HOWTO: Dual Monitor downclocking fix for nvidia cards - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

HOWTO: Dual Monitor downclocking fix for nvidia cards

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 101 (permalink) Old 03-13-2011, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
noob.deagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: adelaide, australia
Posts: 292
Rep: 31 (Unique: 28)
Fixing issues with mulit monitor setups in relation to power state management (downclocking at desktop)

previously nvidia cards did not downclock correctly when using multiple monitors, the new version of NVinspector now fixes this and allows for correct pstate management by forcing the card into the correct pstates.

What Are Power States ?

video cards have multiple power states these are P12, P8, P3, and P0
P0 = full power 3d
P3 = low power 3d
P8 = video (lower voltage)
P12 = 2d mode (lower voltate

both P8 and P12 operate at lower voltages meaning a cooler card under low stress situations
dual monitors on a single card cause the card to only switch between P0 & P3its a common issue with nvidia cards, and an issue they claim is 'by design'

How to fix this problem ?

1. Download and extract nvinspector
2. RMB on the overclocking button and select "start multi monitor power saver"

3. select the card(s) that are not down-clocking
4. check apply at startup


5. enjoy low power mode asif you have only a single monitor biggrin.gif

6. if your going to be gaming you need to add programs to the P0 3d list
6a. RMB in the white box click add
6b. find the game .exe in the browser click add, and your done.

alt method. launch the game then alt tab right click in the p0 box and hit add from running gpu process

note: if you have games which run off of the same .exe like hl2 CSS ect... then you only need to add 1 hl2.exe not all of them.


7. if you use a video player that uses DXVA add it to the p8 application box
7a. RMB in the white box click add
7b. find the media player .exe in the browser click add, and your done.

so how does this work ?

this program works by forcing the video card into pstates it does this by forcing P12 by default on an application load in the P8 box it forces a P8 state while the program is running likewise if a P0 full 3d designated program is launched it will use both the P0 and P3 3d states untill that proccess is shut down. failure to set programs in their correct boxes or failure to add them at all can result in the card not entering the correct Pstate.

the threshold slider may also be used however i have had limited success will it causing it to fluctuate between the different states while in games (undesired behaviour) hence i reccomend you just add the programs that require a change in pstate.


Overclocking While Using the Fix

1. Uncheck the card you wish to overclock


2. Make Adjustments in Afterburner


3. check for stability

4.once deemed stable recheck the card in NVinspector


5.Goto The Nvinspector.exe location RMB -> create shortcut on desktop (name the shortcut whatever you want i used MMD)

6. Move the shortcut where ever you want then add this to the target line
Code:
-multiDisplayPowerSaver -trayStart

522

6. open notepad and paste this in:
Code:
@echo off
ping -n 5 localhost
start "title" "C:\nv_inspector\mmd.lnk"
change the location for the nvidia inspector shortcut to where ever you placed the shortcut

you may also add
Code:
> nul
after the local host like this
Code:
ping -n 5 localhost >nul
if you would prefer to see a blank cmd window instead of the ping count.

7. Save as delaystart.bat (make sure you select all files in the type box) and place it into the startup folder from the startmenu, remove all other nvinspector shortcuts that it may have made.

338

EXPLANATION!!!

after a while i discovered that the multimonitor fix opens up before afterburner as a result the overclock cannot apply, the .bat file delays startup of the monitor fix for 5 seconds to give time for afterburner to apply first. you may need to tweak the time its as simple as changing the number in the bat file time may change depending on how many startup items you have.

8. if you are having issues with program detection and nvinspector (ie it gets stuck in powerstates) try adding this to the target line
Code:
-forceLegacy


Disclaimer and downloads

i of course did not make this program i just thought i should let everyone know of this new feature cause im sure lots of people had the same issue i had with high idle temps.
I am not responsible for any damage this may cause to your computer use at your own risk.

idle temp before fix - 50c
idle temp after fix - 32-35c

NvidiaInspector download - http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/nvidia_inspector.html


ENJOY!




