just around 0.013v, so you'll need to up it to 1.025v before it accepts it.

It goes in like that by the way, one after will be 1.037, 1.050 and so on.

I went and tried it and it works great thanks for the tip. I upped my voltage to 1025 and Im gunna see if my core clock gan run stable at 860 mhz for a little while.


THE ABSOLUTE ILLEST CRYSIS 2 MONTAGE YOU'LL EVER SEE!!!!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JKL3c...el_video_title
ConsciousInsanity is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off