Extract and Flash GTX 970 and 980 Firmware - Zoson's H2O and AIR Custom BIOS - Page 601 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Extract and Flash GTX 970 and 980 Firmware - Zoson's H2O and AIR Custom BIOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6001 of 6488 (permalink) Old 02-24-2016, 01:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DeathAngel74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Next to the evil monkey in your closet!
Posts: 5,380
Rep: 267 (Unique: 141)
I have the worst of all. My card needs 1.281v for a 1506.5 and 1519. Anything lower results in red blobs and scary black lines jumping out on the screen in game. The max for my card is 1519mhz.
DeathAngel74 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6002 of 6488 (permalink) Old 02-24-2016, 01:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
JnLoader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 148
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by deegzor View Post

Hi,

The reason for seeing different powerlimits on AB is that Mr.dark changed your tdp settings on the bios you have now flashed. I have a strong hunch that in the settings he made 100% is maximum powerlimit.

Yeah I come to the same conclusion smile.gif

Also i come bearing great news about my very own phantom gtx 970. I ran Heaven for 24+ hours and now my coil whine is completely gone! thumb.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by deegzor View Post

Hi,

Nice to hear,, never know that coil whine can be erased like that thumb.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by deegzor View Post

Yes that asic quality is considered average so nothing too exceptional, but with testing you will find your max stable clocks.
For example put memory to 8000 run 3dmark fire strike for example. If no artifacts or crash and graphics score 13k-14k (it should fall somewhere between) then start working on the core.
Up the core 25mhz at time then run firestrike if everything okay do it again. When you start seeing artifacts back down 10-25mhz. and there you go max overclock with ur voltage.

For comparison i need 1.620v to run 1506/8000. even 1.281 didn't help to stabilize 1519. Didn't try 1.3v beacouse my temps were already over 80C with 1.28v

Okey mate.
Have what I though is perfectly stable after trial and error in heaven/valley come up with this - 1485 core and settle at 8ghz memory.
Played several hours of Dying light the following, and it seems all good thumb.gif

When I was trying 1505 mhz it freezed fast, thats couse the locked voltage then.
Well im more then happy with this, it's a whole world of a difference then with my old bios!

So super mega thanks guys, you made me a happy camper thumb.gif
Rep to you guys added smile.gif

JnLoader is offline  
post #6003 of 6488 (permalink) Old 02-24-2016, 02:15 PM
....X....
 
Mr-Dark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Jordan
Posts: 5,071
Rep: 565 (Unique: 387)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JnLoader View Post

Think all is good, this is what it said!

Identifying EEPROM...
EEPROM ID (EF,3012) : WBond W25X20A 2.7-3.6V 2048Kx1S, page
Clearing original firmware image...
Storing updated firmware image...
........
Verifying update...
Update successful.

Update!
Rebooted and it works perfect, the only thing im wondering about now Sir - in AB the powerlimit only shows 100%, I would have thought it would went up to 130 - 150% or so. Just wondering thumb.gif

Firmware image has been updated from version 84.04.36.00.85 to 84.04.36.00.85.

A reboot is required for the update to take effect.

That normal as 100% under my bios equal to 150% at stock bios, just leave it at 100% and enjoy it thumb.gif

I9 9900k @5Ghz ---Gigabyte Z390 Ultra ---Evga 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid---Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 32GB 3000Mhz---2*Samsung 960 Pro 512GB ---Cooler Master H500p ---NZXT X72---Asus xg27vq
Mr-Dark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6004 of 6488 (permalink) Old 02-24-2016, 02:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
JnLoader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 148
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-Dark View Post

That normal as 100% under my bios equal to 150% at stock bios, just leave it at 100% and enjoy it thumb.gif

Yeah i figured that out, thanks for chiming in smile.gif

Rep added, I am so grateful for your help.

