AMD - How to Change The Power Control/Limit from +20% to +50% - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

AMD - How to Change The Power Control/Limit from +20% to +50%

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 77 (permalink) Old 05-01-2013, 06:39 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 132
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)


So far only tested on W7(I don't think the Power Control/Limit value is in the same place in W8, maybe someone else can find it).


Here's how to mod the Power Control/Limit in single card mode and CrossFire mode(You can possibly by pass a lot of this by selecting 'Extend official overclocking limits' within AB and just modify the reg file):

***WARNING-Do So At Your Own Risk!!!***-WARNING

***WARNING-Don't Go Straight For +50%!!!***-WARNING

***WARNING-Don't Blame Tommy If You Do Anything Silly!!!***-WARNING


1. As you are going to modify the Catalyst reg entry- switch on System Restore(if it isn't already) and make a new restore point-just in case.

2. Install Afterburner if you haven't already as you will need it to activate the reg entry and reboot:

http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/download.htm (I used the latest version 3.0.0 beta9)

(skip this step if AB is already installed).

3. Create a new AB shortcut and add '/xcl' at the end of it(without the quotes)save, then run it as administrator(This edits the Powerplay Tables) and you should get a 'limits increased' message(or similar, I can't remember the exact message).




4. Open 'regedit' as administrator-right click and 'run as administrator':



5. Browse to:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Class\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\0000

^
It might not be 0000, mines was 0006

6. Export and save the entry(and also make a back up also in case of problems), this is the file you are going to edit to change the 20% value to 50%.

7. Open your reg file with notepad and find and edit the following value in 'PP_PhmSoftPowerPlayTable':

Look down about 4 lines and you'll see the number 14 in between a bunch of zeros and change the 14 to a 32, making sure not to change anything else at all!

8. Close and save it as 'Power Limit mod' or similar.

9. Click on your modified reg entry and and allow it to 'merge' then reboot.

Open AB and you should be able to select up to 50% in the 'Power Limit' slider.

After the above method activates the limit, you can use CCC, Trixx and His iTurbo(-50% should be selectable too)with the increased limits also.

Hopefully you should be able to see this:



You may have to activate 'Force Constant Voltage' within AB.

No further steps required for CrossFire.

If you have any problems, restore the original reg file in safe mode or use System Restore.

The above can help negate boost/Ghz clock spiking/droops should your gpu suffer from it, by increasing your Power Control/Limit.

+20% Power Control/Limit GPU Spiking:



+30% Power Control/Limit No SPiking:



not my finding:

original topic: http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18509458
kmetek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3 of 77 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 10:11 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Go Gators!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: FL
Posts: 580
Rep: 34 (Unique: 28)
Wish I had GPUs that we're unlocked on the power side rolleyes.gif



Go Gators! is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 77 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 10:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
bigmac11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ct
Posts: 1,734
Rep: 96 (Unique: 82)
I had no luck finding the 14 surrounded by zeros.

bigmac11 is offline  
post #5 of 77 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 10:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 2,465
Rep: 122 (Unique: 94)
The Mac is offline  
post #6 of 77 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 10:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
KingT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 4,626
Rep: 478 (Unique: 306)
Thanx, worked for me just fine. thumb.gif


CHEERS..

It can run Crysis..
(13 items)
CPU
i7 4930K @ 4.37GHz / 125 BCLK (1.31V LOAD)
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Formula
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
RAM
G Skill Ripjaws Z 4x4GB @ 2333MHz, CL10
Hard Drive
Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB SSD
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Hard Drive
2x Seagate Barracuda 500GB [7200.12] @ RAID 0
Optical Drive
Samsung DVD
Power Supply
Cooler Master V1200 Platinum
Cooling
Noctua NH-D14
Case
Cooler Master HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
DELL UltraSharp U2412M 24"
Keyboard
Logitech G110
Mouse
Roccat Kone MAX (rev.2)
Mouse
N/A
Audio
Logitech G430 headset
CPU
E6750 G0 @ 3.3GHz (1.25V LOAD)
Motherboard
Asus P5KPL-VM G31
GPU
GeForce 8500GT @ 700/1600/445
RAM
Apacer 2x1GB 800MHz
Hard Drive
Hitachi Deskstar 160GB (7200,8MB)
Optical Drive
LG DVD
Power Supply
Cheap stuff
Case
Linkworld crappy/modded
Operating System
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit build 7601
Monitor
LG 19"
Keyboard
5$ keyboard
Mouse
SmartBox cheap
Mouse
N/A
▲ hide details ▲
KingT is offline  
post #7 of 77 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 01:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
zGunBLADEz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,908
Rep: 103 (Unique: 76)
For crossfire or multiple cards there is extra steps required not explained here..

