Extract and Flash GTX 970 and 980 Firmware - Zoson's H2O and AIR Custom BIOS - Page 16 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Extract and Flash GTX 970 and 980 Firmware - Zoson's H2O and AIR Custom BIOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 6488 (permalink) Old 10-22-2014, 11:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
RaleighStClair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 652
Rep: 22 (Unique: 22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nizzen View Post

Gigabyte G1 980 does not throttle.It barly hit 80% full load. It looks like g1 have higher powerlimit. I just need more voltage biggrin.gif

Best card is 1584mhz so far.
This is what I am getting on my G1 970 as well. Power consumption never goes above 80% no matter what I do and max voltage is 1.243.

RaleighStClair is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 6488 (permalink) Old 10-22-2014, 11:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Woomack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Poznan, Poland
Posts: 133
Rep: 17 (Unique: 7)
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanmac View Post

Hey mate!

Can i ask what values you changed to increase max volatge ? Iv'e read through the original Kepler Bios Editing Guide and adjusted the first 3 voltage tables including P0 and i'm still maxing at 1.2mV

Thanks for reading.,

When you change first 3 voltages then you get max 1.31V under load. However software like GPU-Z will read max ~1,243V. I was checking values with multimeter on the back of my card and it was ~0.9V idle , 1.30-1.31V under load.
When you change values in BIOS to 1.31V then in Afterburner or other soft you will see max +100mV but it won't work as you already hit max limit in BIOS so it will be always 1.31V at full load.

To change power limit you have to change 1st table and 3rd from the end. 1st is easy as you see values for your card like for mine it was 225000 = 225W so when I changed it to 300000 then I got max 300W. It wasn't required as I have GB G1 card but I changed it anyway. Other one can be also easily compared when you check 2 different BIOSes.

As I already said I was expecting more after overvoltage but it's still better than stock. So far I was testing it only in 3DM11 as it was the harderst benchmark to pass and one quick run in Fire Strike.
At 1.21V card was making about ~1460MHz max in 3DM11 , after changes it made ~1550MHz. In Fire Strike before changes was ~1520MHz, after changes ~1570MHz. During tests max temps were ~70*C.
Considering that I raised voltage from ~1.21V to ~1.31V then 50-100MHz difference isn't much.

Woomack is offline  
post #153 of 6488 (permalink) Old 10-23-2014, 12:16 AM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
Silent Scone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 11,369
Rep: 404 (Unique: 227)
So you were reading 1.31v on the MM?
Silent Scone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #154 of 6488 (permalink) Old 10-23-2014, 12:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Woomack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Poznan, Poland
Posts: 133
Rep: 17 (Unique: 7)
Between 1.30 and 1.31V while running 3DMarks.

Woomack is offline  
post #155 of 6488 (permalink) Old 10-23-2014, 01:06 AM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
Silent Scone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 11,369
Rep: 404 (Unique: 227)
Interesting, thanks
Silent Scone is offline  
post #156 of 6488 (permalink) Old 10-23-2014, 01:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jam0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 72
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Did you just increase the max slider to 1.3 or did you increase them all?

Nevermind, voltages appear to be working for me.

MSI Gaming 970

Increased all the top three sliders to maximum and the card is showing 1.275v on GPUz.

Doesn't sound much aye?

However when you consider my original settings of +220 core would get the card boosting t around 1578 and now i'm currently using +150 and boosting to 1605, I think it's worked.

Jam0r is offline  
post #157 of 6488 (permalink) Old 10-23-2014, 01:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MKOB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 70
Rep: 0
Guys the **** is this ? using AB and TDP never gets over 89.9%
87mv
112%
80-100+ core clock
450+mem clock
if i push it more it either crashes or start seeing green/blue/black artifacts on the screen,how can i get the most out of my card ? (Gigabyte G1 970)


what do i need to do ?
x_by_mkiiix-d83u7c3.png

Gigabyte 970 G1
MKOB is offline  
post #158 of 6488 (permalink) Old 10-23-2014, 01:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jam0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 72
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
gpuz shows your being limited with volts.

it's the same as anything, CPUs etc..

Quality of the chip will dictate whether it needs more volts to overclock.

Your card does

Jam0r is offline  
post #159 of 6488 (permalink) Old 10-23-2014, 01:47 AM
No Linux Lobbyist
 
DuraN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 368
Rep: 17 (Unique: 12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jam0r View Post

Did you just increase the max slider to 1.3 or did you increase them all?

Nevermind, voltages appear to be working for me.

MSI Gaming 970

Increased all the top three sliders to maximum and the card is showing 1.275v on GPUz.

Doesn't sound much aye?

However when you consider my original settings of +220 core would get the card boosting t around 1578 and now i'm currently using +150 and boosting to 1605, I think it's worked.

You increased the PT too right? Mind sending me the BIOS? I've got one 970 Gaming at home atm, throttling hard at 1550 ish 1.25v
DuraN1 is offline  
post #160 of 6488 (permalink) Old 10-23-2014, 01:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jam0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 72
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuraN1 View Post

You increased the PT too right? Mind sending me the BIOS? I've got one 970 Gaming at home atm, throttling hard at 1550 ish 1.25v

Yep give me two seconds and i'll upload it

Power limit increased from 220 to 250 (125%) and those voltage sliders changed.

Card is boosting happily away, infact it boosted close to 1700 on the desktop before I reduced the boost clock as I simply whacked the slider up to +220 which is what it used to be.

Jam0r is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off