GIGABYTE GTX 9xx H2O/AIR BIOS Tweaking ?(ô?ô)? - Page 60 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

GIGABYTE GTX 9xx H2O/AIR BIOS Tweaking ?(ô?ô)?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #591 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 02:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tomimoi42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 18
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Thanks for all the replies.

In CS:GO, I could run good OC, and no throttling. In TF2, no matter what clocks, it throttles. And it usually does, when I enter a big space so it really gives a noticeable spikes for me...

I tried with all stock and clocks stock, but +6/+12/+18/+26 volts and +12% (112%) power, and all these effects remain similar.

I tried Evga PrecisionX, but the K-Boost just didn't do anything... I couldn't click it to activate it, only if I clicked the k-boost text it and kept my finger on the mouse, the button would be white....

edit:

So I am kinda lost with this custom BIOS thing but...

...Do I DL the "970F3DPV1.ROM" file and if so, with what software I flash the card with? Gigabyte @bios?Nvflash?

And is this BIOS voltage locked, so I don't need to mess with the Maxwell Tweaker?

Oh yeah, and in case I get to use this BIOS, do I have to put the Core voltage to +100mV like one of the posts says? (Really confused and lot to learn with this stuff)
tomimoi42 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #592 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 03:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
leakydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 225
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
I am stable on 1480/8000 Mhz without any +mV now on my G1, but unfortunately not with Laithan's vBIOS. I made copy of my friend's vBIOS. With Laithan's vBIOS I was unstable even with 1480, weird...
leakydog is offline  
post #593 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 03:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tomimoi42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 18
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
At the moment stock clocks would be fine for me, if they didn't jump up and down during some games! More power and voltage for the chip sure if it needs it, I just don't want it to jump mad.gif
tomimoi42 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #594 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 04:02 AM
ٴٴٴ╲⎝⧹˙͜>˙⧸⎠╱
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,376
Rep: 158 (Unique: 123)
Can anyone inspect my modded 1.31v 350w bios for 970 Gaming G1?

Hynix chip

G1-970-MOD.zip 138k .zip file
Attached Files
File Type: zip G1-970-MOD.zip (137.8 KB, 6 views)

nͫٴiͤٴcͫٴeͤ੮Һ૯ ცɿ૭ ૭คעٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴ
█▀█ █▄█ ▀█▀ ▀█▀


TK421 is offline  
post #595 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 05:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tomimoi42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 18
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I think the drivers are faulty... I mean once again, I could go to play CS:GO with +98 core, +286 mem, +30 volt, +12% power and it gave only one minor spike to me in core clock+voltage...

Then I launch TF2... And it won't even go above the base clock (1177) ingame.. Wow.

But I already tried 4 different drivers and reinstalled windows so no help.¨


edit: Yo I give up. After putting core volt +32, +112%, core +75, mem +275 and a reboot, first time Afterburner shows me that this card can use more than 1.23xxx volts... It was 1,256 while playing TF2, and I had muuuch less spikes than "normally" (~5-10sec drops to ~1240MHz from 1467MHz), and overall microstutters seemed to be lesser. So strange.

So I think I willl leave this like it right now and move on..... rolleyes.gifapplaud.gif
tomimoi42 is offline  
post #596 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 08:54 AM - Thread Starter
Maximum_Unleashed
 
Laithan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 3,742
Rep: 501 (Unique: 266)
Quote:
Originally Posted by leakydog View Post

I am stable on 1480/8000 Mhz without any +mV now on my G1, but unfortunately not with Laithan's vBIOS. I made copy of my friend's vBIOS. With Laithan's vBIOS I was unstable even with 1480, weird...

Not a problem, I can explain to you why.

Just so everyone is aware, I have a section on "How to use this BIOS" on the OP in the event it wasn't noticed. Here is a link but I will elaborate here as well. https://www.overclock.net/t/1544574/gigabyte-gtx-9xx-g1-gaming-h2o-air-bios-tweaking/440#post_23937743

This BIOS:

The power @ 100% is lower than a stock BIOS (this is a low power mode option) however the power at 150% is higher than a stock card.

