How to unlock MSI Afterburner - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How to unlock MSI Afterburner

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 09:46 AM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Murlocke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Posts: 17,092
Rep: 912 (Unique: 541)
Is there a way that I can set my core below 555MHz? I'm trying to set my 2D clocks to 400/900, but the lowest core voltage it allows is 400/900.



Murlocke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 10:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
S.O.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saturn
Posts: 156
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
open msi after burner folder
open msi AfterBurner.cfg

[Settings]
Skin = default.usf
StartMinimized = 0
StartWithWindows = 0
RememberSettings = 0
FirstRun = 1
FirstUserDefineClick = 1
FirstServerRun = 1
HwPollPeriod = 1000
MMIOPageSize = 4
PCIBusFilter = -10h
ShowTooltips = 1
ShowHints = 1
PauseInSuspendedMode = 1
CurrentGpu = 0
Sync = 1
AttachMonitoringWindow = 1
MonitoringWindowOnTop = 1
ShowPerformanceProfilerStatus = 0
LCDFont = font4x6.dat
LCDScrollTimerPeriod = 30
UnlockVoltageControl = 0
UnlockVoltageMonitoring = 0
ShowOSDTime = 0
RestoreAfterSuspendedMode = 0
StartupViaTaskScheduler = 0
StartupDelay = 0
MinMonitoringGraphHeight = -1
LocalizationDebugFlags = 0

[ATIADLHAL]
EnableUnofficialOverclocking = 1
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod = 0

[NVAPIHAL]
ClockDomainIdWorkaround = -1

then restart the program
and go on
S.O.S is offline  
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 12:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Fifth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Indy
Posts: 178
Rep: 16 (Unique: 12)
^what he said, then go into settings and tick "unlock gpu voltage control"

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1042447

3dmark06 - 22532

The Official MSI 790FX-GD70 Owners Thread
Fifth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Murlocke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Posts: 17,092
Rep: 912 (Unique: 541)
Launching MSI Afterburner with that setting enabled results in a BSOD everytime I launch the program.




Murlocke is offline  
post #5 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 01:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Fifth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Indy
Posts: 178
Rep: 16 (Unique: 12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murlocke View Post
Launching MSI Afterburner with that setting enabled results in a BSOD everytime I launch the program.


I was getting a similar problem, every time I hit apply to set the clocks I would bsod, try here http://www.evga.com/FORUMS/tm.aspx?m=125438 and see if that fixes it for you. It did for me!

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1042447

3dmark06 - 22532

The Official MSI 790FX-GD70 Owners Thread
Fifth is offline  
post #6 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-27-2010, 06:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Fear of Oneself's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,801
Rep: 208 (Unique: 187)
perhaps you need an MSI card? just throwing that out there.

Cause for me, i didn't even have to restart the program, it just ripped to 1ghz right after i enable unofficial overclocking (i obviously had to move the slider)

My PC: System76 Oryx Pro, 15.6" 144Hz edition
CPU: Intel i7 8750H
Storage: 250GB M.2 SSD + 240GB PNY 2.5" SSD + 750GB 2.5" WD Caviar Black
Motherboard: System76 oryp4
RAM: 2x8GB 2400MHz
GPU: GTX 1070+Intel HD 630
OS: Linux (Ubuntu 18.10) + Windows 10 Home Premium (DayZ + Sandstorm)


Fear of Oneself is offline  
post #7 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-27-2010, 06:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bradyapba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 93
Rep: 12 (Unique: 10)
just set your 2d profile in afterburner to stock. It will use your VC default and will downclock to its 2d profile, while is like 133/300 or something to that effect. Set your 3d profile to the OC you want to use. Done!

bradyapba is offline  
post #8 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-27-2010, 09:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Fifth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Indy
Posts: 178
Rep: 16 (Unique: 12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fear of Oneself View Post
perhaps you need an MSI card? just throwing that out there.

Cause for me, i didn't even have to restart the program, it just ripped to 1ghz right after i enable unofficial overclocking (i obviously had to move the slider)

Nope, it doesn't have to be an msi card, my 5770 that is xfx works fine in afterburner

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1042447

3dmark06 - 22532

The Official MSI 790FX-GD70 Owners Thread
Fifth is offline  
post #9 of 27 (permalink) Old 03-15-2010, 09:02 AM
k-y
New to Overclock.net
 
k-y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 158
Rep: 7 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murlocke View Post
Launching MSI Afterburner with that setting enabled results in a BSOD everytime I launch the program.

Murlocke, I was in the same situation (Win 7 x64) until I opened up the Properties for the AfterBurner .exe and clicked on the Compatibility tab then set it to Windows XP SP3 and now it runs w/o BSOD.

Still can't get the clocks right, so I am using AMD GPU Clock Tool to control the frequencies and AB to do monitoring/voltages.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squirrel go_quote.gif
You're not going to die if you get somewhere 10 seconds late. But someone else might die if you try to get there 10 seconds early.


k-y is offline  
post #10 of 27 (permalink) Old 03-15-2010, 10:44 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fifth View Post
I was getting a similar problem, every time I hit apply to set the clocks I would bsod, try here http://www.evga.com/FORUMS/tm.aspx?m=125438 and see if that fixes it for you. It did for me!
+1. I was having issue's the same as OP and the above 'trick' worked.

See my thread. https://www.overclock.net/ati/689033-...ing-5870s.html
Slightly skewed is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off