How can GTX 570 HD support 3 monitors? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How can GTX 570 HD support 3 monitors?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-05-2011, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
 
trinstac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 144
What is different internally besides the displayport connection that allows it to support 3 monitors?
trinstac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-05-2011, 04:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
load81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 201
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
You will still need 2 cards for 3 monitors with Nvidia it's an architecture limitation. It's the same length as a 560 and has the same fan so the pcb must be different not sure what though.
load81 is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-05-2011, 04:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
blackbalt89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New Milford, NJ
Posts: 6,165
Rep: 296 (Unique: 243)
It doesn't.

People are just taking the badly worded product description off EVGA's website and thinking it means that it can support three monitors alone. When it actually says when in SLI.

The regular GTX 570 has the same exact product description on their website and we all know that you can't run three monitors off one reference 570.
blackbalt89 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-05-2011, 05:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 162
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
But for my own clarification. With a single GTX 570 (or 580) I can have two monitors. But if I want any more monitors than that I will need an additional card in SLI? Correct?

U.S. Navy, Represent!

Pinkerton is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-05-2011, 05:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TickleMeElmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,595
Rep: 118 (Unique: 104)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinkerton;12276390 
But for my own clarification. With a single GTX 570 (or 580) I can have two monitors. But if I want any more monitors than that I will need an additional card in SLI? Correct?

You don't necessarily need SLI, you just need more than one graphics card. Nvidia has acknowledged it as an architectural limitation.

TickleMeElmo is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-26-2011, 02:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
x210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
I have a gtx 570, The card only allows 2 monitors. If you want a cheap route to get a 3rd monitor, use a USB to DVI works great and cheaper then buying another card if you just want a monitor for basic use and not gaming. Else if you want to game with it your going to have to sli anothercard. Im using a kensington display adaptor and very impressed buy it.

x210 is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-26-2011, 02:32 PM
✾ ✿ ❀ ❁
 
Alex132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8,352
Rep: 342 (Unique: 274)
No single Nvidia GPU can support 3 monitors (unless its like a Quadro/Tesla or something?)

| This Cannot Continue | We Are Become As Gods | This Cannot Continue |

Vehicles:
Current: None.
Ex: '07 Fiat Palio, '07 Honda Accord Type-S
Illya
(26 items)
Yuki
(23 items)
CPU
Intel i9 9900K @ 5.2Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 4000Mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Red 8TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
Cooling
EK Velocity CPU Block
Cooling
EK 1080 Ti FTW3 GPU Block
Cooling
HardwareLabs GTX420
Cooling
HardwareLabs GTS280
Cooling
HardwareLabs GTS140
Cooling
EK D5 140 Glass Pump/res
Case
Phanteks Evolv X
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 165Hz 1440p
Monitor
I-INC 1920x1200 TN 27"
Keyboard
Ducky One 2 Midnight
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mousepad
CoolerMaster Swift-RX XL
Audio
Sennhesier HD650
Audio
Schiit Jotunheim Amp/DAC
Audio
Samson C01U Microphone
Audio
Edifier R1700BT
Other
Oculus Rift
CPU
Intel 2500K 5Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 Pro
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
RAM
G.Skill RipJaws X 2133Mhz 16GB
Hard Drive
120GB Corsair Neutron GTX
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Red 8TB
Power Supply
EVGA G3 850W
Cooling
Hyper 212
Cooling
EK Vardar fans
Case
Corsair 270R w/TG mod
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Asus ROG Swift PG279Q
Monitor
I-Inc 1200p
Keyboard
Razer BlackWidow 2013
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Mousepad
CoolerMaster Swift-RX XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD650
Audio
Schiit Jotunheim Balanced DAC + Amp
Audio
Edifier R1700BT Speakers
Audio
Samson C01U Microphone
Other
Oculus Rift
Other
PS4 Controller
▲ hide details ▲


Alex132 is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-26-2011, 03:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
gazza30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia FNQ
Posts: 444
Rep: 31 (Unique: 22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by thealex132;12535222 
No single Nvidia GPU can support 3 monitors (unless its like a Quadro/Tesla or something?)

no no nono no some cards can run run 3 or even 4 monotors heres a link
gazza30 is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 10-23-2011, 05:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
chrisguitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,485
Rep: 40 (Unique: 37)
Quote:
Originally Posted by x210;12535178 
I have a gtx 570, The card only allows 2 monitors. If you want a cheap route to get a 3rd monitor, use a USB to DVI works great and cheaper then buying another card if you just want a monitor for basic use and not gaming. Else if you want to game with it your going to have to sli anothercard. Im using a kensington display adaptor and very impressed buy it.

Unfortunatly people only want to game on 3 monitors unless they are using it for a workstation in that case they would probably use a workstation card like my Quadro 4000 and then a GTX whatever for gaming on another monitor, its good but really soon I want to play on 3 monitors and then work on one (not at same time so I only need 3 monitors)

So which card would you recommend that can do 5760x1080 and high graphics and good frame rates?

Project Azure

OCN rule number 1: Every thread eventually devolves into an AMD vs Nvidia or Intel vs. AMD one.

chrisguitar is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-12-2011, 05:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Singledigit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 146
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
can you hook up, per say a 9800gt "pysx" card and 3 monitor through that?
Singledigit is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off