The voltage @ +0mV is lower than a stock BIOS (this is a low voltage mode option) however the voltage at +100mV is higher than a stock card.


Please test with the voltage and power % sliders maxxed out when overclocking. If you are overclocking your GPU without the voltage slider increased, you are going to starve the GPU of voltage which will lead to instability. wink.gif It makes sense when you think about it, pushing a higher MHZ at the same time as constraining your voltage/power = recipe for instability.

The voltage/power % sliders are misunderstood a lot because of the way they are presented. When you run your GPU at +0mV vs +100mV, you are NOT running the GPU at 'stock settings' you are actually restricting the voltage and undervolting the card. When you are running Power% at 100% vs 150%, you are restricting the power. Those sliders don't magically "add" any power or voltage to the card, they strictly go by the pre-defined BIOS values even though they are presented as adding "extra" voltage and power.

I personally run my card "24/7" with BOTH sliders fully maxxed out all the time. That's my choice, but this BIOS gives the user the option to run the card how they want to. If they want a low power mode there is the option. When they want to speed things up a bit and overclock, just need to be sure the sliders are adjusted accordingly and it is required when overclocking otherwise you will restrict the card.

I hope this helped, let me know if you have any questions wink.gif


GIGABYTE GTX 9xx G1 GAMING BIOS Tweaking
  ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿̿'̿'\̵͇̿̿\з=༼ຈل͜ຈ༽=ε/̵͇̿̿/'̿'̿ ̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿  
░▒▓│ FORKAY‼ «  » WΘΘT ‼ │▓▒░
Xeon E5-1680 V2 (IVY-E) Inside


Laithan is offline  
post #597 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 10:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
leakydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 225
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
yeah I know. I tested your bios with +150 PL and +100mV :-) I get 1531Mhz and it was unstable. I am stable on 1480/8000 with my bios, but will continue with oc'ing later. I am satisfied for now.
leakydog is offline  
post #598 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
Maximum_Unleashed
 
Laithan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 3,742
Rep: 501 (Unique: 266)
Oh I see, yah luck of the draw I guess but 1480 still isn't bad.

GIGABYTE GTX 9xx G1 GAMING BIOS Tweaking
  ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿̿'̿'\̵͇̿̿\з=༼ຈل͜ຈ༽=ε/̵͇̿̿/'̿'̿ ̿ ̿̿ ̿̿ ̿̿  
░▒▓│ FORKAY‼ «  » WΘΘT ‼ │▓▒░
Xeon E5-1680 V2 (IVY-E) Inside


Laithan is offline  
post #599 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 02:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
leakydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 225
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Okay I have just very bad luck for all GPUs I don't know why... My gtx980 G1 with ASIC 79.9% is not stable even on 1480/8000. It looks like too high memory OC which cause texture flickering and from uknown reason game freeze for some seconds (when afterburner show up "utilization limit" - "1") and then unfreeze ("utilization limit" back to "0"). I don't know what else to do. Could it be caused by motherboard? It has support only for pci-e 2.0 standard, not 3.0. PSU is EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
leakydog is offline  
post #600 of 7864 (permalink) Old 06-10-2015, 03:31 PM
ٴٴٴ╲⎝⧹˙͜>˙⧸⎠╱
 
TK421's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,376
Rep: 158 (Unique: 123)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK421 View Post

Can anyone inspect my modded 1.31v 350w bios for 970 Gaming G1?

Hynix chip

G1-970-MOD.zip 138k .zip file

anyone?

nͫٴiͤٴcͫٴeͤ੮Һ૯ ცɿ૭ ૭คעٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴٴ ٴٴ
█▀█ █▄█ ▀█▀ ▀█▀


TK421 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off