EDIT: fixed layout, added explanations
EDIT2: updated overclocking guide.
EDIT3: Updated Download URLS
EDIT4: Updated guide to account for changes in the program after the last update, renamed thread as a HOWTO
EDIT5: update download link to 1.6.8
EDIT5: updated download link to 1.7.1, restructured layout order.
noob.deagle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 101 (permalink) Old 03-13-2011, 03:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Hero of the day right here ladies and gentlemen!

Top card 32c, bottom 32c

Bottom card was previously at 45c. ish.

Tiedemann is offline  
post #3 of 101 (permalink) Old 03-13-2011, 06:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Concorde105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 673
Rep: 32 (Unique: 26)
This is awesome. On the rare occasion that I do have two monitors plugged into my card, I will be taking advantage of this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by james_ant go_quote.gif
Well the reason it has to be 8 pin and 6 pin is because they ran out of pins at the factory, so instead of 8 pins you are left with another 6 pin.


Concorde105 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 101 (permalink) Old 03-13-2011, 10:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
noob.deagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: adelaide, australia
Posts: 292
Rep: 31 (Unique: 28)
EDIT!! dont use a pstate threshold it doesnt work 100% instead add your programs to the list will update guide
noob.deagle is offline  
post #5 of 101 (permalink) Old 03-14-2011, 01:24 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
kairi_zeroblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Where Fanboys can't GO!
Posts: 1,770
Rep: 92 (Unique: 70)
well i have 2 monitors and i just flashed to newer bioses and that fixed my issues..well this seems to be a workaround well still a good find..biggrin.gif

+rep
kairi_zeroblade is offline  
post #6 of 101 (permalink) Old 03-14-2011, 01:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Djankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 524
Rep: 14 (Unique: 14)
What is the advantages of this besides temperatures?

Headphones: Beyerdynamics t1/dt990 pro /ath a-900/sennheiser HD25-II/ koss porta pro/ px100

Headamp: Meier Audio Concerto

Source:X-fi Titanium HD
Djankie is offline  
post #7 of 101 (permalink) Old 03-14-2011, 11:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Woned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 108
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
That is interesting but I am not sure what it does. I have a single card and two monitors.

Will it help my fps when I play a game on 1 monitor and browse the web on the other? Or is it for something else?
Woned is offline  
post #8 of 101 (permalink) Old 03-14-2011, 05:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
noob.deagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: adelaide, australia
Posts: 292
Rep: 31 (Unique: 28)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djankie;12724622 
What is the advantages of this besides temperatures?

nothing really except lower idle temps and the card behaves asif you had only one monitor attached ie it drops into 2d clocks
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woned;12728765 
That is interesting but I am not sure what it does. I have a single card and two monitors.

Will it help my fps when I play a game on 1 monitor and browse the web on the other? Or is it for something else?

if you have 2 monitors plugged into a single card the video card will no longer downlclock correctly instead of dropping into 2d (p12 state) mode it drops to low power 3d mode or (p3 state) at the desktop, using this also allows the low power p8 video state.

so using this results in significantly lower idle temps because the card is actually dropping the voltage and core clocks when its at the desktop it doesnt affect performance provided you set it up right smile.gif


for refernce the video card has multiple power states these are P12, P8, P3, and P0
P0 = full power 3d
P3 = low power 3d
P8 = video
P12 = 2d mode

both P8 and P12 operate at lower voltages meaning a cooler card under low stress programs
dual monitors on a single card cause the card to only switch between P0 & P3 its a common issue with nvidia cards

i updated the original post with more information explanations etc
noob.deagle is offline  
post #9 of 101 (permalink) Old 03-15-2011, 04:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Woned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 108
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I tried it yesterday and noticed a 14 degree drop in temperature when idle!

my 470 was at 48 idle and it dropped to 34.
Woned is offline  
post #10 of 101 (permalink) Old 03-15-2011, 08:18 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
noob.deagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: adelaide, australia
Posts: 292
Rep: 31 (Unique: 28)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woned;12738734 
I tried it yesterday and noticed a 14 degree drop in temperature when idle!

my 470 was at 48 idle and it dropped to 34.

yep you should also notice a significant drop in power consumption aswell so thats a saving on your next power bill tongue.gif
noob.deagle is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off