GPU Tweak voltage control limit - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

GPU Tweak voltage control limit

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 30 (permalink) Old 05-02-2012, 11:40 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Sapientia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 765
Rep: 21 (Unique: 20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheJesus View Post

So, your avatar? biggrin.gif
I'm not really sure what else to suggest :/
Pretty much biggrin.gif
I know there's really nothing you can do. I thank you for your help! biggrin.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by hill01 View Post

Well, TriXX does something different to my card. When left to its own the card reduces gpu voltage in idle mode when it clocks down. However when I set gpu voltage with TriXX, the voltage always remains at its maximum set value.
Hmmm.

So ASUS responded to me:
Quote:
Dear valued customer,
Thank you for contacting ASUS customer Service.
This is a safe value to protect the card. If you want higher voltage, you should use other tools. Please note, if you this and damage this card, it will void your warranty.
doh.gif
I don't even know how to react to that. And yes, those grammatical mistakes really were there. "Use other tools"? They promote GPU tweak all over the box!



Sapientia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 30 (permalink) Old 05-02-2012, 03:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
hill01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Well, at least they responded to you. I didn't even get a reply... yet. It's also funny that the version of GPU Tweak that's supplied with the card can't set any voltages at all. Also "you should use other tools" is kinda funny, since it's their ******* custom designed PCB with different VRMs, so "other tools" are sort of useless when it comes to adjusting the voltage of this card. However, for now I just settled for 1100 MHz at 1060 mV, since it's a nice 24/7 overclock. Perhaps some day when Asus decides to actually support their own premium card with their software we shall see what the card can really do...
hill01 is offline  
post #23 of 30 (permalink) Old 05-02-2012, 05:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 2,545
Rep: 186 (Unique: 146)
By other tools they mean modding it for overvoltage as the software overclocks don't really do much to a card unless it overheats.

If you respond to one of my posts in a very busy thread, I probably won't see it, so feel free to message me.
TheJesus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 30 (permalink) Old 05-24-2012, 01:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
kmcwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sapientia View Post

They promote GPU tweak all over the box!

Yeah, they promote it, combined with this ..... "Please note, if you this and damage this card, it will void your warranty." means that they want you to blow it up.

Can you say "increased sales" ? I knew that you could.

As a matter of fact, there has more than likely been a notation added to your warranty/ registration info. so that should ANYTHING happen to your card, they will say that it was your use of that damed old GPU Tweak that made your warranty null and void.

NEVER NEVER NEVER tell support staff that you are overclocking.
kmcwilliams is offline  
post #25 of 30 (permalink) Old 05-25-2012, 01:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
v-nom001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 31
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by hill01 View Post

Hi, I have the exact same problem:
th_632160136_UntitledKopiecut_122_934lo.jpg

Perhaps if either of us stumbles across a solution we could share it with it each other?
So far I tried Asus GPU Tweak versions 2.0.5.3, 2.0.7.7 and 2.0.8.3 - but only the latest version is able to to read and adjust the gpu voltage on my 7970 DC II. MSI Afterburner can't read the gpu voltage (no surprise there). And I don't even know if 1060 mV is the correct value, because HWmonitor reports 1170 mV.

Hi, test this version : http://www.mediafire.com/?t2lt36eiulfy197

enable advanced mode on left coner

setting...tuning....enable overclocking range enhancement

thumb.gif
v-nom001 is offline  
post #26 of 30 (permalink) Old 05-31-2012, 05:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Moodster2629's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Has anybody tried the flashing with the Asus Test Bios?

http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/113309/Asus.HD7970.3072.120104.html
Moodster2629 is offline  
post #27 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-01-2012, 04:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jjpctech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Midlands UK
Posts: 236
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moodster2629 View Post

Has anybody tried the flashing with the Asus Test Bios?
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/113309/Asus.HD7970.3072.120104.html
I will when i wAKE up.
I tried a dc2t bios too but no luck

Hmmmm....
I like Lucky charms tongue.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perry go_quote.gif
If we use breast implants in computers, no wonder the floppy went away.
jjpctech is offline  
post #28 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-05-2012, 11:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Moodster2629's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
How did you get on with the unlocked bios?
Moodster2629 is offline  
post #29 of 30 (permalink) Old 03-26-2013, 12:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DJ_OXyGeNe_8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 441
Rep: 12 (Unique: 8)
Don't try it, will not work... But if you test you'll loose screen and it will not work. Don't panic, just plug cable to other DVI port and back to original bios...


The only bios working with 7970 TOP is Matrix Bios, and you'll have extra voltage... 1175 to 1256, if you're lucky like me, you'll have extra 100Mhz. Check this;

https://www.overclock.net/t/1374108/asus-7970-top-edition-voltage-unlocked-by-dj-oxygene-8

This method is for Asus DCU II 7970 Top, and yes definetely works... I'm stable @1180Mhz. Voltage looks 1350-1.4, but still locked at 1.256V. Tested with crysis 3 2560x1400 High Settings with 30min, no crashing or any problem.





And dear ASUS, this is the last product from you... I could solve my problem but you left me alone and didn't care with your customers... You're trying to sell us expensive motherboards or more expensive video cards; like matrix.... Damn, we'll not buy them....

DJ_OXyGeNe_8 is offline  
post #30 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-07-2015, 07:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
masteratarms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 119
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Install latest Asus driver (for me 8_861_Asus_Vista_Win7_WHQL), install gpu tweak, unlocked voltage 1.233 (from 1.157), unlocked clock limits(>1000Mhz GPU), MSI afterburner fan profile + hotkeys, also install later driver by only uninstalling Asus control center and driver (after you checked its working).

http://www.3dmark.com/compare/3dm06/17778832/3dm06/17764648/3dm06/17754998/3dm06/17772763

http://www.doomiii.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/system-spec.html
When I update with pictures the link will show my AIO Kraken G10 cooling solution with twin 120mm rad + 200mm fans. 1015Mhz GPU stable stock 1030 unstable (used profile key to switch back) but 1030 stable with this mild voltage bump. I have yet to attempt to overclock the GDDR5 past what I was using 24/7 on air.

masteratarms is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off