The easy way is to find \ them is like this


You would have to export all 3 adapters one by one [XXXX] and add the line manually (only the 1st card would have the string already on it) in the notepad after:
"AdapterDesc"="AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series"
This one goes below it Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
"PP_PhmSoftPowerPlayTable"=hex:f3,01,06,01,00,00,00,10,18,58,00,6b,00,dd,00,e8,\
03,e8,03,58,00,00,80,03,00,10,00,00,02,07,3b,00,00,6d,00,df,00,00,3f,01,0a,\
00,3f,01,4f,01,4e,02,00,00,27,10,00,00,5b,01,75,01,8f,01,00,00,c2,01,00,00,\
1e,01,00,00,c1,00,00,00,60,ea,00,00,a9,01,52,03,00,00,32,00,40,00,04,01,00,\
00,03,01,04,05,00,03,02,05,05,00,03,03,06,06,06,07,10,a0,86,01,68,36,02,01,\
ff,6b,03,02,00,00,00,00,00,50,c3,00,80,38,01,20,03,5c,03,01,00,00,00,00,00,\
30,75,00,80,38,01,20,03,5c,03,01,00,00,00,00,00,40,9c,00,80,38,01,20,03,5c,\
03,02,00,00,00,00,00,30,75,00,98,3a,00,52,03,6b,03,00,00,00,00,00,00,b4,c3,\
00,68,36,02,b6,03,6b,03,01,00,00,00,00,00,30,75,00,98,3a,00,20,03,6b,03,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,04,18,08,00,00,00,78,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,05,00,00,00,78,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,04,00,00,7a,00,00,00,00,00,00,40,19,01,00,c0,da,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,78,00,00,00,00,02,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,02,06,88,13,9c,18,60,22,d0,07,70,17,28,23,48,26,0c,00,20,bf,02,00,\
88,fb,03,00,cb,01,05,30,75,00,20,03,50,c3,00,52,03,60,ea,00,84,03,70,11,01,\
b6,03,a0,86,01,01,ff,05,98,3a,00,5c,03,30,75,00,61,03,80,38,01,66,03,68,36,\
02,6b,03,cc,36,02,6c,03,05,98,3a,00,20,03,30,75,00,52,03,80,38,01,84,03,68,\
36,02,b6,03,cc,36,02,01,ff,04,20,03,00,00,00,00,52,03,00,00,00,00,b6,03,00,\
00,00,00,92,04,00,00,00,00,01,e8,03,98,3a,00,a8,61,00,00,03,d8,d6,00,d8,d6,\
00,70,11,01,70,11,01,30,75,00,30,75,00,02,b6,03,00,1a,04,01,06,01,01,00,01,\
02,02,00,01,02,03,00,03

click save, export it and reboot and now you would have +50 on all the cards.

zGunBLADEz is offline  
post #8 of 77 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 01:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bigmac11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ct
Posts: 1,734
Rep: 96 (Unique: 82)
Finally got it. Missed the entry somehow before.

bigmac11 is offline  
post #9 of 77 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 02:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
trancet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 101
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
So in theory, these changes, plus a full cover waterblock setup, would "fix" (or at least increase) the overclocking limits on the new 7990 Malta by allowing a larger power draw from increasing the limit upto 50%?

