VRMtool - a simple tool to read and write to I2C VRM controllers - Page 8 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

VRMtool - a simple tool to read and write to I2C VRM controllers

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #71 of 80 (permalink) Old 07-28-2017, 10:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rhaegon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
If i wanted to modify the registers, this should be done in the same way that i did for NCP80122?

My StockVOI:
34 00 03 01 01 07 0C 00 0E 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 00 24 00 00 04 00 00 02 80 10 00 00 00 00 00 20 03 00 00 10 00 52 03 02 00 00 00 84 03 02 00 10 00 B6 03

Should be:
46 00 03 01 01 03 12 00 10 96 20 00 00 00 00 00 0C 00 84 00 FF 00 01 07 0C 00 0E 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 00 24 00 00 04 00 00 02 80 10 00 00 00 00 00 20 03 00 00 10 00 52 03 02 00 00 00 84 03 02 00 10 00 B6 03

is that right?
rhaegon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #72 of 80 (permalink) Old 07-28-2017, 11:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
elmanco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhaegon View Post

If i wanted to modify the registers, this should be done in the same way that i did for NCP80122?

My StockVOI:
34 00 03 01 01 07 0C 00 0E 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 00 24 00 00 04 00 00 02 80 10 00 00 00 00 00 20 03 00 00 10 00 52 03 02 00 00 00 84 03 02 00 10 00 B6 03

Should be:
46 00 03 01 01 03 12 00 10 96 20 00 00 00 00 00 0C 00 84 00 FF 00 01 07 0C 00 0E 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 00 24 00 00 04 00 00 02 80 10 00 00 00 00 00 20 03 00 00 10 00 52 03 02 00 00 00 84 03 02 00 10 00 B6 03

is that right?
Have you read this?
https://www.overclock.net/t/1621800/would-appreciate-help-in-finding-editing-the-voltage-offset-in-the-rx480-bios/150#post_26118389
I'm not sure about that 96 20.
Do you know the I2C adress? If its 20, i think you have to change to 96 40, if it's 25, 96 4A.
elmanco is offline  
post #73 of 80 (permalink) Old 07-28-2017, 11:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rhaegon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmanco View Post

Have you read this?
https://www.overclock.net/t/1621800/would-appreciate-help-in-finding-editing-the-voltage-offset-in-the-rx480-bios/150#post_26118389
I'm not sure about that 96 20.
Do you know the I2C adress? If its 20, i think you have to change to 96 40, if it's 25, 96 4A.

Nope, i dont know how to check the i2c address so i tried 96 20 and 96 40 with 0x31, 0x32 and 0C registers but voltage still the same.

edit: okay i think i found the i2c address in GPU1-B06-D44, so whats the value for 44?
rhaegon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #74 of 80 (permalink) Old 07-28-2017, 03:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
elmanco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhaegon View Post

Nope, i dont know how to check the i2c address so i tried 96 20 and 96 40 with 0x31, 0x32 and 0C registers but voltage still the same.

edit: okay i think i found the i2c address in GPU1-B06-D44, so whats the value for 44?
Just guessing:
You have to write down both numbers in binary and add a 0 to the right.
So:
20 = 010 0000 + 0 = 0100 0000 = 40
25 = 010 0101 + 0 = 0100 1010 = 4A
44 = 100 0100 + 0 = 1000 1000 = 88
Again, just guessing.
elmanco is offline  
post #75 of 80 (permalink) Old 07-28-2017, 04:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rhaegon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmanco View Post

Just guessing:
You have to write down both numbers in binary and add a 0 to the right.
So:
20 = 010 0000 + 0 = 0100 0000 = 40
25 = 010 0101 + 0 = 0100 1010 = 4A
44 = 100 0100 + 0 = 1000 1000 = 88
Again, just guessing.