Thanks a lot mate thumb.gif

JnLoader is offline  
post #6005 of 6488 (permalink) Old 02-24-2016, 02:20 PM
....X....
 
Mr-Dark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Jordan
Posts: 5,071
Rep: 565 (Unique: 387)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JnLoader View Post

Yeah i figured that out, thanks for chiming in smile.gif

Rep added, I am so grateful for your help.

Thanks a lot mate thumb.gif

You're most welcome, enjoy it thumb.gif

I9 9900k @5Ghz ---Gigabyte Z390 Ultra ---Evga 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid---Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 32GB 3000Mhz---2*Samsung 960 Pro 512GB ---Cooler Master H500p ---NZXT X72---Asus xg27vq
Mr-Dark is offline  
post #6006 of 6488 (permalink) Old 02-24-2016, 02:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
JnLoader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 148
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by deegzor View Post

Yes that asic quality is considered average so nothing too exceptional, but with testing you will find your max stable clocks.
For example put memory to 8000 run 3dmark fire strike for example. If no artifacts or crash and graphics score 13k-14k (it should fall somewhere between) then start working on the core.
Up the core 25mhz at time then run firestrike if everything okay do it again. When you start seeing artifacts back down 10-25mhz. and there you go max overclock with ur voltage.

For comparison i need 1.620v to run 1506/8000. even 1.281 didn't help to stabilize 1519. Didn't try 1.3v beacouse my temps were already over 80C with 1.28v

Ouch, just tested Firestrike and it cut me off real fast, so I aint stable at all it seems with this o/c
Must back down and test some more then smile.gif

JnLoader is offline  
post #6007 of 6488 (permalink) Old 02-24-2016, 02:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
JnLoader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 148
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-Dark View Post

You're most welcome, enjoy it thumb.gif

Must ask you one thing more, I can see you set temp target at 84 degrees in the new Bios.
Just tested Firestrike and it went fast up to 85 degrees and it hanged. Can I flash it myself and set the limit higher ?

I mean is it worth it, or should I just back down on the o/c ?

JnLoader is offline  
post #6008 of 6488 (permalink) Old 02-24-2016, 02:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
JnLoader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 148
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JnLoader View Post

Must ask you one thing more, I can see you set temp target at 84 degrees in the new Bios.
Just tested Firestrike and it went fast up to 85 degrees and it hanged. Can I flash it myself and set the limit higher ?

I mean is it worth it, or should I just back down on the o/c ?
is it okey to set the temp target as high as Max temp target witch is 91 degrees!

JnLoader is offline  
post #6009 of 6488 (permalink) Old 02-24-2016, 02:26 PM
....X....
 
Mr-Dark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Jordan
Posts: 5,071
Rep: 565 (Unique: 387)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JnLoader View Post

Must ask you one thing more, I can see you set temp target at 84 degrees in the new Bios.
Just tested Firestrike and it went fast up to 85 degrees and it hanged. Can I flash it myself and set the limit higher ?

I mean is it worth it, or should I just back down on the o/c ?

No bro, keep it 84c as temp over that not recommended for any card, you should work to drop the temp not increasing the temp limit..

try custom fan curve ? more case fan's ?

I9 9900k @5Ghz ---Gigabyte Z390 Ultra ---Evga 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid---Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 32GB 3000Mhz---2*Samsung 960 Pro 512GB ---Cooler Master H500p ---NZXT X72---Asus xg27vq
Mr-Dark is offline  
post #6010 of 6488 (permalink) Old 02-24-2016, 02:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
JnLoader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 148
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-Dark View Post

No bro, keep it 84c as temp over that not recommended for any card, you should work to drop the temp not increasing the temp limit..

try custom fan curve ? more case fan's ?

Alright I see and will do as you say, the risk I will fry my card otherwise maybe.
Will test to set my fan at 100% and see if thats helps, otherwise just back down on the o/c then smile.gif

Thanks for taking the time explaining thumb.gif

JnLoader is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off