Many of the reviews i read had issues where the card was hitting a power limit and underclocking the GPU.

Function > Form
trancet is offline  
post #10 of 77 (permalink) Old 05-07-2013, 11:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MTDEW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
Rep: 19 (Unique: 15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zGunBLADEz View Post

For crossfire or multiple cards there is extra steps required not explained here..

The easy way is to find \ them is like this


You would have to export all 3 adapters one by one [XXXX] and add the line manually (only the 1st card would have the string already on it) in the notepad after:
"AdapterDesc"="AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series"
This one goes below it Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
"PP_PhmSoftPowerPlayTable"=hex:f3,01,06,01,00,00,00,10,18,58,00,6b,00,dd,00,e8,\
03,e8,03,58,00,00,80,03,00,10,00,00,02,07,3b,00,00,6d,00,df,00,00,3f,01,0a,\
00,3f,01,4f,01,4e,02,00,00,27,10,00,00,5b,01,75,01,8f,01,00,00,c2,01,00,00,\
1e,01,00,00,c1,00,00,00,60,ea,00,00,a9,01,52,03,00,00,32,00,40,00,04,01,00,\
00,03,01,04,05,00,03,02,05,05,00,03,03,06,06,06,07,10,a0,86,01,68,36,02,01,\
ff,6b,03,02,00,00,00,00,00,50,c3,00,80,38,01,20,03,5c,03,01,00,00,00,00,00,\
30,75,00,80,38,01,20,03,5c,03,01,00,00,00,00,00,40,9c,00,80,38,01,20,03,5c,\
03,02,00,00,00,00,00,30,75,00,98,3a,00,52,03,6b,03,00,00,00,00,00,00,b4,c3,\
00,68,36,02,b6,03,6b,03,01,00,00,00,00,00,30,75,00,98,3a,00,20,03,6b,03,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,04,18,08,00,00,00,78,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,05,00,00,00,78,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,04,00,00,7a,00,00,00,00,00,00,40,19,01,00,c0,da,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,78,00,00,00,00,02,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,02,06,88,13,9c,18,60,22,d0,07,70,17,28,23,48,26,0c,00,20,bf,02,00,\
88,fb,03,00,cb,01,05,30,75,00,20,03,50,c3,00,52,03,60,ea,00,84,03,70,11,01,\
b6,03,a0,86,01,01,ff,05,98,3a,00,5c,03,30,75,00,61,03,80,38,01,66,03,68,36,\
02,6b,03,cc,36,02,6c,03,05,98,3a,00,20,03,30,75,00,52,03,80,38,01,84,03,68,\
36,02,b6,03,cc,36,02,01,ff,04,20,03,00,00,00,00,52,03,00,00,00,00,b6,03,00,\
00,00,00,92,04,00,00,00,00,01,e8,03,98,3a,00,a8,61,00,00,03,d8,d6,00,d8,d6,\
00,70,11,01,70,11,01,30,75,00,30,75,00,02,b6,03,00,1a,04,01,06,01,01,00,01,\
02,02,00,01,02,03,00,03

click save, export it and reboot and now you would have +50 on all the cards.
Very interesting!
When i use the values you posted, it changes my cards default speeds and voltages!
In a good way too!

I have a pair of Sapphire 7950 2L boost edition cards.
Default is 850/1250 / BOOST = 925/1250 w/1.25v (and of course the cards throttle without +20% pwr tune like all boost cards)

With your reg entries my cards become....
default voltage 1.125 @ 1000/1450 (and NO More BOOST or throttling even with the pwr limit at 0%)

Its like your reg entries change my cards from boost cards to non-boost cards as well as add the +50% pwr ctrl option.

It would seem those values change a lot more than just the pwr ctrl limit!

Very nice!:


EDIT:
Ahhhhh....after further testing, those registry values just replace the 0% values with the+20% values, giving the "appearance" that boost has been removed.
So that explains that.
So its not actually removing the boost as stated in the Original thread, its just changing the default 0% pwr limit.

Main Rig
MTDEW is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off