Do you have the same I2C address in your card?
rhaegon is offline  
post #76 of 80 (permalink) Old 07-28-2017, 05:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
elmanco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhaegon View Post

Do you have the same I2C address in your card?
I think so.
But i don't have my dumps yet.
Never did this, trying to learn as much as i can.
I'm running tests this weekend.
(Sorry for my english, not my mother's language)
elmanco is offline  
post #77 of 80 (permalink) Old 07-30-2017, 11:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sonnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Hi guys I hope somebody can help me to clarify few things about this tool:
1-changes made with this tool are permanent?(I mean will still have an effect after a restart of the pc?). I f not, how can I make them permanent in the bios?
2-Is there any guide that explains how those settings affect efficiency,temps and power usage? I'm trying to make my R9 290 as efficient as possible, so that it use the least amount of power and run as cool as possible. Would anyone suggest me some changes that would increase efficiency/reduce power usage temperatures? I've already reduced gpu and aux voltages and frequencies.

Here's a ss of vrmtool running on my system. Any help would be appreciated.
My sapphire r9 290 has been downlocked to 850/1150 (947/1250 stock)and voltages reduced from 1.2v to 1.025v (and each other dpm state has been reduced roughly by -0.15v) and aux voltage has been reduced by -0.15v.
sonnet is offline  
post #78 of 80 (permalink) Old 07-30-2017, 12:32 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
deeper-blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 55
Rep: 19 (Unique: 16)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonnet View Post

Hi guys I hope somebody can help me to clarify few things about this tool:
1-changes made with this tool are permanent?(I mean will still have an effect after a restart of the pc?). I f not, how can I make them permanent in the bios?
2-Is there any guide that explains how those settings affect efficiency,temps and power usage? I'm trying to make my R9 290 as efficient as possible, so that it use the least amount of power and run as cool as possible. Would anyone suggest me some changes that would increase efficiency/reduce power usage temperatures? I've already reduced gpu and aux voltages and frequencies.

1) changes done to the VRM controller via I2C are only temporary - if you turn off the computer they reset. But if you change settings that are not reinitialized by the driver/gpu bios then they can survive a reboot - but not a power off. Look into the various other threads here about bios modifications. Basically you want to incorporate the commands send to the VRM controller via I2C into the voltage object info of the bios. Usually the bios already has some commands in there to set the defaults.

2) I'm not aware of any such guide. To get best efficiency you would probably have to learn a lot about VRM design, the VRM controller in question and the drivers/mosfets on your card. Load, cooling and specs all influence where the sweet spot might be. No simple way.
deeper-blue is offline  
post #79 of 80 (permalink) Old 09-17-2017, 05:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MrGenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 65
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Why does this tool not work for my 280X with the IR3567B? Is there a way to make it work? Am I doing it wrong? headscratch.gif

It starts out looking at the wrong I2C bus line number. And reports an "unknown" I2C device is present.


If I tell it the correct I2C bus line and device address, and ask it to read I2C device, it locks up trying to dump.



MrGenius is offline  
post #80 of 80 (permalink) Old 08-16-2018, 05:38 AM
High IQ Person
 
DAM20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 136
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Is there a way to set LLC via hex editor?

Edit: ops wrong thread

Yeetus
(10 items)
Brother's heater
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2700X (10x -0.1)
Motherboard
Crosshair VII Hero (WiFi)
GPU
XFX RX480 GTR BE (LC 580 Bios 1420/2125)
RAM
G.Skill 3466 C14
Hard Drive
Crucial P1
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
XFX XTR P1-750B-BEFX
Cooling
NH-D15 AM4
Case
Dark Base 900 Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
FX 9590
Motherboard
M5A99X EVO R2.0
GPU
XFX RX480 GTR (580 BIOS) 1430/2020
RAM
Patriot Viper 3 Black PV316G160C9K
Hard Drive
Corsair MX500
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
ANTEC HCG-750-GOLD
Cooling
Arctic Liquid Freezer 360
Case
Aerocool QUARTZ
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by DAM20; 08-16-2018 at 06:07 AM.
DAM20 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off